We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
176 N. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
AVAILABILITY? CHECK HERE
Ranked #2 of 17 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New York
1 review
“outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The house is absolutely beautiful! My husband and I stayed in the Burrell room, I have to say, this is one of the most beautiful rooms that I have ever stayed in at a B&B. Jaynee and Guy have an uncanning ability to make you feel welcomed. The hospitality that is exhibited, is one that will have us coming back again in the future for sure. Plus the breakfast was amazing!!! Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthemain, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We so appreciate your kind words, and do hope you will return soon! Thank you for taking the time to post your review, which will help others with their decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
222
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Theres really no reason to stay anywhere else. My wife and I stayed in the Gifford room for 1 night (We have a 2yr old and 2 dogs so gettin away ain't so easy anymore). No, no one needs a jacuzzi I suppose but that was very relaxing. Just a beautiful historic home, in a great location, wonderful hosts and as most people have commented, a fabulous breakfast (We had a whole pineapple, berries and kiwi to start!). We would not hesitate for a second about returning. Nice job!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanandaiguaInnkeeper, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Like you said, life today is so hectic, you need to re harve. We are happy you think Inn on the Main was your home away from home. Thank you for your kind worxs, and we hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have stayed at the inn a couple times, and each time is like coming home. we are greeted with a warm reception, and an inviting hug from Guy and Janyee. The inn is nothing short of beautiful. The breakfast is wonderful, and there is always plenty, or more than plenty! It is a great location as a launching point to explore the spectacular finger lakes, and canandaigua is a fantastic victorian town. Lots too do for everyone! But, the best thing about the inn, is the romance that it inspires. You literally get to know each other again, and come back home recharged, and feeling closer to your special person. We were recently engaged at the inn, and with the help of Guy and Jaynee, I was able to keep it a surprise till the right moment came along. I couldnt of thought of a better place to officially start our lives together. Thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanandaiguaInnkeeper, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We have begun to feel for you more like family and friends rather than guests. We wish you the very best in your future together, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to welcome you back, again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Guy and Jaynee are very gracious hosts. And, the breakfast they prepared was gourmet! You couldn't ask for a better overnight experience. Our room was well-appointed and very clean. It was comfortable and relaxing. Everything exceeded our expectations. Guy and Jaynee are to be commended for the vision they have for this Inn and for the execution of all that they undertake. Well done! We look forward to another visit.

James and Kathleen Stimler

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We look forward to our extended weekend getaway every year for our wedding anniversary celebration. (And also for any other time we can get away!)
Jaynee & Guy are always there to greet us at the door and to help us with anything that needs to be brought in. They take the time to chat with us, and to see to any needs we have upon our arrival, and then we are off to enjoy our romantic room!

Our personal favorite room is the Burrell Suite. It has a beautiful jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The big comfy bed has the softest sheets and pillows we have ever slept with! There also is an extra room which is also beautifully decorated and carpeted for lounging in as well. It has all the amenities that we enjoy for our quiet, relaxing ALONE time-

The breakfasts are always so unique and scrumptious! The eggs Benedict served on a croissant instead of an English muffin was an interesting twist. A vegetable frittata (like a quiche-type dish) and macadamia french toast were other main breakfast entrees we were served-they too were also delicious! These are dishes that we normally wouldn't make at home, so it is a treat to have them. If a guest doesn't want to try them, they will whip up something else to accommodate.

There are always snacks downstairs-cookies, fresh fruit, granola bars as well as coffee, tea and hot chocolate available. There is a refrigerator stocked with soda as well as the hot beverage selections upstairs.

From the time you check in until the time you check out you will feel pampered by these two innkeepers. They are very knowledgeable at suggesting places to go for dinner while you are there as well as anything going on in the town that you may be interested in checking out. They will call ahead and make your dinner reservations for you-one less thing to worry about while you are out and about.

Right now they have the Inn decorated beautifully for the holiday season, and we were able to enjoy that as well! Jaynee & Guy are the absolute best!!

Room Tip: The Penfield Suite is a beautiful room(recently opened) on the first floor for those who may have li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanandaiguaInnkeeper, Owner at 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We love welcoming back guests that we feel are part of our family. Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your expsrience. Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Jaynee opened the door for us before we could reach the handle! We were met with delicious homemade cookies, slept in a wonderful bed with extremely comfortable pillows, bathed in a wonderful in-room jacuzzi, and had a delicious breakfast including an outstanding quiche. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gifford room and loved it, but Guy showed us the other rooms and the Burrell Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My gf and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and we really enjoyed our stay. The house is lovely and the owners are very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was always outstanding and we highly recommend it to people who want to enjoy the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Address: 176 N. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD/CD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD/A/C, and wireless internet. The inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.