We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canandaigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps to your Saves list
252 North Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
2014 Special
Ranked #6 of 16 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just returned from a stay at Oliver Phelps. Bill and Lynne were very accommodating and helpful. They helped us to find a restaurant that we could catch the Bruins playoff game. We stayed in the Killkenny which is actually bigger than it looks in the pictures. Breakfast was also amazing. Overall, it was a great stay in the Finger Lakes!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at Oliver Phelps for three nights in May 2013. When we checked in, the innkeepers let us know they had just purchased the inn and had been there only a month. That was worrisome at first, as we were counting on them for directions and reservations, etc. Well, not to worry, Bill went out of his way to find a way for us to access the Erie Canal around Palmyra, and even found another house to tour in Geneva when the Granger Homestead nearby was closed Monday. He let us know that a bridge on the way to the Ithaca Airport was out and gave us printed alternate directions, He helped us with restaurant choices and other things to do in the area as well. Lynne was also gracious and friendly and very eager to try out recipes for her guests. She loves to cook and thinks this is her dream job and dream kitchen!

The inn itself is in remarkable great shape for a late 1800s house. The downstairs has a huge living room for guests to use with a fireplace and lots of seating. Lynn left out yummy brownies for us to munch on after dinner. The inn is walking distance from great restaurants. If you like to walk as we do, you can even walk down to the lakeside park from the inn (about a mile and a half).

We chose the Oliver Phelps Suite, which is a fantastic room. It's large and has a king bed facing a lovely gas fireplace with remote clicker! There are two recliners facing the fireplace for reading and relaxing. The bathroom is about as large as my small office at work! It was made from a smaller adjoining room and has a great shower. We didn't try it, but the shower had jets from the wall if you wanted to massage your back when showering,

We loved this inn and certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Oliver Phelps suite is wonderful...large with two recliners facing a gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You can imagine a little trepidation into looking at a stay at a bed and breakfast rather than all the usual at a hotel. Would it provide for my independence, my desire for privacy, the comfort all travelers seek, in, what can be stressful, rather than relaxing.
The BBOP has turned out to be a very large part of a wonderful, quick long weekend trip. Far away from home in Montana, "new" owners, Bill and Lynne, calmed all anticipations with their warm, caring hospitality. Every dietary need was met, beyond my expectations, homemade. Even the first morning I couldn't enjoy the sit down breakfast, Lynne was SO kind in packing me a take-out bag for the day. How thoughtful! Not words I ever thought I'd write for my first stay, but absolutely on the money.
The common areas were warm and inviting, lots of reading material (Thank You, Bill!).
The Greencrest room was very cozy, with it's own small bathroom. Down blanket and comforter came in handy on this very chilly weekend. I could see enjoying their hot tub, although I did not have time. What an added bonus for a wonderful inn. I would recommend The Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps to anyone and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you are considering a stay in the Finger Lakes region of NY, I highly recommend a stay at
Oliver Phelps B&B in Canadiagua. It is worth it just to spend some time with the owners, Donna
and Jack. They are the type of folks that add something to your life, some enrichment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Jack and Donna are definitely one of the main reasons our stay was so enjoyable. They are warm, generous without being overbearing and nosy, and wonderful cooks. Their breakfasts kept us going the entire day! The house is beautiful, spacious and not as cluttered as some B&B's tend to be. It is very conveniently located, not far from the waterfront and the small 'downtown' area. Walkable if weather permits. The area must be especially beautiful during Spring and Summer, although the fresh snow also made for some pretty scenic pictures. The only downside (which makes it a ' very good' instead of an 'excellent') is that our room, the one with the private bathroom just outside the bedroom (robes are provided!), had a rather small bed. Not just width-wise, but length-wise as well, and we're not even that tall. But maybe we're just being picky, and probably all other rooms have larger beds. It was clean, it was well taken care of, the bed and bathroom amenities were a-plenty, everything you need is provided for. We'd definitely go back if we revisit the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We love this place! The inn is so warm and inviting as are the innkeepers Jack and Donna. The house is just so cozy and comfy and our breakfast was excellent! Highly recommend! The Oliver Phelps Inn as it is just minutes from downtown and the lake. Ample parking and very close to churches, the library, the historic Sonnenberg gardens and more. The New York Wine & Culinary Center is an excellent choice for dinner and someday we hope to take a class there. We also enjoyed our lunch at Nolans on Canandaigua lake. All the downtown shop owners were so friendly, we love the soaps and candles from Wick-edly Sent, chocolates from Sweet Expressions and cocktails at Eddie O'Brien's. At the innkeepers recommendation we tried Eric's Office Restaurant where the "locals gather' and the food and the service were both exceptional. The Oliver Phelps Inn is the perfect place to stay for a get-away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oliver Phelps suite and it is very spacious with two lazy boy recliners and a firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our first stay here, and we were so glad we came across it! We stayed at this spectacular B&B as part of our Honeymoon tour of the Finger Lakes the week of Oct 21-29. We were greeted so graciously by both Jack and Donna, and they went out of their way to make our stay outstanding. The house is immaculate, not to mention gorgeous...and can we say attention to details! The breakfasts were truly gourmet. Any info you need to know about things to do, places to go...they have the answer! We are so glad they are part of our honeymoon memories...and can't wait to return again!

P.S. Make sure to soak your day of travelling away in the romantic outdoor hot tub!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wickwood room...though small, it is SO cozy, very comfortable bed, and romantic. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

Address: 252 North Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, Federal-style home located in heart of Historic District. 12 foot ceilings, arched doorways, original chestnut floors decorated with a mixture of antiques and contemporary furnishings. Fabulous gourmet breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, homemade pastries and an elegant entree. Enjoy breakfast in our spacious dining room and relax in our all-season spa under starlight. Walking distance to restaurants, attractions (Sonnenberg Mansion & Gardens, Granger Homestead, NYWCC) and the Canandaigua lakefront. Let us pamper you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.