We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“escape to the Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
The Inn on the Lake
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   770 S. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“escape to the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I needed time away and decided to stay at the Inn. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was very helpful! Room was clean and comfortable. We did visit the lounge which was comfortable and relaxing. A USA TODAY was waiting for us in the morning and the room offered a single cup type coffee maker. We did use the pool/spa which offered many clean towels for us to use. We toured the area and enjoyed our stay very much! Quite a nice escape!

Room Tip: 1 st floor rooms are good if you plan to use the pool/spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementIOTL, Director of Sales at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Inn on the Lake! Thank you for sharing your favorable comments. We look forward to your next stay with us and will continue to offer wonderful service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    101
    39
    22
    16
See reviews for
52
90
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We didn't get as far as actually staying at this establishment. There's no doubt the location is delightful, but that was about it for us. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and enquired about a room for two nights. The young receptionist was considerably less than interested and exhibited all the charm of a cornered rat when asked to show us a couple of rooms, looking upwards and sighing audibly. The rooms she showed us were awful - low ceilings, drab decor, an unappealing bathroom - and wouldn't have been out of place at one of the more seedy motels. We couldn't get out of the place fast enough; more so when she said the room rate would be increased for the Friday night. The location lends itself to a much more upmarket operation; it's simply wasted at the moment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementIOTL, Director of Sales at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are sorry that you decided not to stay with us during your visit to The Finger Lakes. Investing in our employees is important to us and we will move forward by providing each of them the resources needed to extend top level service to all of our guests. It is our hope that you will consider The Inn on the Lake if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a 2 day trip to the Finger Lakes and selected The Inn on the Lake based upon the reviews here on trip advisor. The hotel staff were very accommodating. The Junior Suite was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We traveled with our dogs and were provided a room at the end of the hall for easy access. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcguireIOTL, Front Office Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay. We are happy to accommodate guests that travel with their beloved pets. Next time you decide to visit Canandaigua, we hope to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just stayed there with friends for an overnight getaway. The room was clean and comfortable. The view from our room was absolutely the highlight. I would recommend this place and plan on going back this summer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcguireIOTL, Front Office Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful lake location. It sure is a beautiful spot in the Finger Lakes and we welcome you and your friends back in the summer to enjoy The Inn on the Lake again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I received a warm, friendly greeting upon my arrival. The room was clean and well appointed. And, the pillows have to be the most comfortable I have ever experienced. Our group was served a buffet luncheon which was satisfactory (could have been slightly better) and a served lunch. Way too much bread for the sandwich, and the home-made potato chips were soggy. But the food tasted good, and the service was very prompt and courteous.

Room Tip: I liked having a jaccuzi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcguireIOTL, Front Office Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while here for a recent conference. We have had several favorable comments about the pillows being comfortable. That is perfect as guests should feel the comforts of home when away from home.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Right on the lake, great outside bar, almost on the City Pier and across the street from the lakefront park on Lakeshore Drive. If you're going there to hang out at the lakefront this is the place to stay. Restaurants, bars, lake cruises, bicycle rentals, everything is just a short walk.
Hotel rooms are getting a little worn and will be needing some upkeep but they're hanging in there and the place is kept very clean.
Restaurant has good food and outdoor seating in summer.

Room Tip: It's a lakefront jacuzzi suite, but room 271 is one of the best located room you'll find any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcguireIOTL, Front Office Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Doug,
Thank you so much for the kind comments. We love to hear from our valued loyal guests. We cannot agree with you more, this is the place to stay when in Canandaigua. We are happy to let you know we are in the initial planning stages of a full rooms renovation.
Please make sure you stop by the reservation desk at your next stay, so that I may personally thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Inn on the Lake has potential...it has a great location right on the lake which is it's main asset. However, without any competition that offers the same type of location it doesn't try very hard. We had a suite overlooking the lake for a few days. The suite was very nice, with a small wet bar area and living room with oversized couch and chair. The television is both rooms were older but were adequate. There's a balcony outside to enjoy the view and bed was very comfy. The AC system worked great, almost too great. The bathroom was a bit weird as there was a large jetted tub, which also doubled as the shower. Talk about an accident waiting to happen when you have to straddle the side of the tub to get in and out. The location of our suite wasn't ideal as we were right across the hall from where the maids keep their carts which causes a traffic jam in the morning. During the summer season, the Sand Bar is the hot spot in town and for good reason with it's location. There is an inside bar as well which is a bit boring but hits the spot. The restaurant is alright, a bit over-priced for the quality of food for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast staff wasn't that good but part of that was due to under staffing (atleast for the first day). There is a lobby seating area which is nice and comfy that also provide complimentary coffee. Overall we had an enjoyable stay but wish the hotel would fix some small things that would be boost it from an alright hotel to a good hotel. I would stay here again as these small things didn't bother me too much but it would be nice to see this place excel. At it's current level, this hotel is over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcguireIOTL, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for all your recommendations we really appreciate the guests out there that try to help us be successful. I have spoken with the Management team and those issues will be addressed. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: 770 S. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Lake has distinguished itself as a unique year-round getaway for business events and personal relaxation. Nestled on the shore of Canandaigua Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region, The Inn on the Lake combines traditional warmth and elegance with modern-day conveniences unlike typical Canandaigua Hotels. The Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York, features a wide range of indoor and outdoor event space and packages to suit New York wedding events ranging in size from 25 - 250 guest. Canandaigua is a Seneca Indian word meaning "The Chosen Spot." When you see the breathtaking beauty of Canandaigua Lake you will know why so many brides and grooms choose The Inn on the Lake to begin their lives together. As a guest of The Inn on the Lake, you will find yourself in the center of an incredible range of unique attractions. Our staff will guide you to the activities of your choice - whether you're an outdoor enthusiast, wine aficionado, history buff, shopper or arts and crafts lover. At the end of each day, join us for terrific dining at The Shore, our dining room, or lakeside at the Sand Bar Lounge. Watch the sun set over the lake, sample our world-class wine, and plan your next adventure at The Inn on the Lake Resort & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Canandaigua
Hotel On The Lake
Lake Canandaigua
On The Lake Canandaigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.