We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B. Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet of Canandaigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chalet of Canandaigua to your Saves list
The Chalet of Canandaigua
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
“Beautiful B&B. Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I wanted to do something special for my boyfriend's 40th birthday. I had found deals to snowboard and also stay at a Bed and Breakfast for a weekend. The gentlemen at Bristol Mountain highly recommended The Chalet and said it was the most beautiful of all the B&B's around the area. I called and instatly got the best vibe from Margret on the phone about how excited they were to have us stay and what they could do to accomodate us in the meantime. I had never been to a B&B before, and this was by far an amazing experience! The B&B is so unique in that each room has it's own feel to them. The log cabin feel made us both very relaxed after a long day in the snow. The breakfast in the morning was one to never forget-- Margret & Patti, you both are AMAZING CHEFS! Overall I would recommend this to any single person or couple to get away for the weekend. Both of the hosts were such wonderful people and I would recommend their romantic and relaxing retreat to anyone in the future. Thank you again!

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful and the B&B was quiet enough because it was far off of the road in the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Awesome, thank you for the great comments,we appreciate it that you took the time to share your thoughts! Both Pattie and I enjoyed having you and Mike visit with us to celebrate his birthday and are very pleased that we were able to help make it a special celebration! We look forward to seeing you again! Take care M&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
268
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manlius,NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just back from a very relaxing overnight stay at the Chalet. It was a return visit for us and we were warmly greeted. The Lee suite was well appointed with a comfortable bed, and nice seating area with a gas fireplace. The room was quiet, clean, and fresh, with high quality towels and linens. The large soaker tub was a bonus as were the complimentatry soaps, and other toiletries. Nothing was forgetten. The kitchenette was also stocked with bottled water and soda. Breakfast was delicious and not your everyday fare. This was the 1st B& B we ever stayed at and since then we have tried 2 others which both fell short of the Chalet. Margaret and Patti have truly spoied us. I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: We have stayed at both the Balcony and the Lee and both are very nice. The Lee seemed a bit quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank You for doing a review of your stay with us! We appreciate it! It was a pleasure seeing you again after such along time! We looked back and you were one of our first guests back in '07, as we said "we're did the time go?" . Thank you for your return visit, and THANK YOU for such kind words! We are very glad that your enjoyed your stay so much and will look forward to your return visit! Best regards, Margaret & Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Patti and Margaret were wonderful! The 3 course breakfast, dessert waiting for us and the overall ambiance was heavenly. It was the perfect romantic getaway. Looking forward to staying at the Chalet again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank You! We enjoyed getting to know both you and Tony and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleaure chatting at night before the fire and sharing conversation after breakfast. We hope you are enjoying your holiday this week and appreciate that you and Tony made plans to spend part of your holiday with us! We will look forward to seeing you both again! Margaret & Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Chalet is beautiful and cozy, inside and out. The three course breakfast was FANTASTIC. Margaret and Patti are great to their guests, and very helpful. This place was a perfect one night romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hey Nick, thank you for sharing your time with us over the Valentine weekend and for taking the time to review your stay with us! We appreciate the kind words! So glad you enjoyed our special valentine breakfast...we hope you will visit with us again, we will look forward to see both you aand Stacey! Margaret & Pattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The proprietors of The Chalet pay attention to detail and to their patrons' individual needs and interests, both in terms of the accommodations and the menu. We were treated like royalty; Margaret & Patti even helped us dig our car out of a particularly snowy spot, and made a sumptuous dinner for us when the weather prevented us from going out to a restaurant in town! A creative, nutritious and skillfully-prepared breakfast was provided, too. The house itself is warm and welcoming, gorgeously decorated, and offers all the modern amenities. We're so glad we discovered this B&B and the folks who operate it, and look forward to returning!

Room Tip: There are 3 guest rooms, one on the first floor next to the kitchen (where we stayed), one upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
It was a pleasure having you! We appreciate the effort you went through to get to us in the snowy weather and then end up being house bound!!!! Dinner was our pleasure! We look forward to having your visit with us again so you can enjoy all the great activities in the area. Take care, till then...and Thank You for your gracious comments! Pattie & Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Chalet was the first B&B we have ever been to, and our experience was absolutely great! Patti and Margaret made us feel at home immediately. Their knowledge of the area is extensive, and they took care of our dinner arrangements both nights which was so convenient. The rooms are so cozy and comfortable, as are the living areas (especially the one with the fireplace where we spent lots of time!). The breakfasts are exquisite. We can't say enough about how wonderful the Chalet it....we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Katy,
What a wonderful review,Thank You! We enjoyed having you visit with us this past weekend, please thank your mother, for us, for giving The Chalet as a getaway gift! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will come a frequent B&B'er. It's the only way to go!!!!!! One of the greatest compliments is to hear the words, "we will return!" ! We will look forward to you future return visit! Thanks much! M&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I can't say enough about The Chalet. This was the perfect overnight getaway! The property was beautiful and the room was luxurious. There was a fireplace in the bathroom, need I say more? Margaret and Pattie are wonderful hosts, they made us feel very welcome. My boyfriend contends their homemade three course breakfast was the best he's had since being back in the country.

We will definitely be back in the future. Thank you Margaret and Pattie for an amazing weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staychalet, Owner at The Chalet of Canandaigua, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi Emma

You are most welcome! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it! We enjoyed hearing about the teaching experience in China for the last several months and hope that your trip there goes as well! Enjoy your time there with your new class, we look forward to a return visit to hear how everything went! Thanks again for your kind words, best wishes M&P
ps...we'll have some new breakfasts for your next visit back to the states! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chalet of Canandaigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet of Canandaigua

Address: 3770 State Route 21, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chalet of Canandaigua 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Chalet of Canandaigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet of Canandaigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.