We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
The Inn on the Lake
770 S. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is the 3rd Canandaigua Hotel we've stayed at, and it tops our list. It was a bit higher priced, and no breakfast included, but the location, comfort of the rooms and nightlife made up for that. We found the room quiet, clean and comfortable. The Sand Bar and Lounge were fun places for an evening cocktail with a view.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for the review and nice comments! I will pass along your comments to our Bar Manager. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    96
    39
    21
    16
See reviews for
52
84
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is due for an update but still clean and relatively comfortable..The people were friendly and helpful..We ate breakfast there and found it to be ok..It was located right on the lake on some very expensive real estate so the price was reasonable..In door pool and hot tub were nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Update to our guest rooms and public araes is underway! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was one of the worst hotels I've experienced in a long time. Overall it was like staying at some cheap hotel chain like La Quinta or Quality in, but older and way more expensive.

Negatives included ceilings so low I hit my head on a fire alarm in the hallway, deteriorated furniture, broken fixtures (lamps, ironing board, etc), dirty towels, outlets that don't have power when lights are off and a pervasive mold smell that I can't seem to shake.

I was there for a wedding and was shocked that there was no effort to control people and noise from passers by, motorboats about 30ft from the alter and the hotel bar blasting music about 100ft away. The hotel's catering was really really poor quality. Stale bread, prosciutto so tough you had to work at it with a knife and the fish and chicken was slimy on the outside, bone dry on the inside.

We ate the standard hotel breakfast the next morning. Also terrible. The food was exceptionally average plus some standout misses like fried eggs with raw whites and poached eggs that were solid all the way through. Our food also took nearly 40 minutes to come out, plates were delivered all at different times and when we were ready to pay, we had to go searching the restaurant to find someone as all the staff seemed MIA.

Avoid this hotel at all costs!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed from 8/11/14-8/14/14. I was extremely disappointed with The Inn on the Lake. The rooms were adequate, but nothing special. We reserved a suite with two queen beds and a fold-out sofa specifically for three adults and two children. No bedding was provided for the sofa, and the two beds each only had two pillows. Upon entry, the room was ice cold, due to the AC being left on at full blast on a day that was only in the high 60s. The shower alternated between scalding hot and cold water during the course of bathing. The wait staff at the supposedly fine dining Shore restaurant and attached bar was abominable. Nobody was in sight except for someone who turned out to be the bartender, who was chatting for nearly 10 minutes with one table while ignoring us, although we were clearly waiting to be seated. Although the restaurant half was relatively empty and there were numerous waitresses standing around, nobody could be bothered seating us. When we asked a waitress if we could sit on the deck on the bar side (we were trying to keep our small children at a distance from other diners so they wouldn't annoy them), we were told to ask the bartender. When we asked her, we were told to ask the hostess. It was difficult to get the attention of the hostess, as she was busy ignoring us. She acted annoyed that we hadn't entered through a different door and told us to talk to the bartender. Finally, she seated us and expressed her annoyance that she would have to have someone bring us silverware. After sitting on the deck unattended for quite some time, we finally left. The Sand Bar restaurant was no better. Our table was dirty and sticky, and even after we asked, nobody cleaned it. Service was very slow, the nearby bathrooms were like the ones you find at gas stations, and the food was substandard. At the pool, there were no towels stocked. Back in the room, we found that there were no TV channels appropriate for children, and when we ordered two children's portions of plain spaghetti and a side of broccoli, the bill came to over $24. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and all of us slept poorly. I would never recommend that anyone stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry your 3 night stay with us was not an enjoyable one. Our maintenance and housekeeping staffs are on duty 24/7 so hopefully someone took care of the issues you had mentioned upon your arrival. I have also reviewed the issues you encountered in our dining facilities with our Food and Beverage Director, to ensure that level of service does not happen again. We are underway with an expansive renovation for our public space and guest rooms, that includes furniture, carpet, mattresses and bedding. I will also inquire with Direct TV to see if they can expand the children based show listing. Thank you for your comments and I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The King lakefront suite offers both an excellent view from the balcony as well as a very comfortable place for relaxing with a small living room and kitchen. The bed and bath are great and the staff attentive. Easy walking to many eateries and the culinary institute make this a great place to enjoy a few days or longer in the Finger Lake region of New York.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheInnontheLake, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in the beautiful Finger Lakes. Glad to hear you enjoyed the lakefront king suite and incredible view from the balcony. I will pass along your nice comments to our close friends at the NY Wine and Culinary Institute. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, NY is a beautiful place to stay while visiting one of the prettiest of the Finger Lakes. Rooms are clean and adequate. Lots to do while there.
Highly recommended . This hotel offers a beautiful restaurant, bar, as well as The SanBar, an outside bar and restaurant located on the waterfront. Boater friendly, it is the only place to stay in Canandaigua that offers access to the lake. It also has a beautiful pool lakeside as well as one indoors. Within walking distance of many other restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Lake front room, always the best, most costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_McGinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to discover all we to offer. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnieux, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had an overnight scheduled for Inn on the Lake and paid "extra" for a lake view room. The room was a king with a great view of the pool which was about 4 feet from the patio door. The room was quite small and I noticed mold on the ceiling in the shower. Not good. The food at the restaurant (The Shore )was good and our wait staff person was great, which is why I gave the hotel 2 stars instead of 1.The person at the front desk couldn't tell the people ahead of us how to get to Seneca Lake and the wineries, even thought it is right down the road. We won't be back to stay at this pricey tourist trap.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: 770 S. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.