We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Restaurant Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boom Boom MEX MEX

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Boom Boom MEX MEX
3263 Howlett Hill Rd, Camillus, NY 13031-9734
315-673-1151
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Camillus
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Boom Boom Mex Mex is a seasonal Mexican Restaurant out in the country in Camillus, but it is well worth the trip. They are open mid-April to the first Sunday in November and serve excellent Mexican food in a "cafeteria" type line. You go to the counter and choose from a half-dozen types of food -- tacos, burritos, taco salads, etc. Then you choose the ingredients which are prepared fresh each day. By the time you have gone through the line, you have a huge plate of food. There is nothing fancy here, just excellent simple Mexican fare. If you can't make it by November 4th, be sure to make a note to find it next spring.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This fast, casual, place is a real gem. They do Mexican simply and expertly. I've been a handful of times and the line (there's always a line) just adds to the anticipation. I prefer the Mexican platter as it probably gives you the most bang for your buck. Their BYOB policy also allows for a cheap, fun night out for friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you love great fresh mexican food them Boom Boom MEX MEX is your place. I live less than 5 miles and when I head over to Camillus I always stop on the way hme to grab some. Fresh, authentic but you might have to wait a bit. Well worth the wait.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lierpool, new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food ,reasonable prices,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of our favorite places , no frills , if you go for dinner always arrive early before or at 5 pm . If you arrive after that you will be waiting in a line to the door. The menu is on the wall to the right only about five items ,I love it . Simple to the point . You step up give your order and go down the line telling the preparer what you want on your plate . I always order the Mexican platter my wife the taco salad and we share nachos covered with cheese and jalapeños. Total price less then 20 dollars, I always bring silverware from home because the plastic forks are flimsy . In addition they allow you to byob you can bring your own drinks ,wine ,beer or favorite drink, they do have drinks non alcoholic or ask for a cup the waters free .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“we love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We love this food so much that we had them cater our son's graduation party! Their salsa is one not to be missed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boom Boom MEX MEX also viewed

Camillus, Finger Lakes
Camillus, Finger Lakes
 
Camillus, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Boom Boom MEX MEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boom Boom MEX MEX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.