We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4926 West Lake Road, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Canandaigua B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A guest at our wedding bought us a night at Onada by the Lake for our wedding gift. We waited until our 1 year anniversary to use it and I wish we would have used it sooner.

First off it was very easy to find! Located on the main road around the lake, it was close to everything. Right down the street is a park entrance with access to the beach and picnic tables, grills and recreational activities. There is also a hiking path on their property that connects to a park up the hill.

The host was amazing. Linda and her husband were so kind and gracious, It was like I went home to my parents house for the weekend. Whatever we needed they provided. At night there were cookies left on our table which were delicious. We had a fully stocked fridge with soda and water.

The house was cozy, very well decorated, very inviting and welcoming! Our room was just as amazing, with a beautiful view of the lake, a huge sitting area with beautiful big windows, it was a great place to sit and drink our morning coffee. It's just stunningly beautiful!

The breakfast was amazing! My husband is a very picky eater and he raved about her cooking!

It was a perfect anniversary gift and a perfect weekend! I can't wait to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Our Lakeview room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

WOW! Where do we begin? How about with the highlights:

*Warm greeting upon arrival – not to mention incredibly gracious, helpful, and humorous hosts throughout our stay

*Fresh, literally right out of the oven, cookies upon arrival

*Gorgeous house, beautifully decorated – comfortable and cozy yet stylish and sparklingly clean

*’The Breakfast Experience’ – Linda is an outstanding chef and will make you feel like royalty as she serves you breakfast in the formal dining room. Our favorite was the almond crusted french toast – sigh…

*Beautiful trail walk through the woods accessible from the backyard (connects to the park next door – a must see if you enjoy awe-inspiring nature). And don't miss walking down to the lake, which is stunning any time of the year.

We cannot wait to go back to the Finger Lakes – what a beautiful place to spend a relaxing vacation. We will, without a doubt, stay at Onanda by the Lake when we come back to the area. However, Linda and Jon also have a rental property down the road that we checked out – we hope to gather up some friends and head up there soon! Thank you Linda and Jon – you really helped to make our week escape such a delight. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding. Along with our fellow guests, (Rob, Berni, Jen, Keith) who were all attending the same event, we were given the run of the house by Linda and Jon. Linda and Jon were excellent hosts and made us all feel really welcome taking a genuine interest in everything we did, why the British seemed to have invaded Canandaigua for the week, how US and UK weddings differed, giving us advice on the locality and even coming to take our group photo when we were dressed and ready for the event. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in the Premier Suite. It was amazing. Beautiful room and bathroom. Immaculately clean. Lovely terrace and gardens where the deer come into. Absolutely beautiful location. Linda could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The breakfast every morning was gorgeous! enough to fill you up until dinner and very very good quality. Cookies were left in our room in the afternoon which was lovely. We were able to make ourselves at home and use the fridge in the kitchen etc to keep things cold.
Can't praise this place enough its very special and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable!
Can highly recommend and we hope to return one day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a wonderful week staying here. The accommodation was great, views lovely and excellent breakfasts. The atmosphere relaxing, a lovely room with quality furnishings and a great house. John and Linda were perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble. A beautiful area to visit. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We had a very nice time at Onanda by the lake, it was a beautiful bed and breakfast. The room was beautiful and very welcoming, with very nice views of the lake, and the wildlife. Breakfast was delicious, and John and Linda were so nice, and made us feel right at home. I look forward to returning in the future to this wonderful place!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The accomodations were so pleasant. The location is ideal for a fall getaway. Jon and Linda were friendly and welcoming. The home is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake

Address: 4926 West Lake Road, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onanda by the Lake Bed and Breakfast is nestled in a hillside along the sparkling beauty of Canandaigua Lake in the beautiful Finger lakes Region of NY. Onanda by the Lake is a small Bed and Breakfast that offers three guest rooms. The Woodlands Room has a queen bed, air conditioning, and a newly done private bath. It has a view of a spacious garden and woods. We also offer another lovely room with a queen bed, air conditioning, a sitting room which also overlooks the lake, and a newly done private bath. A delightful two course breakfast can be served in your location of choice, be it the formal dining room or the sun porch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Onanda by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.