We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A don't miss B & B experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
176 N. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Randolph, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A don't miss B & B experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Guy and Jaynee Straw (the innkeepers) did a fabulous job of renovating this home. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by Guy and given tour and information for our stay.
Their attention to detail both in the decor and service is excellent. The breakfast cuisine
was beautifully presented, a treat to the palate with unique ingredients. The 3 days we
spent at the Inn were truly delightful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
216
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Every detail of your stay is expertly attended. Guy and Jaynee have made hosting an art form. As you look around your accomodations - both in your room and in the common areas - you see detail after detail of things that add beauty, comfort, and convenience. The rooms are immaculately clean, well-appointed, and quiet. Every effort is extended to you for your comfort, yet they do it without hounding you - they are very respectful of guests' privacy while still being so genuinely warm and welcoming that it's like staying with good friends. And then there's the breakfast. We've stayed a total of three nights now, over two visits, and each meal has been a gourmet spectacle. The food is so beautiful and delicious that it almost feels sinful to eat it. We had the world's best eggs benedict one morning that I will probably still taste 30 years from now. The best part of it all, though, is that it's very reasonably priced for being among the best B&B's in all the Finger Lakes. I could not make even one criticism of this establishment - it is perfect. Lastly, the professionalism and dedication of the hosts: despite a couple of challenging and emotional events in their lives, Guy and Jaynee refused to relax their obviously high standards for even a minute, and stayed strong and unified and cheerful. If you are going to stay in the Finger Lakes region, you can do no better than the Inn on the Main.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Myself, my husband, and another couple decided to go to the fingerlakes for some relaxation, social time and, of course, wine tasting. However, we all wanted to stay in a sort of communal environment where we could also have our own privacy (i.e. separate rooms). After searching for hotels with two-bedroom suites, I finally came across this B&B. We stayed in the Inn's Suite, a sort of townhouse in the back of the inn. It is FABULOUS! Two bedrooms, one bathroom, a pull out couch, a kitchen, dining room, and living room - and all for an incredibly low price. It is centrally-located, immaculately clean, and quiet. Of course, in addition to the two separate rooms, we also appreciated the communal areas and spent the evening drinking wine and playing board games. In the morning, we were provided with breakfast, which was also wonderful. The owners are friendly and approachable, and they were always more than happy to answer our questions. I have already recommended this place to several of our friends. If we were to return, we would absolutely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to this wonderful B&B. Guy and Jaynee are outstanding host. They truly make you feel welcome from the moment you step foot in their beautiful home. We stayed in the Gifford Suite this time and it was wonderful. All of the rooms are beautiful and very accommodating, the attention to details and cleanliness are outstanding. The breakfasts were delicious!! We will definitely be back again and would highly reccomend this B&B

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Inn on the Main was our first B&B experience and the bar has been set extremely high! From the moment we pulled in the driveway to the minute we left it everything was just more than we ever thought it would be. The house itself is just gorgeous and decorated just right. The room (Burrell Suite) was extraordinary! The bed was wonderful, best nights sleep! The jacuzzi tub was to die for! Everything about the room was just right and we didn't want to leave. Guy and Jaynee were so welcoming and friendly. Overall it was like visitng old friends, I wanted to hug them when we were leaving. They were the nicest people I think I've ever met. They suggested great places to eat and great wineries to visit and everything was spot on! The breakfasts that came out were absolutly delicious! Each morning was better than the one before! Everything about our stay was wonderful and we can't wait to go back and stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

First time to a B and B and won't be the last. Guy and Jaynee went above and beyond for our visit. Very friendly and just like home atmosphere welcome you when you get there.. All the little extras are provided and the food is excellent..They have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. They made us feel special and just are the greatest. Can't say enough about this little piece of heaven... if you need a getaway this is the place to go...and the owners are truly one of a kind....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Top notch service. This was the first B&B experience for my girlfriend, and the bar was set very high for her. It's going to be hard to top! Our room was very clean, and very well appointed. The house itself is gorgeous and very well maintained. We were given a security code for the guest entrance and it did expire at check out. So you know that they take guest security seriously. I've been to some that left the door open all night and all you had was room key. All in all, best time yet at a B&B, and I’ve been to about 4 in the Canandaigua area! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Address: 176 N. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD/CD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD/A/C, and wireless internet. The inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.