We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN University Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 East Main Street, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617-1452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canton
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I traveled to Canton for business to be conducted at the Best Western Plus University Inn and after my last stay at a Best Western, I was apprehensive. This Best Western was excellent. Rooms were very clean, the hotel had great curb appeal, carpet appeared to be relatively new, furniture was in good shape, and...and the staff were extremely helpful. The customer service rep offered several suggestions of good places to it, including their onsite restaurant. If you are visiting Canton, NY and are in need of a hotel room, I highly recommend the Best Western Plus University Inn Canton.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantonNYSales, Front Desk at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful review. We certainly look forward to serving you in the future. Again, thank you on behalf of everyone here at Canton Best Western Plus. Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    54
    35
    9
    9
See reviews for
64
18
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Tired old hotel. Needs serious updating to the rooms, and linens at the least. If you put the desk chair at the desk, you can't walk by the bed. You have to open a lot of doors to get anywhere. Pain with luggage.

Good fitness room - surprising.

VERY overpriced for what it was. Microwave in the room had a rotary dial.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantonNYSales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Yours In Hospitality,

Sonya Butler
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Lake, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Good bunch of people here,lounge is a great place to unwind after work (bartenders are professional but yet make you feel welcome).Because of my work schedule I have not had breakfast here but I have ordered food to go after work which I have no complaints(wings are very good here).If I had any problems with my room they were swiftly dealt with by their maintenence dept.Housekeeping staff do a very good job and are very willing to help out if a problem rises.Because of my job I have been staying here 4 out of 7 days a week since 6/1/10, as of today which is 10/19/11 I am still here. I travel approx. 1/2 hour to get to work from here. There are places closer I could stay at but choose to stay here, so think about it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

From the initial check in everything was ready for our golf group of 20.
The lunches served to us for 2 days was excellent, food & service.
The same for our dinner service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantonNYSales, Front Desk Agent at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Joe,

Thank you for the comment. It is always a pleasure to have you and your golf team visit th Best Western Plus University Inn. Thank you and we look forward to see you next year.

Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

My family and I came up to move my son into SUNY Canton. our room was great. the service was great. Loved the restaurant as well. definitely will return

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantonNYSales, Front Desk Team Member of 12 Years at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate the opportunity in hosting you and your family on this special occasion. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northville, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

A great lounge but the dinner in the restaurant wasn;t great (mediocre) but the breakfast was very good (a little high priced) - would have preferred a free continental breakfast - very lovely grounds - on golf course and outside patio off the pool - very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

The staff was alright, friendly, but not very enthusiastic, and Paul the manager when we asked a question, he snapped and was very rude. He did seem a lot nicer after he realized.

No complimentary breakfast was provided which is offered at other hotels in the area.

In the room the microwave and fridge (Which is awesome that they even offer that) looks as if they were their when they built the place really old, your grandparents probably have more updated appliances.

BRING your own glass cups, they have paper and plastic ones. The paper ones say "caution when microwaving" (That gives the impression that you can) well for a quick hot water for tea, the cup burns at bottom and stinks the room a little. Big safety hazard if it burnt the hotel down if people put it in to long. Shouldn't even have them.

The shower/tub Faucet is all messed up, don't know if its the design or if its broken but turning it all the way on is cold water and turning it halfway is hot...??? The water pressure is pretty bad too.

I wanted to go to the pool, but as always, it closes to early (10pm) But it looked pretty nice and the fitness center was also very nice. Great equipment.

When you first walk into the hotel it will smell like choline and the pool is way in the back of the hotel. The room as a tint of pool smell as well.

The high speed internet is great, I didn't have to deal with signing in to anything, its fast, its FREE. BIG ++

I would most likely recommend another hotel in area, but there are very few. This one is very close, basically on the campus of St. Lawrence

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 90 East Main Street, Route 11, Canton, NY 13617-1452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Canton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all of the four seasons in the beautiful North Country here at the BEST WESTERN University Inn of Canton, NY. With easy access off of Route 11, this 99 room property is surrounded by a championship golf course and groomed cross country ski trails. An indoor pool, whirlpool, saunas, and state of the art exercise facility compliment the tastefully appointed rooms. With an on-site restaurant, relaxing lounge, business center, and high-speed wireless Internet, it is the perfect destination for those traveling on business or leisure. Our friendly staff, personalized service and meeting spaces make this an ideal location for any special event.Whether you are planning a meeting, banquet, conference or wedding, the BEST WESTERN University Inn is here to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Inn Canton Hotel Canton
Best Western Olean
Olean Best Western
Best Western Canton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.