We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Westbury

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Westbury to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Westbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   369 Old Country Road, Carle Place, NY 11514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Carle Place
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed here for a business stay at the end of February. It is your typical dated Holiday Inn but the location was convenient for where I was working the next day. Staff was friendly upon check-in. My stay included breakfast in the attached restaurant. Overall the breakfast was very good and the waitstaff was attentive and kept my coffee full. An average stay all around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear EyeLoveFood,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. I am very happy to hear that we were conveniently located to all your needs while you were here, and that you were able to enjoy our restaurants breakfast as well as our wonderful staff. We are currently renovating and improving our hotel, and we do hope to see you again soon so that you are able to see all the changes and improvements we have made. Thank you again.

Kelliann Horak
Frot Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
28
25
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I spent one night here on business. It was a very busy place when I arrived. The staff were all very friendly and hospitable, a huge plus. Especially Cynthia and Mike at the front desk.

The hotel itself is a bit dated and doesn't have that fresh look of some other places I've stayed. This is the primary down side of this hotel and for my "average" rating.The bedding was nice and clean and comfortable though and there are lots of cable channels to choose from. The hotel is also around many retail establishments.

One other negative is that I emailed the hotel manager in advance of my stay (Ms. Bristol), but never received a response to my question. Disappointing.

I had breakfast (not included) at the attached restaurant. The staff were very nice there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear andtherest,

Thank you for your review... Your comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our hotel and service.

I am very disappointed to see your recent stay with us started out with me missing the mark of our normal excellent guest service. I see you have stated you emailed me prior to your arrival, and never received a response. I check my emails daily, if not hourly and didn't see any missed emails so I do want to take this moment to apologize for the miss in communication. I respond to all email requests in addition to forwarding the requests to the appropriate department.

I was delighted to read that despite the disappointments, you were still able to enjoy your stay with us. I have forwarded your wonderful comments to Both Cynthia and Mike, in addition the rest of the hotel staff to read. We are sad to hear that hotel seems a bit dated, and not to your full satisfaction but we are making numerous of changes to improve. We are going through major renovations so please feel free to stay with us when you are visiting the Long Island area. I apologize for the shortfalls, nevertheless, I am glad that you were satisfied with most of the features such as our comfortable beds, channels provided, and again our staff.

Please accept my sincerest apology, and I hope to get the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

the hotel location is great in the main street and all shopping centers are cross the street. Many restaurants are near by. the hotel is clean and convert. the front disk staff are so helpful. the hotel is good and near JFK airport (30 min).
the A/C has a noisy sound it may annoy some people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. I am very glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the shopping malls and restaurants that are conveniently located near the hotel. I am also very pleased that the front desk staff was helpful and a pleasure like always. I apologize that the AC unit was noisy and thank you for giving us the feedback we need to better our hotel. I thank you again for your kind words.

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've been coming here for a multiple years and it saddens me to write this review. I have always had great service from from the people here, but it really saddens me to find out that the majority of the excellent service that has been to provided to customers has been overlooked by the ownership of the hotel. The people who have been greatly responsible for the the repeat business (at least in my case) have been dismissed or completely overlooked by management resulting in quick turn over of personnel. Listening to the people who work here day to day, that their input into how to improve service to the customer is not even considered is disheartening. This is my opinion, but I am sad to say that this was a very nice hotel to stay in at one time, but
I leave the result for you to decide.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am more than happy that you have mentioned our friendly and helpful staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for the emotional disturbance you may have experienced during your stay. It's disheartening to hear that the staff member(s) who have spoken with you feels their ideas are being overlooked and dismissed. My name is Angela and I'm the new General Manager here as of November 2013, I walked into a hotel where I personally believe all of my team members are potential managers for our company, and I treat them with the dignity and respect. I'm overjoyed to have been welcomed to such a great team as they are self-empowered to take care of our guests.

As always, I value the feedback from our guests, since I know as it serves as a way to improve our hotel, our service levels, and in this case...our team members. Please be assured, I have taken all of your comments to heart, and my commitment is to the team here at the Holiday Inn Westbury and every valued guest who visits with us or just passing by. I invite you to contact me directly to at your convenience.

Angela Bristol
Tel: (516)997-5000 ext.911
Email: angelab@hiwestbury.com

Sincerely,
Angela Bristol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night this week. It's a typical Holiday Inn: tidy, logically laid out, and featuring the usual in-room amenities. There's a full service restaurant attached, which I did not try. Breakfast is not free: it's 10% off at the restaurant. This hotel is across the street from the Westbury Mall, Wal-Mart, and Costco, and there's a new Shake Shack (renowned NYC hamburger mini-chain) a short walk away.

