We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Cool Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenberg Gardens & Mansion State Historic Park

Sonnenberg Gardens & Mansion State Historic Park
151 Charlotte Street, Canandaigua, NY 14424
(585) 394-4922
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Williamsville, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really Cool Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Really cool place and definately worth seeing if you like that sort of thing. Go in August when the flowers are all grown and in full bloom.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    72
    20
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Worth the time to wander the grounds and inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Japanese garden and the blue & white garden where particularly nice. Walk there from downtown for a really nice long walk.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not worth visiting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have enjoyed seeing many gardens and mansions over the years, but this garden did not meet our expectations. The gardens were not impressive and the mansion was average. The price was not worth the trip, although the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, NY
1 review
“Everything is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I read a negative review today about the Fall Mansion Mystery from 2010. As an actress in that show (I portrayed Mary Clark Williams) I do remember that seating was an issue. We are all volunteers and by no means are we professional actors and actresses. We are also not paid for being there; we offer our time and energy to put on this performance for the public. For the past eight years, the Fall Mansion Mystery has been a very successful fundraiser. That being said, it works best to welcome as many people in as we can possibly (and safely) hold. The $22 ticket ($18 for members) includes light fare, meaning cute little hors d'oeuvres, and a show that really lasts about an hour (approx. 30 minutes of acting time and 20 minutes of interrogation/intermission). Guests are also able to see the inside of the Mansion before and after the show.

It is unfortunate that the reviewer had a poor time that year and could not see; it was truly a fantastic show, and we all had a lot of fun at rehearsals and the performances. Since the 2010 show, the directors have re-worked the seating arrangements. There are no bad seats in the house, as anyone who disregards the negative review and comes to the show can see. I implore you all to give the Sonnenberg Fall Mansion Mystery a chance; you will not regret it.

On a different note, the park on the whole is incredible. It is literally my favorite place in all of Canandaigua. If I could live there, I would. The docents are all extremely educated in the history of Sonnenberg, and it feels as though you are walking into the past. I always expect Mary Clark Thompson to just walk downstairs and welcome us into her home. The Mansion itself is kept up and decorated just as the Thompsons would have wanted it. The Gardens, too, are maintained on a regular basis. The Japanese Garden was just updated with a renovated Tea House (around the time of last year's Mystery, 'The Buddha's Jewel').

If an escape from today into the world of yesteryear, Sonnenberg is THE PLACE to go in Canandaigua.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Gardens are a delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sonnenberg is a great place to visit if you enjoy strolling through formal and informal gardens. Since this is one of my favorite past-times, need I say more? The mansion is also impressive as a period home. One can just picture how life must have been 125 years ago. Don't miss visiting Sonnenberg.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonnenberg Gardens & Mansion State Historic Park also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sonnenberg Gardens & Mansion State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenberg Gardens & Mansion State Historic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sonnenberg Gardens & Mansion State Historic Park to your Saves list