We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Shaker Mill Farm

Inn at the Shaker Mill Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at the Shaker Mill Farm
Save
You added Inn at the Shaker Mill Farm to your Saves list
40 Cherry Lane, Canaan, NY 12029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Canaan B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place is not for everybody but it fit our needs perfectly. The grounds are beautiful with views of the mountains and a running stream in the backyard. It's atmosphere makes you feel totally surrounded by nature. The downstairs living rooms are the house's most outstanding feature. A huge circular fireplace in the middle of the room gives the house a camp like atmosphere. Our room was of moderate size but contained a king and twin bed, both very comfortable. If immaculate bathrooms are what you want in a b&b, look elsewhere. The bathroom was very small, with an equally small shower stall. My head grazed the top and I am 6'1”. Water pressure was adequate and there was hot water.
While the rest of the house was clean, I have to agree with the other the reviewers dislike of the upstairs carpet. Its cheap look doesn’t do a house with so much character justice. That being said, our ability to use the rest of the house made us feel welcome and at home. We were able to use the downstairs professional stocked kitchen to make home cooked meals and store locally purchased food. The ability to do laundry was also a nice touch. The first two nights we stayed at the house the owners were out of town. A pleasant women, Veronica took care of our minimal needs. We got on her good side and because we were courteous, cleaned up after ourselves, and low maintenance, we might have had more access to the house then is generally given. Breakfast was simple: coffee, orange juice, small assortment of breads, cereals, and pastries. We paid $100 a night which is a very good deal for the area. It was also great having Winston around: a middle aged tabby cat that was very friendly yet independent, great cat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Shaker Mill Farm Inn is one of my favorite places to stay in all upstate. The setting is fabulous - you arrive down a small lane to the two and a half century old stone old mill house, far back from Route 22, with views across a meadow to a beautiful hill. The back of the property is adjacent to a stunning running stream. Need I say more?

You are ten minutes from the charming town of Chatham, 45 from the design village of Hudson, and 20-30 minutes from the cultural sites of the Berkshires.

The house is wonderfully renovated that will suit the taste of the most design-conscious New Yorker...with thick old stone walls, wide board floors and exposed brick everywhere...lit at night with upside-down weaved basket fixtures...the common space features a wall of great used books with just the right aesthetics and content...from The Catcher in the Rye to Neurobiology of Sleep...to The Lonely Planet Vietnam...as if you need to dream of being anywhere else.

There are some quirks that some more particular folks should be aware of. Being an old building that is more like an awesome cave (another reviewer ineptly described it as a prison) with its 2-feet thick stone walls, the air circulation can be troublesome. Our room in summer was a bit musty...but nothing opening the window cannot fix. We also always request a room with hardwood floors...some of the rooms have industrial carpet which is honestly aging a bit. The bathrooms are small and the showers are those plastic stalls...perfectly clean and serviceable, if not luxurious.

Ingram and Trisha are the most gracious hosts that are like the best kind of family. Inviting, accommodating, kind, but not at all intrusive. You have all the privacy you want and no damn fixed breakfast time sitting around with other guests...that misery that ruins most B&B experiences for me.

In fact, this place comes closest to the sublime experience of being at a Swiss country inn I have experienced in the US, with the warm wood decor, historic charm, and a simple breakfast. I guess the aesthetic is also Shaker - no TVs, no phones...a real respite from the anxiety of modern life. Hot tea and coffee, some fresh fruit, and bread and jam - just what you need and nothing you don't.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The inn is located by a beautiful stream and is managed by a delightful husband and wife innkeeping team. Our room was clean and comfortable and had a large bed which afforded a restful night's sleep. A plus was the fact that this is a historic building with thick stone walls and refreshingly simple decor. Many B&Bs are too frilly and overly decorated. This was not and we appreciated that aspect of our experience there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I were visiting grand kids at camp and this B&B was one that did not require 2 night minimum....The website made the place look and sound worth taking a chance...we were aghast at their "no frills" accomodations.....the room was slightly better than I imagine a jail cell to be....the smell was not pleasant....the furniture in the den and common areas looked like it was picked up from various rummage sales.....However the Inn Keepers were pleasant themselves.....In our rush to leave, we didn't wait for breakfast so I can't comment on the food.....we couldn't reccommend but we are not into "no frills" nor are we B&B lovers....I have read some other reviews which prove that some people like chocolate and others prefer vanilla

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Ingram and Tricia are not only excellent innkeepers, they are up on almost every issue on the American political landscape.

