We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nolan's can be really great or just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake

Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake
726 South Main St, Canandaigua, NY 14424-2310
+1 585-905-0201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in Canandaigua
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on the northern shores of Canandaigua Lake, we proudly offer a menu that features Certified Angus Beef, Seafood, and Pasta. Drink selections include Finger Lakes wines, locally brewed beer and locally roasted coffee. At Nolan’s, you will enjoy dining on fine food in a relaxed atmosphere at an affordable price. Voted 2011 “Best New Restaurant” in Ontario County.
Finger Lakes, NY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nolan's can be really great or just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

i enjoy going to Nolan's on occasion, though I do find their menu a bit limiting. They could use a few more specials, some healthier more modern options and the wine list needs to include more FL selections, not just the Constellation Brands products. It is in a beautiful location, right across the street from the lake and the swimming beach and the inside is tastefully decorated with helpful staff. Another reviewer had described the whole "wrecking ball" concept. Unfortunately, this entire area had been slated for a large-scale development project which has been delayed by the recession. Nolan's will probably stay though, throughout the process, but they are next to some boarded up properties (which were lovely and successful before) until the project gets underway. It shouldn't bother you too much from inside the place since you only see the lake. This is an extremely safe area. Get some new and fresh entrees and we'll be back anytime!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    86
    34
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Save Room for Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Four of us arrived without reservations for lunch on a cold, windy day and left warm and well served. The menu tended toward a nice variety of comfort food with a nice selection for the calorie conscious. We were great warmly and seated immediately. Service was attentive but not intrusive. It was a sunny clear day so the view out to the lake with really special. It is a head scratcher for me to see some of the negative reviews since we saw none of the reasons cited.

Reader alert: Ask up front if they have the s'more cupcake. Apparently there is a bakery chef and since you may be tempted to enjoy, count your caloriesahead to allow succumbing. We ordered two to share but there was enough of the s'more for four eventhough we eventually devolved into a fork fight to finish it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Steak and Seafood in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our favorite in the area. Great atmosphere, music and food make this a winning combo. OK, I have to admit they go out of their way to say hello to frequent diners but, isn't that what keeps you coming back? Great wait staff, great food, reasonable prices and Naked Dove on tap! What else do you need? The view is nice as well. The cottages are gone and Nolan's is here to stay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No, no, no”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Six of us, with reservation seated quickly,down hill there after...
Others served before us, waitress was terrible, management other staff lingering around one table
acting very cordial to the couple indifferent to us as we waited and waited for mediocre dinner at best. Avoid this place unless your friends with the staff..,,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nolan's is our favorite restaurant, very friendly and accommodating staff, very clean and the food is amazing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake also viewed

Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 
Canandaigua, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nolan's on Canandaigua Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.