We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
176 N. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
AVAILABILITY? CHECK HERE
Ranked #2 of 17 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Beyond expectations!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

The Inn On The Main was our first B&B experience. My husband and I stayed for two nights and we can not wait to return. Perfection all around, from the wonderful breakfast to the meticulous attention to detail. The room was comfortable, cozy, and beautiful. They thought of everything-towel warmer next to the jet tub, corkscrew, wine glasses. Guy and Jaynee are wonderful hosts who treat you like invited guests rather than customers.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
222
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honeoye Falls, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We were only booked for 1 night but wish we had been able to stay longer. The B & B is top of the line! The rooms are meticulous, the house is decorated wonderfully and the breakfast was scrumptious! I give the 1840 Inn on the Main my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Jaynee and Guy Straw were outstanding hosts. They made us perfectly at home in their beautifully furnished inn in Canandaigua. Breakfasts were delicious and and at a gourmet level beyond any expectation. We would stay again. We would recommend their inn without hesitation or reservation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at the Inn in early October with another couple. This is our 3rd year of vistiting New England in the fall and we have stayed at many B&B's and Inn's over those 3 years. Guy and Jaynee were the perfect hosts. The hospitality was the best we have experieced and the food was great. We are still not sure where we will be going next year, but if it is anywhere close, we will be booking with Guy and Jaynee again.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We booked this B&B for a last-minute anniversary trip, and couldn't be happier. The owners were pleasant, the room was large and comfortable, and the location couldn't be beat. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This B&B was right up there in beauty, comfort and the most outstanding breakfast. The hosts, Jaynee and Guy Straw were as nice and considerate as anyone I have met in my life. They went out of their way to make us feel more than comfortable. They respected our vegetarian and low fat dietary requests and I wish I could cook a breakfast half as good with the great presentation that appeared each day. The room was well appointed and spotless, and the beds extremely comfortable. I wish they had a restaurant menu book to look at but that was a minor inconvenience. The artist tour was great and the ride magnificent. Next time we hope to stay in this B&B and visit the wineries.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerport, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I came to Inn on the Main the day after we got married and stayed for 2 nights. After the craziness of planning and celebrating our wedding day, the experience at this B & B was exactly what we wanted and needed. It was so relaxing and a perfect ending to our "wedding bliss." We stayed in the Burrell Suite, which was very nice. We also took advantage of the "Romance is in the air" package, which included beautiful white roses, a $50 dining card to one of many choices of restaurants, and chocolate covered strawberries - I'd highly recommend getting these and eating them in the amazing jacuzzi tub! The Inn is located walking distance from Sonnenberg Gardens, where you can tour the beautiful gardens (bring a camera) and do wine tasting if you wish. There are several other attractions in the area too. The owner, Guy, was so friendly and very accommodating. He was also a great cook!! He made 2 of the best breakfast meals I've ever had! Everything from the service, to the food, to the ambiance, to even the location was great. There is not anything negative I could say about our stay at the Inn on the Main. My husband and I were very pleased and very much enjoyed our experience there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Address: 176 N. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD/CD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD/A/C, and wireless internet. The inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.