We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow check-in, could be cleaner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4420 Eastern Blvd, Route 5 & 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slow check-in, could be cleaner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was surprised that, with no other guests at the reception desk, the clerk took over 5 minutes to even provide me a rate. Once we reserved a room, I was disappointed to find a used Q-tip on the floor of the bathroom. This is a new, nicely decorated hotel. I am sure that with a bit more attention to detail, this would be a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear TravelingFamily70,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that you liked our hotel. However, I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had experienced at check-in. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
23
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Canandaigua this past week. The Hotel was wonderful. All of the staff that I encountered during my stay were friendly and went out of there way to assist me with everything I needed. The front desk person that checked me in was attentive and very knowledgeable about activities to do and see in the area. The housekeepers were very friendly and did a great job in cleaning my room, actually it was SPOTLESS. I also had the pleasure of meeting Karen, the manager who came over to my table during breakfast to inquire about my stay and thanking me for staying at the property. I travel frequently for work and stay at many different brands of hotels and was surprised to see her stopping at tables during breakfast to talk to the guests. Not something you see very often. Keep up the great work. I look forward to my next stay with you.

Room Tip: There all GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsa05
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Reserved a one night stay after seeing a 5 star rating on Trip Adviser. When we arrived at the front desk the clerk was on the phone. We waited several minutes while she finished the call, and then answered another call. We were not recognized as Priority Club members. This is a fairly new hotel, but the TV in our room didn't work, nor did one of the bedside lamps. Also, the exhaust fan in the bathroom was extremely loud. The breakfast buffet was the worst we have had in a Holiday Inn Express. The attendant was not in the area, and we had to ask the front desk for food to be replenished. We waited 20 minutes. The orange juice was never refilled.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your personal feedback regarding our hotel. It is certainly disappointing to hear that your stay with us was not all that it should have been.

Please be assured that Guest Service is one of our top priorities and we appreciate the loyalty of our Priority Club Members. As a brand new hotel we have just recently corrected the clichés with our new TVs and will immediately address your other concerns. I am sorry that our hot breakfast buffet items did not meet your needs and I will share your comments accordingly as IHG standards often change.

On behalf of myself and entire staff please accept our sincere apologies. I will use your feedback and comments during our next employee training meeting. Without feedback such as yours we cannot improve upon the service we provide to our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel. Backs onto a little lake with fishing, close to great shopping.
However, housekeepers are reluctant to clean your room! They are happy to drop off some towels, and have you sign a piece of paper to indicate you didn't want your room cleaned. I mentioned my dissatisfaction to the General Manager who said she would compensate me for the inconvenience, but upon check-out, nothing was done.
So great if you are only there for one night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The main reason I give this hotel a average to less rating is the beds stink. I don't know who's in charge of making decisions for the bed type at holiday inn, but as with any other HI express I have stayed at, the beds are the worst in the hotel industry. Might as well sleep on plywood.

As for the hotel itself, immaculate. Unfortunately until they do something with the beds, I won't stay at a HI exp again unless there simply is no other choice.

should be noted, we rented 3 rooms, everyone said the beds where bad

Room Tip: any room you could bring your own blow up mattress, the bed quality is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your current stay with us. We truly value our guests comments and appreciate the opportunity to improve on guest satisfaction. It was disappointing to hear that you found your bed less than satisfactory and we have addressed your concern. We have recently purchased new feather topper bedding for all of our guest rooms to ensure a comfortable sleeping experience for all of our hotel guests.Thank you agiain for your feedback. If there is anything else we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed one night and everything was lovely. The only thing missing was a cork-screw - even the front desk didn't have one available - in wine country!!! Anyways, we brought this to their attention and it sounds like they will have a few available. But unfortunately we weren't able to enjoy our bottle of wine we bought in the area that evening. Other than that, everything was wonderful. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was really surprised at the luxurious feeling of this hotel. I travel a lot for work; so I've stayed in a variety of places. The price was equivalent to a Comfort Inn in the area; but the quality was equivalent to that of some resorts that I've stayed at. I don't usually sleep well when away from home; but I slept great during my stay here. I will definitely be making this my "go to" place anytime I'm in town on business. The front desk staff were genuinely friendly and very accommodating to my needs as a business person. Breakfast was pretty standard (eggs, sausage, fruit, coffee, juice)....the warm fresh cinnamon buns were a nice added touch!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes

Address: 4420 Eastern Blvd, Route 5 & 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.