We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet of Canandaigua

Save Saved
You added The Chalet of Canandaigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chalet of Canandaigua
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Ventura, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Our Anniversary stay at The Canandaigua Chalet was a celebration! Upon deciding where to stay, we took notice of all the other great reviews documented about the Chalet and so held high expectations about our stay, however, let it be known that our actually experience was far better than anticipated. Ditto Plus! First of all, the ladies who run this establishment are “people pleasers” so; we were treated as if we were royalty - no kidding. Hence, the number one highlight of the Chalet is the way in which you will be treated. Secondly, the grounds and the Chalet itself are well-maintained, luxurious, if not extravagant, and beautiful. The scenic entrance drives you up deep into the wooded landing above the lush green fields and past a picturesque pond surrounded with huge weeping willows and inhabited by many songbirds. We actually encountered a colorful flock of Winged-Migration geese. The grounds are visually comparable to an enchanted story-book created to make you feel good, clean, safe and blessed. Thirdly, the food and presentation is truly worth bringing your appetite as well as your camera to breakfast. It is all that festive and good! The hosts are generously meticulous about offering the most delightful flavors and aromas together transforming breakfast into an experience rather than merely a meal. Addressing once again our hosts; we were totally impressed with the extent in which and the quality of the information and suggestions for us to tap into while there in the lovely Finger Lakes. They steered us towards exactly what we were looking for as they listen carefully to what we said and responded to us. We loved the area also. The town and lake of Canandaigua is an apparent prosperous community in which people are legitimately happy. The natural beauty of the entire area was all together more than we realized until then and now, knowing of this place called the Finger Lakes in Upstate New York, and personally spending time at The Chalet of Canandaigua and meeting Margaret and Pattie, we can make fact of the delightful experience we now share herein with you. We recommend this Bed and Breakfast very highly. So put away your passports and see what the beautiful Upstate New York area has to offer.

  • Liked — The high quality in everything.
  • Disliked — The end of our stay.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
213
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We spent a weekend at the Chalet with our family (parents and siblings), and had an absolutely great time. We were able to rent out all 3 bedrooms, so had the entire place to ourselves. The decor and atmosphere was very inviting. The outdoor appearance is that of a large modern log cabin, well designed and attractive. It has a spacious outdoor deck, where breakfast is served, and plenty of common sitting areas to relax, watch TV or movies (flat screen LCD TV w/ DVD player in the family room, with a DVD library), play chess or cards.

The bedrooms were very well decorated, and had everything you could want or expect. In fact, there were nice little bonuses, including a personal coffee maker (individual cartridge type), mini-refrigerator stocked with soft drinks and water, and spare toiletries. Each has its own bathroom; some had both a spacious shower with multiple shower heads and a large sized tub. The beds were very soft. One bedroom had an additional large pullout sofabed.

Your hosts are Margaret and Pattie - both very friendly, thoughtful, and full of ideas of what to do, where to visit, and where to eat in Canandaigua. They made us feel completely welcome and at home. When we asked about tennis courts, they took the time to ask around and printed out directions to parks with tennis courts. They took the time to get to know us, and were always asking if there was anything else we needed. The breakfasts they cooked were great - full of flavor and imagination; not just typical eggs and toast for breakfast. We were served a full 3 courses each morning, personally served outdoors on the deck. Fresh home made banana bread, waffles, eggs benedict with portobello mushrooms, fresh fruit. Plenty of coffee, tea, juice. They were also very accommodating of special diet needs and preferences (vegetarians). Also, they provided complimentary homebaked desserts each evening (e.g. fresh mixed berry pie).

The location is also convenient; a few miles away from Canandaigua town center, about 10 minutes or less drive. Very quiet and peaceful location, a true "getaway." The grounds are well-kept, with a large pond.

All in all, we had an excellent time staying at the Chalet. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Chalet on May 10th 2008 for a night away. We were pleasently surprised by the grounds of the Chalet, but even more impressed by the Chalet and the women who run the B&B. We stayed in the Lee Suite and everything was just perfect. The overstuffed king size bed with luxourious bedding, flat screen tv, 2 person soaking tub, 2 person shower. Everything was perfect! Patty, Maggie and Missy (their dog) make you feel right at home as soon as you walk through the front door.

The 3 course breakfast the following morning was the best we have ever had. Homemade wild berry scones, cheese and portobello mushroom stuffed tomatoes, and Bananas Foster!

The women who run the Chalet have thought of everything for their guests stay. We can't wait to go back again!

If you are looking for a night away and love the woods then this Chalet is for you!

  • Liked — The Wonderful Chalet itself
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

My husband and I were given a nights stay at the Chalet for our first wedding anniversary. When we arrived Maggie and Patty... and Missy gave us a tour and we learned the history of the chalet. We plan on going back to stay in each room. They were amazing hosts, thought of everything, from deorderant to the chocolate covered strawberries. We had the sweetheart package in the balcony room. A massage in our room, the most amazing bathroom... I think my husband holds the record for the most showers/baths in less than 24 hours. We plan to go back every year for our anniversary. I've recommended to all of my family and friends to pay a visit to the Chalet.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

We have stayed in a number of hotels and B&Bs, but this is one of the best!!!! There are a number of amenities in the room that make it heavenly: the decadently comfortable pillow top bed, the towel warmer in the bathroom, the Victorian soaking tub that easily fits two full sized adults. Some B&Bs serve a simple breakfast of bacon and eggs. The Chalet has kicked this up a notch with bistro level food. For our breakfasts they served a Bananas Foster on Waffles one day and a meatless Eggs Benedict that were to die for....It snowed the weekend we were there and it was quite romantic looking out from our room seeing the show fall down through the trees. We will definitely be back

  • Liked — bedding and comfort of the bed
  • Disliked — we had to go home
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We received a weekend here as a gift from my parents. We arrived weary and stressed and from the moment we walked in we felt so lucky and grateful that we got the opportunity to stay at this magnificent place. We were greeted by warm hostesses and immediately got a tour of their very modern cozy log cabin. We stayed in the Balcony Suite with a great large tub, double shower, and a fireplace that is in the wall between the bathroom and bedroom--you can see straight through. When we came there was a snack set out for the guests arriving that night. There was dessert set out for us in the evenings (an excellent apple pie the first night and brownies with strawberries the next) We felt so comfortable lounging around the B&B. We played a few games in the great room in front of the fire and watched a movie in the living room. They have movies there that you can borrow or you can bring your own, There is a DVD player in each room but also downstairs where you are free to watch your movie as well. The three course breakfasts are amazing!! The first morning we had apple cranberry muffins, fruit parfaits and the most fantastic tasting meat pie and omlette. The second morning we had croissants with a great selection of jellies, a fruit plate, and bananas foster waffles with sausage and apples. Everything is presented beautifully and tastes wonderful. There is an endless supply of teas, coffees, and juices and if you discuss dietary needs with the hostesses at the beginning of your stay they will do their very best to accommodate you. There is no question that we are going back. What a restful, beautifully decorated, comfortable and romantic place run by two dynamic women who have truly found their calling. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

My wife, adult daughter and I spent three great nights at the Chalet. The experience was wonderful. I took long nature walks in the dense woods each morning before breakfast, returned to fabulous food and great hosts.

The Chalet's web site understates the luxury of the wood cabin and also understates the beautiful grounds and surrounding woods. Our expectations were exceeded in every way.

Our two hosts were always accomodating to our needs. They are friendly, and we felt as if we were leaving our own home when we had to say goodbye.

You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — The natural surroundings
  • Disliked — That I had to leave at the end
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Tingo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet of Canandaigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.