We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffalo Chicken Sandwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Gregor's Grill & Tap Room

Mc Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
759 S Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424
(585) 394-8080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 97 restaurants in Canandaigua
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Western NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Buffalo Chicken Sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Great pub grub. I suggest the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    9
    18
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great beer selection to go along with good bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Have been here more times than I can count but on my most recent trip it was for a few beers after dinner elsewhere. One thing no one can be disappointed with is their beer list. It is the best in the area by far! Probably close to a 100 beers from all across the globe and also the option on sizes of beers. If you're coming to eat, don't expect gourmet but expect pretty good bar food. I can't remember a time where I've been disappointed by the food and will continue to come back for more food and beer. The atmosphere inside is nothing special between the two dining rooms and the bar. The bar's decor feels a little a dirty but that's ok, as long as they have good beer it makes me happy. There's also a nice outdoor seating area in the summer time, which doesn't have much of a few but is a nice change of pace.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilseck, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food not so great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The reviews that say that the service leaves much to be desired are absolutely correct. When my husband and I ate there recently, we ended up seating ourselves because there was no one to do it. We also got menus ourselves.
However, the food more than makes up for the crappy service. Both of our sandwitches arrived hot and were incredibly well made. They were absolutely delicious. We were rather disappointed that we couldn't finish them but were happy to take them back to our hotel to snack on later.
So, bottom line.....the service sucks but the food is wonderful

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skip the Restaurant, Don't Miss the Beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I've visited the Grill and Tap Room twice in the past month. The first time, it was with friends for dinner. I scoured the menu but had a hard time finding an item that didn't sound extremely bad for my cholesterol levels and my conscience. I decided on the taco salad, which was served up in an edible bowl that was a giant, fried chip. The taco filling wasn't bad at all, but I had a difficult time swallowing the "chip" and ended up leaving the majority of it on my plate. It was extremely greasy - I could taste the smooth fat texture with every bite.
I returned to Mc Gregor's last night on a date and we stayed at the bar. I don't know exactly how many beers are on tap, but there are a LOT of them, and the choices are extremely appealing. There were several drink specials on pints and pitchers, and a wide variety of both domestics and imports. The bartender was a very friendly, funny, and generally likeable young man. The crowd was happy and casual, varying in age, and consisting mostly of small groups of friends, along with some couples and a few drifters that were usually ready to strike up a conversation. I definitely recommend coming here for a cheeky few with an ambiance that is both warm-spirited and laid-back enough to hear what your companions are saying.
For the ratings I left below, consider them pertaining to my experience at the bar.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only go if you have time to wait.......and wait....and wait....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stopped here prior to attending a CMAC event w/plenty of time. I work in a restaurant myself and did not think it was overly busy prior to an event. Our server took forever to come introduce themselves to us. Took our drink and food orders & never returned to check up on us to let us know that they were behind. We waited for an hour our food, but to no avail, did not ever come. So irritated, we got up & left. If we hadn't we would miss our show. There wasn't even a hostess or manager to complain to on the way out. Just glad we didn't waste our money on such poor service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Gregor's Grill & Tap Room also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mc Gregor's Grill & Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Gregor's Grill & Tap Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.