We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Harbour Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Harbour Resort to your Saves list
Bristol Harbour Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5410 Seneca Point Road, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

My husband and I visited this resort as a getaway for two. The view from the resort in the Fall is absolutely breathtaking and the deer wandering on the front lawn made for a beautiful experience at dusk.

Our room with its gas fireplace and two queen sized beds was very nicely decorated in a warm and rustic style. I was surprised to find that the balcony outside our room was a long shared balcony as opposed to offering any privacy, but it was quiet during our stay with relatively few people sitting outdoors. Our only complaint about our room was that it was on the second floor, directly above the water pump for the entire hotel. It was really noisy.

The dinners were delicious and we were very pleased with our selections. Much like another reviewer, we were very disappointed on our first morning to find a continental breakfast being served (similar actually to the Comfort Inn freebie breakfasts) and we chose to save our breakfast coupon for our final day instead and enjoyed a hot a la carte breakfast.

All in all, we really enjoyed ourselves and would return.

  • Liked — The view and the food
  • Disliked — The noisy water pump directly beneath our bedroom.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    50
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
45
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rochester
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

My wife and I chose Bristol Harbour to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival, we checked out the room which was very pleasant and the view from the balcony was unparalleled. When it came time for dinner, we walked to the hotel restaurant and were seated inside. The interior was rustic and very nice. The waitress was a bit slow getting to us but we ordered and enjoyed a cocktail. Not too soon afterwards, the waitress brought us our appetizers. My wife had a Caesar salad which was fine. I had mushroom crostini which was served on a bed of wilted iceberg lettuce drenched in semi-congealed Italian dressing. The crostini was palatable but the whole dish was rather disgusting given the nature of the lettuce leaves. Halfway into our appetizer, the waitress brought our entrées. My wife had the trout which was okay, nothing special. I ordered an appetizer serving of mixed grill consisting of shrimp and andouille sausage. Of the three shrimp on the plate, one was completely charred (not blackened, just burned). One side of the andouille sausage was also completely charred. Overall, that dish was most unappetizing and should never have been served to a customer. I also ordered a wage of iceberg lettuce with blue cheese, to accompany the mixed grill. What I was served was a pile of iceberg lettuce leaves that had been picked over and drenched in a "blue cheese" dressing. The lettuce was wilted and extremely inedible. Luckily, the waitress chose not to return to our table to ask us how our dinners were and we only saw her after the manager removed the plates from our table.
A tad hungry after the prior evening's fiasco, we looked forward to the morning's breakfast which was part of the hotel package. Upon entering the restaurant, we were advised by the waitstaff that they were serving a continental breakfast and that the breakfast could be purchased with our coupons that came with the package. This breakfast consisted of assorted defrosted bagels, English muffins, breads and BJ's muffins, some fruit and juices. Resigned to breakfast in this fashion, imagine our surprise when we overheard one of the waitresses advise two tables next to us that a full breakfast menu was available. When we inquired, we were advised that it was only available to folks who had the hotel package coupons and that we should have asked for eggs (apparently was our fault for not asking).
The kitchen should never have served the food in the condition in which it was served and the breakfast manager should never have placed the blame on us for not asking for a full breakfast menu. Were I management staff, I would be embarrassed to say the least. At a minimum, the executive chef should be ashamed of his or her product. Offered as an excuse, the night manager explained that the kitchen was low on iceberg lettuce! I'm sure the executive chef would acknowledge that if one lacks sufficient staples to execute a satisfactory serving, he or she does not serve that product (no excuse for the burnt food was offered).
Unfortunately, despite the hotel room being so pleasant and the views spectacular, our opinion of this resort is low. We had heard much good about this resort but cannot recommend it.

  • Disliked — see comments
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

While visiting family last year in Canandaigua, I happened to drive by the Bristol Harbour Resort, and took note. This year I decided to give the hotel a try! The reservation process was quite delightful. Paula, at the front desk, offered the regular rate of $230 per night for 2 nights, OR a package rate that included a $14 voucher for breakfast, a $55 voucher toward dinner, and a bottle of local wine in the room. The rate was LESS at $200 per night! The room was vey nice, with an "Adirondack feel" including a gas fireplace, 2 queen sized beds and a balcony with a serene view of Canandaigua Lake. The resort boasts a pool, tennis and a golf course, none of which I used during my stay.

A negative was the very dirty iron in the room, that literally ruined a pair of light wool slacks. Another was the restuarant. Although the service and view was excellent, the food was more about quantity and less about quality. Whomever runs the restaurant should look into this fact. The food was average, and just way too much of it, for fine dining! Fair prices though.