It is a perfect place for a writing seminar. It has a magical fireplace that inspires conversation and general good feeling. And to top it off, the huge sunroom in the inn has perfect view of a waterfall that flows gently right outside one of its windows.We had no idea what kind of inn we were getting ourselves into. But even though we were only there for a single night, it felt like a nurturing vacation in Europe.

Allan and Joanna
New York City

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed at the Inn after my parents recommended it (they had stayed here ten years ago) and it didn’t disappoint us a decade later. It’s located conveniently close to the Taconic State Parkway (for a hassle free ride into New York city), right next to the fascinating Shaker villages of Hancock and Mt Lebanon (for those who are culturally/historically inclined) as well as the ski slopes of Jiminy Peak and a hiking trail starts just up the road (for a those seeking more physical pursuits). The building and grounds are a delight and the brook behind the mill is so perfect it looks like a film set. Birds flock to the feeders and can be watched from the comfort of the living room and we saw muskrats cruising the nearby pond. Although the road can be heard from the property, the inn is located at the end of a quiet side road and it was certainly not obtrusive and didn’t mar our sleep/stay. It’s the perfect place to unwind and while we were there we did meet someone who was thinking of holding a yoga retreat here - the place does lend itself. The common rooms of the inn are also unique and centre around a wonderful circular fireplace. Although simply furnished, the library and collection of baskets adds to them a homely touch. Our room was simply furnished too (as befits a shaker abode - there are no TVs here) and the bathroom was a tight fit, but we liked it and slept very well. Breakfast was minimal, but forgoing a hot meal was a small price to pay for staying here. Moreover Ingram is as fascinating and quirky as his mill. We liked the fact that he didn’t take credit cards (or ask for a deposit - how many innkeepers show such trust?) and didn’t seem to be “in it for the money”. He even suggested we call my parents back in France to surprise them. We unfortunately only spent one night as we were on a whirlwind tour of New England, but we would certainly go back if we were ever in the area again and we would recommend the inn to anyone who appreciates simplicity, history, and just a darn good night’s sleep at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My wife and I found this inn in 2002 on our first trip to the Berkshires. I was drawn to its historical pedigree (I admit I am a history professor), and the building did not disappoint. The place is rustic, and it suits both it and the innkeeper, Ingram, who is a fascinating and friendly fellow. The landscape itself is worth the price, and the way in which the owners have arranged the furniture is, to my tastes, spot on for the place. (I note that one commentator complained about a "smell," I hate to break it to him, but the building is nearly 200 years old. To me, the smell was that of a rich history, and, being a pet owner familiar with such odors, had nothing to do with animal waste.) The brook, the pond, the trees...absolutely wonderful.

This year, we decided to go again, this time with our two young children (6 and 2). Not only did we find the place as good as always, but we found Ingram to be an absolutely delightful host to us and our children. We do have modest needs in terms of breakfast, but the coffee was always hot, the fruit fresh, and the kitchen help extremely accommodating, even when we accidentally showed up early to eat. My son enjoyed it so much that he was in a funk for the rest of the day when we left. This after an entire stay without watching a single minute of television -- to me, this is high praise indeed. I should also note that the inn is conveniently located by both the Hancock and the Mt. Lebanon Shaker villages...literally in the epicenter of the history of this fascinating group.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Shaker Mill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Shaker Mill Farm

Address: 40 Cherry Lane, Canaan, NY 12029
Location: United States > New York > Canaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Canaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Inn At The Shaker Mill Farm Hotel Canaan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Shaker Mill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.