We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fast" food that's not junk fast food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's Philly Steaks

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mac's Philly Steaks
76 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1905
585-394-7080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 99 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
new york
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“"Fast" food that's not junk fast food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great lunch stop that will easily fill you up for the day without being typical "fast" food. The food is quality and the kids that work there are always friendly. They always make our meals combos without us even asking. Best way to make your teenage kid jealous? Make that 45 minute drive without them to Mac's...works every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great authentic food with terrific service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Philly steak sandwich was very good, and the beer-battered onion rings were VERY crispy and good. Our server was very enthusiastic and delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great subs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Called in a carry out and gOt excellent food. Subs seemed a little pricey but ended up w more than we could eat.
Very fast and food was still hot 15 minutes later.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Always delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband, two teenagers, and I went there for dinner on Memorial Day. No cooking for us, we let Mac's do the work. It's about a 30 minute drive for us, but we like this location much better than the East Rochester location which is half the distance away. The ambiance is fun - lots of Philly cheesesteak restaurants advertised in brightly painted murals on the wall, the old tin ceilings, a couple of TV's and mirrors...nothing fancy, but very cheerful and welcoming.

It wasn't very crowded, most likely due to the holiday...but the food was great as usual. We always get the same thing...traditional Philly cheesesteaks for all, with sides of regular fries and sweet potato fries ( order them with sugar AND salt...yum!). I like the works on my steak sandwich...peppers, onions, and mushrooms with provolone cheese. Hubby gets minus the mushrooms, daughter likes cheese only, and son loves the cheese whiz. All served with nice, crispy dill pickle spears. Loaded with meat, not greasy, and soooo tender and tasty. We love Mac's any time of year, and have driven in the middle of winter. So much closer than going to Philly to our favorite Jim's Steaks and Mac's gets their rolls from Amorosos in Philly...makes the sandwich super authentic e, just like being in Philly without the long drive!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Ordered two cheesesteaks to go. One with provolone and mushrooms and one with just provolone. When we got home discovered that neither had the cheese on them and found only one mushroom. Have been here before and have been satisfied, maybe just a bad night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's Philly Steaks also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mac's Philly Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac's Philly Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.