The bed was comfortable, and they have pillows labeled soft/firm. Sizable HDTV with a million channels, but for some reason, all the channels that you DON'T get are still programmed into the cable box, so when you're channel-surfing, you occasionally have to flip through a dozen or so blank channels to find a random one that they do get. Not sure I've experienced in a hotel before, but I recognize there are worse things in life. Shower has great water pressure, temperature. An iron and wood hangers that you can take all the way off the rod. Some noise can leak in from other rooms/the hall.

My room was very clean but not spotless -- I found someone's long hair on the towel rack. Other than that, pretty good. I travel for business about 10 times a year, so minor mishaps like that are not something that bother me much.

The front desk got me checked in efficiently. Two young men were working the desk: one was on point, focused, and professional. Then the other came in, interrupted my check-in process and started talking to his colleague about how he just applied for a Holiday Inn credit card and was instantly awarded Platinum status. Good for you! Can I have my room key now? Later, he burped. At least he said excuse me! Ah well, Holiday Inn in Long Island. You can't have it all.

If I need to stay out there again, I might go back there, or maybe check out the Hampton Inn, which was booked up when I called.

PS. The local taxi service left me in the lurch and I nearly missed the start of my meeting -- the whole point of my being out there. Call the taxi WELL in advance of the desired time, or maybe arrange it the night before for a pre-schedule time (but that might be risky too).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write a detailed review. I am happy to hear that you were conveniently located near shops and restaurants to your liking. I’m also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced and would like further to discuss with you some things you have mentioned. Again I thank you for your review and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Front desk was very busy at check in as we were all there for a nearby large family wedding. Michael M. checked us in easily and was very courteous and helpful. He made us feel welcome. The rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff were very polite as well. We gathered at the bar in the lobby restaurant after the wedding and had a great time. The next day we all had a delicious breakfast in the downstairs room. All of the food was hot and delicious, whcih isn't always easy during a two hour buffet style breakfast. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor tend to be a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Debbie O,

Thank you for your kind words. I am very pleased to hear that Michael was a great help and an asset to your stay. I have passed on your kind words to Mike as well as Management. I am also glad to hear that the cleaning staff were caring and able to assist you with your needs. Thank you for taking the time to enjoy our breakfast in the morning. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.

Thank you

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed one night and got in late but here are my impressions. Lobby was clean and modern. Front desk staff were fast, friendly and efficient. Elevator and hallways seemed well maintained. My room was clean with a smaller t.v and a king size bed. I would say that the pillows were on the small size and the right side of the bed seemed to slope downward a bit. Room had a coffee maker that was NOT in the bathroom thank goodness. They provided two soap bars, a shampoo, conditioner and body lotion all of good quality. I would happily stay here again and recommend to others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelliann H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Westbury, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Justin V,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room as well as the front desk staff. I apologize that the pillows seemed a bit small and the bed had a slight slope to it. I have forwarded your comments to my executive housekeeper. Again thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you

Kelliann Horak
Front Office Manager
(516) 997-5000 ext 421
khorak@hiwestbury.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Westbury

Address: 369 Old Country Road, Carle Place, NY 11514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Carle Place
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Carle Place
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Westbury 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Westbury is an independently owned and operated full service IHG Hotel. It provides guests with 152 rooms and suites as well as banquet and catering space that may accommodate up to 120 guests. The Hotel offers its accommodations, amenities and services to the corporate, leisure and social traveler from all of the world. It's centralized location within Nassau County, Long Island, NY makes it an ideal and convenient host to many. For those visiting the towns of Westbury, Garden City, Mineola, Uniondale, Carle Place, Roslyn and the surrounding area, the Holiday Inn Westbury is the ideal Hotel to consider being your host. Local attractions to the Hotel include Eisenhower Park, Nassau Coliseum, The Space at Westbury, Westbury Music Fair, Roosevelt Field, Museum Row, Old Westbury Gardens, Bethpage State Park, Jones Beach and much more. The Hotel is also in close proximity to New York's JFK, LaGuardia and Islip Airports. The Hotel is also located within walking distance to the Long Island Rail Road (Carle Place Train Station). Other nearby interests include Hostra University, Adelphi University, LIU Post, Nassau Community College, Winthrop Hospital and North Shore LIJ Hospitals and affiliates. The Hotel's amenities include but are not limited to the following: Outdoor garden courtyard and pool (seasonal), 24 hour business center, 24 fitness center, 24 hour guest laundry room, complimentary WiFi, ice machines, drink and snack vending machines, etc. Guests of the Hotel may enjoy the Hotel's onsite Restaurant, which is the Sporting News Grill. The Sporting News Grill serves breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week as well as room service. It offers guests a delicious variety of American fare with something for everyone to enjoy. It has a full bar, which also includes 12 beers on on with many local micro brews. The Restaurant also has 18 flat screen HD TVs for guests to take in their favorite sporting event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Westbury Hotel Carle Place
Holiday Inn Carle Place
Carle Place Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Westbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.