We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shore at The Inn on the Lake

The Shore at The Inn on the Lake
770 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2215 (Formerly Canandaigua Inn On The Lake)
585-394-1480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 99 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Shore is our featured restaurant for fine dining in a classic setting with a view of Canandaigua Lake. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will enjoy delightful cuisine all year round.
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing along with my server Jillian!!! Jillian was very professional and suggested a wonderful menu item to my husband and I! I ordered it and it was delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    16
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible new menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I just wrote this review under Inn on the Lake hotel, but should have written here. Went in for lunch today, looked at the new lunch menu, and walked right back out. I'd had the food that's on their new lunch menu over the summer while ordering off the lounge menu, as it's basically the same stuff. The reuben I got over the summer was gross, the calamari were ok, and the sandwich my friend got apparently tasted good but just looked horrific, chicken breast smothered in cheese and dripping fat all over. The old lunch menu was great. I was an excellent value, really diverse, had healthy options, and had something everyone could eat. They've basically de-classed the menu, made it your typical salad wrap sandwich deal with only fries for a side. Thankfully there some other restaurant are amping up their game, and have wonderful food, like nolans and Muar house.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were visiting from North Carolina. Friends wanted to treat us to lunch. The food choices were not very interesting. I finally decided on a turkey club. It was ok but could have gotten at a much lower price somewhere else. My husband had a Reuben and he said it was awful. It had bacon on a Reuben!!! No one in our party finished their meal. We walked outside for a while and when we came back in we asked the front staff where the lounge was. He said up the stairs and the second door on the left. We walked up and down the hallway opening and closing doors looking everywhere for the bar. We later discovered it was the second door on the right. There was no bartender or waitress in sight. Finally a bartender came in, he stood about 10 feet away from us and said, can I get you anything? He didn't even have the courtesy to come to our table to get our order. And when he delivered the drinks, one glass was so full, it ran over our table. We were very disappointed in the entire restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I expected more from this resort I mean the prices to stay here are outrageous no better than a choice hotel ascend stay I've had better is the expression when I think about this place
The food average you can get the same burger at a friendly or sonic not impressed at all the service is a bit slow and the prices way too high for what it is

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tally
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“pathetic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

loud rude slow unfreindly overpriced stagnant misguided
hospitality manager / culinary unskilled portion controlled crap ...
fire everyone change the name and start fresh.
i could go into details but.lets say i was unsure if i was at a bar a club a hooters.a 5 star hotel or a marina or cantina all of wich they cant do well if at all .......pathetic

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shore at The Inn on the Lake also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Shore at The Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shore at The Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.