  • Liked — The condition of the room and the gorgeous view.
  • Disliked — The quantity over quality at the restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed in the condos on Cliffside Road - 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 baths. Good size. Great view of the lake. Needs some updating, the two deck sliders did not have locks, but you would have to be batman to get in. Very adequate kitchen. Three TV's with cable and High Speed Internet. Golf course looks nice, did not play. The range has unlimited balls for $6.00. The units are fairly quiet, no complaints with families on either side.

Negatives - had use of the hotel pool, but spa was not working. The pool is about 1 mile away, not an easy walk. The lake has a dock and small muddy beach. The property is about 7 - 8 miles from nearest eating and shopping. Absolutely would need a car to go anywhere. Nearest winery is about 7 miles away.

On wine tours and tasting - all lakes but cayuga are really doable in a day. Recommendation is to taste and then go to Rochester, Marketview wines or Pittsford wines for buying. Some wines are up to $4 - $5.00 off on $20.00 wines, with additional discount on case lots. There are more significant discounts on ice wines.

Don't forget the two breweries in the area - craft brewing and wagner.

  • Liked — Size and features
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

The first thing we noticed when arriving at Bristol Harbour, was the amazing views of Canandaigua Lake and the majestic hills that surround it. The room was extremely warm and cozy with its fireplace, comfortable beds, heated bathroom tile floors, and charming wilderness lodge decor, of which reflected throughout the entire hotel and restaurant.

A few minutes after we arrived, on the grassy hill just outside our window, we were graced by a small group of white tail deer that stopped by to graze in the snow.

The restaurant was extremely clean, the food was delicious, and served in very large portions. The menu was very well thought out and the chef prepared the items with care.

The staff was extremely friendly, happy, and helpful with everything.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to all younger and older couples looking for a relaxing or romantic getaway, and in the summer, when the pool is open, the whole family.

No amenity goes overlooked in this hotel. They definitely take the extra step to make sure you are comfortable and enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Close to ski resort
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

I was here for a two day business meeting. It has fabulous views overlooking beautiful Canandaigua Lake from both the main building and every guest room - each has guest room with a door to a connected balcony. The main building is very "lodgey" - like a big cabin. Lots of stuffed wildlife.

The room was nice with Adirondack-style furnishings, the bed was very comfortable, and the room had a gas fireplace. The room appeared to be clean, except the bathroom was so dark I didn't notice until I had been in the bathroom the second time that the toilet, while it had one of those goofy "sanitized for your protection" wraps on it, had, how can I put this delicately...obvious and numerous remants of a past lodger that were dried onto the bowl rim. I guess sanitized must just mean "we sprayed this with disinfectant" but they sure didn't clean the bowl with a brush! Ugh!!!!

The main building, where we had our meals and meetings, was also not up to basic cleanliness...I never saw one staff member cleaning public areas. The floors in the room in which we ate were not cleaned between meals. Even the first time we went in there, I noticed lots of big, thick "dust bunnies" on the wood floor. By the end of the second day, there was an unpleasant amount accumulation of food, dirt tracked in, etc. added to what was already there. The ladies room for the restaurant and public area was not cleaned at all during the two days I was there - I was seeing the same overflowing trash can, stuff on the floor, and dirty sinks from the time I arrived until the time I left. The meeting room on the lower level smelled musty, and the carpet had all the detrious of previous meetings on it.

I can only hope the kitchen was cleaner.

I will say that the staff with whom I had contact were pleasant and helpful. However, they really need to work on keeping the facility much cleaner. I would hesitate to go back, whether to stay overnight or even for a meal.

  • Liked — Fantastic views
  • Disliked — Dirty, dirty, dirty
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NY
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

We spent one night at the Bristol Harbor Resort and enjoyed it very much. We arrived after a rainy afternoon of wine tasting to find these lovely rooms, warm and welcoming with fireplaces and heated floors in the bathroom. Really nice.

We ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Both meals were delicious. Even with the fog rolling in that evening, the view was beautiful. Overall, a very nice place for a get away. Our only complaint was that even though the ambience was lovely in the rooms, the lights were dim--too dim a little reading in the evening. Really a minor complaint!

  • Liked — We liked the rustic feel and the location in the Finger Lakes
  • Disliked — Might have had a larger counter top in bathroom
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Harbour Resort

Address: 5410 Seneca Point Road, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Harbour Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Harbour Hotel Canandaigua
Bristol Harbour Canandaigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.