We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Verge of Greatness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canandaigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miami Resort Motel
Save
You added Miami Resort Motel to your Saves list
4126 Rt 5 and 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“On the Verge of Greatness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I know a thing or two about Miami motels. I used to visit Miami several times a year during the 70s, and then moved there. I lived there for 6 years. The energy of this place is in the spirit of the Art Deco revival on Ocean Drive, Miami Beach in the 70’s. (Does anyone remember the Miami Vice era? The Cardozo? The Carlyle?)

This establishment is extremely well organized. The owner is at your beck and call. All you have to do is touch the “call” button, on a delightfully improvised vintage intercom. The owner’s philosophy: “If the room is nice, guests will treat it nice.”

I like the Green Room, #8. (See pictures.) It is a jacuzzi suite. I got a peak at the Orange Room (#9) next door. I will request that room next time. The Jacuzzi worked well. It is no nonsense: simple controls, lots of hot water, and powerful jets that hit my muscles. This was nice after extensive walking in Canandaigua . . . one of the most beautiful areas of America.

No annoying sign asking for “tips for our underpaid housekeepers”.

Did Valerie have hotel experience earlier? She is an exceptionally good hotel manager. She will build this place to greatness, only unless a giant hotel somewhere snatches her up to be their general manager. (Shhhh!) Oh, also, I think there is a husband/partner lurking in the background, who deserves kudos.

I steal the headline “On the Verge of Greatness” from “Jay C.” who discussed this place at another blog. The motel is in transition, and that is exciting! Before we came here, a friend from Rochester said “You mean you’re going to *that* place . . . the one the top of the hill? ewwww!” I just sent him a video of our luxurious Jacuzzi suite. That was fun! Since he is a cheapskate like me, I also enjoyed telling him the price. This place apparently has a venerable past. (See the blown up vintage post cards in the lobby.) One couple, celebrating their 50th anniversary, recently came here to see the site of their honeymoon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    65
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
148
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

What a find? A motel with personality that is also clean and affordable. The rooms aren't large or luxurious, but they are very comfortable and clean and each one has its own unique personality. I've never slept in a more comfortable bed in a hotel. The owners couldn't have been easier to deal with from booking over the phone to checking in and out at off hours. We'll definitely be back. It's a great option for anyone visiting a student at Hobart and William Smith Colleges.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I booked a night at the Miami Motel based on reviews I read on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad I did! The owners were wonderful and super friendly, the room was cute and cozy, and the location was just enough off the beaten path to be very quiet. There were still plenty of stores nearby (including Wegman's, Starbucks, and the usual pharmacies and restaurants) and it was a very short drive to the lake and to historic downtown.

The place is being lovingly renovated, with the rooms having been first on the list. I had a jacuzzi room and it was heavenly to soak and read a book after a long day of exploring the area.

I would have loved to have stayed longer than one night, had my schedule allowed it. As it is, I will stay there next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed here on Labor Day weekend before my son's wedding. I went in three different rooms, (relatives staying also) and all were newly remodeled and very nice. I would definitely recommend this motel, and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We found the Miami Motel in a local travel guide and liked with the name. After reading the reviews, we knew we had to stay there. We weren't disappointed. The owners are restoring this motel and a doing a fine job. While many roadside motels are falling apart or closing, the Miami Motel is making a come-back.!

The rooms are clean - the linens were lovely! There are a table and chairs outside the rooms that encourage to sit outside and enjoy the evening. We did just that and ended up chatting with others staying there. The owners are extremely friendly. Valerie also chatted with us for quite some time even though you knew she had things to do. You'll feel right at home at the Miami Motel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Came to the area for a wedding that was up the road.... Sweet owner even offered to come get us if we were too drunk to drive home after the wedding ! Cozy breakfast treats were available in the office in the morning. Definitely would stay here over the other hotels in the area at the same rates or more!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

This was a great way to start our vacation. We stayed here as a halfway point to Montreal from Ohio. The room looked freshly decorated and was very clean and quiet.. You can sit at the table and chairs outside each room.
The owners are friendly and provided breakfast with great coffee. In addition to fruit and biscotti, there were mini muffins, bagels and cream cheese.
The tropical theme is fun, including the retro neon Miami motel sign.
After check-in we explored the town, and none of the other accomodations looked as nice as Miami Motel.
I would like to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Resort Motel

Address: 4126 Rt 5 and 20, Canandaigua, NY 14424
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Canandaigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canandaigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing family-affordable vacation lodging in a quiet setting just outside the city limits of Canandaigua yet within minutes of excellent dining and lakefront activities in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miami Hotel Canandaigua
Miami Motel Canandaigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.