We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Owner in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa DE Pasta

Casa DE Pasta
125 Bemis St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-1524
585-394-3710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 99 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
“B&B Owner in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

As a 24 year resident of Canandaigua and a owner of a B&B in town we have recommended Casa De Pasta to our guests when they are looking for a great dinner. We have told our guests it is a great local hangout and all at Casa either staff of patrons make you feel welcome! Joe in the kitchen with his staff have always done a fabulous job preparing delicious dishes. Wait staff is wonderful!!!! Guests come to the breakfast table the next morning raving about what a fine meal and time they had at Casa De Pasta!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I've lived here 20 years. The food is the best in the area, outstanding. The atmosphere is very nice, the prices are very reasonable. The staff are great, very friendly, courteous, and the service is quick.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Average; just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Met friends here for a catch-up dinner, and were not disappointed. The orders of linguini with either red or white clam sauce (one order of each at our table) were full of small, tasty clams and although the pasta was more than al dente cooked, it was okay. The meat lasagna did appear to be a small portion (see other reviews), but in reality it was the size of the large, deep bowl that made the serving look small. The diner was more than satisfied with the size of the serving, and the inclusion of both ground beef & sausage was a treat. Salads were crispy & cold, and the balsamic/crumbly bleu cheese dressing was fine. Bread was warm & crusty, the service was friendly and professional, and we were all satisfied with the experience. Without cocktails or dessert, we escaped for ~$20pp, which is not bad.

This is a restaurant in what appears to be a converted house, and yes it is tight. The dining rooms are small - the tables are a tad too close together (and they are small for four-tops) - and the wall surfaces reflect every bit of conversation. Not a place for a romantic interlude.

There are a lot of Italian restaurants in this area. We'd consider a return to Casa de Pasta in the future but would not drive miles out of our way to eat there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Went there on the 20th for an early dinner. First of all the place is nice, however, it was so dark we had to use a candle and a small light from a key ring to read the menu, (another table came in and they were using lights from cell phones to read the menu)
Waitress was quick and checked often on us.
HOWEVER, we ordered the lasagna, it had great taste, BUT the sauce and dish was so salty we couldn't finish it. My wife brought hers home and tossed it out, I left mine with the waitress to dump.
Probley won't go back to this place. Told my daughter about it when we got home and she said the last time her and friends went the salt was heavy too.
SOMEONE needs to lighten up when they cook sauce, it ruined a good meal We were just thankful we had a gift certificate rather than spending our money on that dinner.
This place use to be very good, it is obvious the new owners don't know how to taste test and actually make a great sauce.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“/no longer good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been going to Casa de Pasta for twenty years. The last two times the quality was way,way down(very small portions also). My 110lb. wife came away hungary. The new menu and new cook are terrible. Their red sauce was almost tasteless. We will wait another twenty years until we return

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa DE Pasta also viewed

 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Casa DE Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa DE Pasta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.