We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 East Main Street, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617-1452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always a great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I've stayed here numerous times over the past 4 years and I've had great experiences each time!

The front desk manager, Paul does a great job. Ina and the other front desk staff are fantastic!

I've had many wonderful meals in their restaurant, and the bar has a nice selection.

There have been recent upgrades in the halls which include: Carpet, wallpaper, chair rail moulding, light fixtures and paint. I am told that there are many upgrades and remodels planned for the rooms in the coming months.

As the rooms are now, they are still very well kept and very clean.

I always look forward to spring at the BW University Inn because the hotel property is located directly on St. Lawrence University Golf Course. I have gone from the front door of the hotel to the first tee in less than 10 minutes! Full Pro Shop with snack bar, driving range, practice green and lessons with a PGA pro are all nice features.

Don't hesitate to book this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    61
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
69
20
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Going through renovations, but you are not disturbed at all. Paul and staff are always so welcoming! Paula took great care of us for dinner in the lounge and Gina handled all our needs at breakfast with a smile and a full coffee pot! Hotel of choice when here on business!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our stay was great. Had a wonderful breakfast Feb. 1st.. before going to Potsdam for music audition. Wanted to give kudos to Gina & crew at the Best Western University Inn for their great service and enjoyed out stay. Keep it up !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially breakfast with Gina. She really is a shining star in the dining room. I have shared your review with the entire staff and they were very excited as well. We hope to see you back again soon.

Until then, we will "keep it up".


Truly,


Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Gina waited on us for lunch and I must say Gina is very sweet, kind and always comes to the table light hearted and refreshing. Great plus to the staff!

She is friendly and even remembers your name.
Gina always has a smile on her face and welcomes you with job as if she really loves what she is doing.
she is a plus to the staff at Best Western University Inn .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I took two of my grandchildren and my husband to the Best Western Dining Room for dinner on January 28 for my husbands birthday. The food was excellent portions were large and the service couldn't have been better our server was Heidi. After dinner we went into the lounge and Ellen and Paula also were very attentive to our needs. It was a great dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Dining Guests,


It was such a pleasure to hear your kind words about our restaurant and lounge. After sharing the review with the entire staff; Heidi, Paula, and Ellen were all very happy that they were able to make your birthday occasion a success. Thank you for your time and for the great feedback. We hope to see you in again shortly.

Until then best regards,


Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

my stay at the best western university inn canton was exceptional. the staff was very professional and caring. especially gina and morgan. i work in the service industry and everyone here was very professional. when i travel in the north country of new york i stay at this location.

Room Tip: have stayed in different areas of the hotel. all were good. road side is a little noisey but did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our property. I shared your review with the entire staff. Gina and Morgan were ecstatic that they were mentioned for their professionalism and caring. We were all so please you had such high regards for our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Until then,

Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was dropped off by my bus @ McDonald's downtown Canton and my family couldn't travel to pick me up because of a state of emergency in our county of St. Lawrence . My son called Best Western University Inn and next thing I knew someone was there to pick me up and take me to my room. I was so exhausted and my room was so warm and cozy. The next morning the manager Elaine became aware of my being stranded and allowed one of her workers, who had volunteered to drive me home to Ogdensburg, to take off the time from his job, and not be penalized for it. She even loaned him her car ice-scraper to clear his windshield of ice to be able to drive more safely. He was a well-mannered young man and quite confident driving his 4-wheel drive truck. Please reward him, if possible. His name is Colin Allen! I would recommend this hotel to one and all! Great b/fast I had there, too and very friendly staff!

Room Tip: If you like scenery---get a room that looks out on the golf course in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantonNYSales, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,


It was a true pleasure to read your review. I have already recognized Caulin and shared this story with the entire staff. What he did was a true demonstration of staying with people who care. We hope you made it home for the holidays to spend time with loved ones.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes,


Justin A Chapman, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 90 East Main Street, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617-1452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all of the four seasons in the beautiful North Country here at the BEST WESTERN University Inn of Canton, NY. With easy access off of Route 11, this 99 room property is surrounded by a championship golf course and groomed cross country ski trails. An indoor pool, whirlpool, saunas, and state of the art exercise facility compliment the tastefully appointed rooms. With an on-site restaurant, relaxing lounge, business center, and high-speed wireless Internet, it is the perfect destination for those traveling on business or leisure. Our friendly staff, personalized service and meeting spaces make this an ideal location for any special event.Whether you are planning a meeting, banquet, conference or wedding, the BEST WESTERN University Inn is here to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Inn Canton Hotel Canton
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western
Best Western Canton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.