We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful & relaxing Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filigree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canandaigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Filigree Inn
5406 Bristol Valley Road, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Baldwinsville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful & relaxing Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was my 2nd stay here, and this time I brought 3 daughters for a girls' getaway. They all loved it, and the owner kindly showed us beautiful hiking trails back in the woods. We could have spent much more time exploring back there. The Brooke suite is beautiful, and the girls felt very pampered. They appreciated the snacks and truffles!
There was plenty of room for the 4 of us, although the girls put the hide-a-bed mattress on the floor, because it caved to the center when it was on the pull-out frame. Putting it on the floor made it comfortable for them.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and it was nice to have it at our own leisure.
I love the country setting and beautiful surroundings of this inn. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet time away!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Filigree Inn for a peaceful getaway after a very busy week. We stayed in the Brooke suite, which was absolutely beautiful. It was so spacious and quiet. We loved the fireplace, the beautiful and very comfortable four-poster bed, and the great variety of breakfast foods which we could have at our leisure in the morning. We had everything we needed, and the owners were very kind and helpful.
I would highly recommend it -- though it's a little off the beaten path, it is in a beautiful setting and still very convenient to the town. The suites can accommodate 4 people, so I'm hoping to go back again sometime with my daughters for a girls night away.

Room Tip: We loved the Brooke suite, but all the suites are set up similarly, and all look lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We selected this B & B because it was close to the mountain and we thought it looked pretty. When we arrived we couldn't believe how pretty the suite actually was and also how large it was. It was just perfect and full of thoughtful details. Fresh fruit, chocolates by the bed and a refrig full of breakfast treats are just some of the examples. Besides how pretty the suite was it was also extremely clean. The owners are so nice and try so hard to make your stay perfect. We couldn't believe how close the Inn was to the mountain. It really was ideal. Many thanks to the Simmons' for all their help in making this ski trip perfect. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

My husband and I actually stayed in June, 2003 as part of our honeymoon. And compared to our friends - who all had nightmares with bad flights, bad foods, and rained out beaches - we had a blast.

The Filigree Inn features four suites in a small building up the driveway from the owners' house, so it is very private. Each suite has a jacuzzi tub, bedroom, and living room/kitchen area with satellite TV (and a gas fireplace for winter months). You even have a small little deck area if you want to sit outside (at least we did in the "Madigan" Suite).

What makes this place wonderful for a private stay is that instead of having to be downstairs between X and Y am and sharing breakfast with strangers, you are instead provided with fixings in your kitchen to make your own breakfast. This was great for our honeymoon, since we could stay up or out late and not worry about missing breakfast or putting the owners out by showing up in the last five minutes. And there's a Wegmans nearby in Canandaigua, so you can always stock up on other items as well if you choose.

We think it is an advantage that it's not right on the lakes, as it is very quiet and very private. In the summer, you get the bonus of watching the hang gliders buzz around the mountain, which is entertaining. I'm not sure if the owners still do this, but because we stayed for about a week, they reduced our room rate a little bit as well. On the downside, though, you are convenient to Canandaigua, moderately convenient to Keuka (our favorite winery area), but it is a bit of a drive to Seneca and Cayuga, since you really have to take 5 across the top to access the winery trails. After a long day of wine tasting and a bit of sun, the distance does wear a bit.

The rooms were wonderfully pretty and clean - the only downside I saw (which may very well be changed), is that the bedrooms face east and our suite did not have heavy curtains. We were up at sunrise whether we wanted to be or not.

The owners do stay out of your way. We like that, but I know some don't. They are, however, helpful when you need them.

We completely recommend the Filigree Inn as a great honeymoon spot :D

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

Though the Filigree is a 15 minute drive from what is considered 'downtown' it was a fantastic place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and spotless, and the inn is located on over one hundred acres of property. There is a fantastic (though short) hiking trail on site, and the innkeepers stock your fridge with eggs, muffins and fruit for breakfast. From the jacuzzi tub to the soft and comfy pillowtop mattress, we were very comfortable. The innkeepers were a little less available then at a typical B&B, as the 'apartments' are up the road from their home, but with a few area guides and maps, the wineries are just minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Filigree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filigree Inn

Address: 5406 Bristol Valley Road, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Four Deluxe Suites with gas fireplaces and private decks.* Full kitchesn, spacious living rooms and charming bathrooms.* King size feather beds.* Britol Mountai Ski Resort, Canandaigua Lake, Golfing, HOrseback Riding, water sports and shopping close by.* Elegant and romanatic Weddig Site!* Gardens, parks, lakes and mountans ... so many reasons to vacation in the Finger Lakes Region! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filigree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Filigree Inn to your Saves list