We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast
176 N. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
“Our stay at Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Recently my husband and I stated at the Inn on Main Bed and Breakfast in Canandaigua NY. This was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast, and we couldnt have been more happy with our choice. The Inn was beautiful, and clean. The owners were very nice and accomidating. The room that we had was beautiful, it had its own bathroom with a claw foot tub, and a firplace. The breakfast that we were served every morning was the best breakfast we have had anywhere! It was much better than any breakfast served in a restaurant. We were at the Inn for 5 days, and we were served a different breakfast every morning. The owners were so nice, and gave us many suggestions of area attractions. When we came back in the late afternoon or early evening, there were cookies and treats, with soft music playing in the backround. With all the rooms around us, we rarely heard anybody else, it was very quiet and peaceful. The owners are so nice, and their Inn is beautiful. When we return to the area, we will stay at the Inn again. We have nothing negative to say, everything was perfect!

Room Tip: Our room had a claw foot tub, some of the other rooms have a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
216
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A beautiful spot for touring the Finger Lakes! The inn is fantastic, the hosts are cordial, friendly, and helpful. The room was superb, and had the "little detail" touches that are missing in so many hotels. There was a flashlight next to the bed, ear plugs (not needed) in the nightstand drawers, and chocolates in the room. A coffee maker was conveniently placed in the communal area, and a refrigerator stocked with sodas next to it. All of these things are what makes this place special. The Inn is located within convenient walking distance to the center of downtown, and near to the historic Sonnenberg Gardens and Mansion. Jaynee and Guy are the perfect hosts! We loved our stay.

Room Tip: The Burrell Suite is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed at the INN on Main while on our "ladies escape" to the Finger Lakes. The owners were gracious hosts and shared a lot of great information on the area including sightseeing, restaurant recommendations, and a historical perspective of the area.. Each of our three mornings we were served a delicious breakfast to start the day, and the homebaked goodies put out in the evening were delicious. Jaynee was nice enough to even share a recipe! The Inn is within walking distance of the Shonenberg Gardens. The only drawback that I can think of was the traffic noise from the car and truck traffic on Main Street in the morning, which is nothing they can control. However, there were even earplugs in the nightstand if you needed them! We slept in the front bedroom, so perhaps the other bedrooms didn't even notice this issue. The inn keepers anticipated just about any need you might need! We would all stay here again, and were very happy we had picked their B & B!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My new husband and I recently stayed here as our 2nd honeymoon stop. I only had previous tripadvisor reviews to go when I decided to book here. The previous reviews were right on. This B&B is wonderful and we will definitely stay here again! Guy & Jaynee go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. There is obvious attention to detail everywhere you look, even the small things. The breakfasts were wonderful! The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. We just loved coming back to the B&B every night and finding the delicious treats that the innkeepers had made earlier that day. Thank you for making our stay fabulous!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, we got a chance to peek in all of them during our stay, you won't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for three nights the end of September 2012. We were given a gift certificate by our family for a Christmas present last December.

It was a wonderful gift. Our time spent there was most enjoyable. Guy and Jaynee are fantastic hosts. The property is pristine and well appointed. The breakfasts each morning are delicious. We hope to visit the area again and of course a return visit to The Inn On The Main.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent two nights there at the end of a long trip and were very impressed with both the property and the owners. The house is really beautiful and the owners have thought of everything possible to make your stay perfect. Upstairs there is an area where you can make coffee, tea, etc. and a small fridge stocked with pop and half and half for your hot drinks. Lots of cookies, candy and fresh fruit that you can help your self to. Wish I had taken a picture of our breakfast -- it was worthy of a magazine picture and was fantastic. Our second morning there, we were going to need to leave before the normal breakfast time and we let our hosts know so they why would not be eating breakfast and they generously insisted it was no problem to make an early breakfast for us. I would love to see this house at Christmas--I bet it looks like it just came out of a magazine shoot!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Gifford Room" and it is wonderful! They also recently opened a downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medina ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012. It was a absolutely
wonderful experience. Everything was beautiful and Jaynee and Guy
were great. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a great
getaway with great friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast

Address: 176 N. Main Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, located in Finger Lakes Wine Country, is an elegant Second Empire Victorian tastefully decorated in period furnishings with attention to detail. Inn on the Main has been lovingly renovated to anticipates the needs of the discriminating traveler. The Inn offers five beautifully appointed rooms all en suite baths. Jacuzzi, fireplaces, A/C, TV/DVD/CD, wireless internet and a complimentary guest refrigerator. Guests wake up to a bountiful breakfast daily, and fresh baked goods are available afternoon and evening. The Inn can also accommodate families or several couples (sleeps 5) in our independent 2-bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining area, and living room. This suite has TV/DVD/A/C, and wireless internet. The inn is located in the heart of the Historic District of Canandaigua, a short walk to shops/attractions/lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1840 Inn on the Main Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.