We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet We? A wonderful luxury getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet of Canandaigua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chalet of Canandaigua to your Saves list
The Chalet of Canandaigua
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Holiday Package
Ranked #1 of 16 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chalet We? A wonderful luxury getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We found the Chalet through the How About We (for Couples) getaway experience, and we couldn't be happier with our discovery! From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed with what I can only describe as a mixture of feeling like family and feeling like a VIP! The grounds are beautiful and wonderfully maintained, the rustic lodge itself is full of beautiful boutique touches, and every comfort is provided, from a discrete sound system playing relaxing music in the main common area to the comfortable inviting rooms, and I can't say enough about the food!! From the absolutely wonderful meals Pattie and Margaret provided (I'm trying to bribe them to make a cookbook!) to the dining spots and wineries in town they helped us get reservations to, we couldn't have had a better culinary experience! If you're looking for the ultimate in getaway experiences that really make you feel like you've gotten away from the stress of the every day but not from every comfort you could wish for, try the Chalet of Canandaigua!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are a treat to stay in, but the Lee Suite is the ultimate in a relaxing getaway exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hey Kristin We're glad you enjoyed your visit, it was a pleasure meeting you both! We especially enjoyed the great conversations over breakfast. We look forward to suprising you with some new dishes on a return visit as you both are definitely members of the clean plate club! Have a great summer! M&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
248
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gibbsboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The rooms are comfortable and the beds good. Common areas are very pleasant and inviting. The location is lovely, peaceful and quiet. The most outstanding features are the excellent breakfasts and evening desserts and the very helpful hosts. Margaret and Patty helped us plan our winery tour and dinner plans. They could not have been friendlier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you Donna, both Pattie and I enjoyed meeting you and Elvin and appreciate that you took to time to comment on your stay with us. We enjoyed helping you plan your three days with us, you really got a lot in! Thanks again for choosing us as your home base while exploring the area, have a great summer, take care! M&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a wonderful B&B tucked away in the woods of Canandaigua, NY, where our hosts, Margaret and Patti, treated my wife and I like royalty! We had The Chalet to ourselves for 2 of the three days we stayed and even though the weather was less than ideal to do the hiking we planned on, they gave us plenty of guidance on where to go and what to see. We explored the region with their help and their dining recommendations were spot on! We were served the most gourmet breakfasts we had ever experienced and Nancy thoroughly enjoyed her birthday getaway!! The grounds were very peaceful and The Chalet itself is a marvel!! No detail was left to chance! We adored the Lee Room with its spaciousness and design. We would be hard pressed to stay anywhere else in the Finger Lakes on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: The Lee Room is spacious and cozy at the same time! Huge bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hey Lou, Thank You! It was our pleasure! Both Pattie and I enjoyed visiting with both you and Nancy and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would like to visit again! We will look forward to it, perhaps the weather will cooperate more the next time! Have a great summer! M&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkport, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently had the pleasure to stay for just one night but will definitely return. From the moment we arrived we felt like family and the suite was very nicely done. Patti and Margaret make you feel like a VIP and provide help with local recommendations for everything from dinner reservations to local attractions. They put a very nice touch on every aspect of your stay and make the experience very memorable. Thanks for a great experience. We are looking forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Your welcome! We will look forward to your return visit and sharing more about each other. We really enjoyed our conversations and finding out how small a world it really is. Thanks much for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it! I loved hearing all about your horse farm, being a western rider from way back! Bring pics! Take care and have a great summer! M&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

When you first walk in your greeted by Maggie and Pattie, and you are welcomed into their home. It's a rustic log cabin, yes the floors creek a little, but isn't that expected. The food is amazing... The dessert at night or the 3 course breakfast the next morning. The Lee suite was designed with everyone in mind, beautiful bed, and furniture. And the bathroom, my wife thought she was in heaven. With a tub that's built for 2, stand alone shower with body sprayers, and his and her sinks. The view in the morning, when you've come down for breakfast... You can hear civilization off in the distance, but it's covered by beautiful trees, and a ton of birds, geese and other wildlife. You can just lose yourself at the chalet. So relaxing even if your staying for one night, so close to Canandaigua, yet it's like your in the rustic country. Can't say enough about them. Certainly a return trip in the future, well worth the price. Superb, and phenomenal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed three fabulous nights at the Chalet. Loved the Lee suite and the delicious breakfasts! Patti and Margaret are so friendly and fun... they helped us plan our days to make sure we did everything we wanted to do in the area. Highly recommend the hot air balloon ride, it was fantastic! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hey Kassie, Thanks much! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, as both Pattie & I enjoyed having you and helping you explore the Finger Lakes area! What a way to get a birds eye view but with a balloon flight! We're glad the weather cooperated enough that you were able to take flight, it was a beautiful day for it! Thanks again for your visit, we look forward to seeing you again! Margaret & Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed our staty so much. Patti and Margaret were perfect hosts-- they pampered us and served us a lovely Dinner and two outstanding breakfasts . They also were very helpful guiding us to the area attactions and restrurants. Most of all they were so warm and friendly We felt as though we knew them forever. We recommend this lovely jewel of a inn to everyone.
.

Room Tip: WE stayed in the Balcony room which we loved -----All the rooms wee lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank You! Both Pattie & I are so glad that you were able to vist with us, we thouroughly enjoyed meeting both you and Vin and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the recommendation, it means alot! Take care and hope to see you soon! Margaret & Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet of Canandaigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.