We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel - Extremely FIRM beds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4420 Eastern Blvd, Route 5 & 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel - Extremely FIRM beds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel was very nice, new and clean. Like a few months old. The lobby was sleek and ultra modern. There is a tributary of lake canandaigua that runs right by the hotel and is visible from some rooms (including ours in 102), The issue we had was that the beds were extremely stiff. We had a limo drop us off from a wine tour and even with the added effect of the wine to help relaxing, both my girlfriend and I found the beds very uncomfortable (we're in our late twenties). Not sure if it was just our bed or if the whole hotel is like this. We both prefer a softer bed, and other than the mattress, I'd rate the place a 5/5

Room Tip: I'd avoid, unless you like a very firm bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear GOBIlls213,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is disappointing you found our bed comfort less than satisfactory. However, We are truly delighted you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

If there is anything we could do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
23
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 days from Dec 28 to Jan 1. The hotel is brand new and the address can't picked up from our GPS. We have to ask people on the town in order to find the way to the hotel. The elevator doesn't work and our room is on the third floor, so we have to carry our luggage and walked up the stair. One of the staff is nice enough to help us to carry the luggage. The next day our kids want to use the swimming pool but it was closed for maintenance. It is a brand new hotel so it will take sometime to operate smoothly. Other than those issues, everything is great - room is spacious and clean. The breakfast area is bright and good choices of food. Juice and coffee serve 24 hours a day. The staffs are also friendly and responsive. We will definitely come back for another ski trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are regular skiers at Bristol Mountain and we will be making this Holiday Inn our regular stop. Canandaigua is a pretty town, but it never had a whole lot of choice of hotels. This is a nice addition to Canandaigua and is conveniently located to skiing, shopping and restaurants. The hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: The property has a nice indoor pool, but no hot tub. Has a generous breakfast selection which was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Opened up on December 2nd so its brand new. Very clean and has a fitness center with 2 treadmills and elliptical. Very nice people here also. Will be returning for sure.
It is a bit "tucked back in" but there are plenty of places to eat within just a few minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes

Address: 4420 Eastern Blvd, Route 5 & 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Canandaigua - Finger Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.