We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cons outweigh the pros.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   356 Villa Roma Road, Callicoon, NY 12723   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Holden, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The cons outweigh the pros.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well, it all started at check-in. We were 1st in line but waited a very long time to check in as the 2 attendants were leaving their stations, answering phone calls and not attending to people checking in at check in time...not a good 1st impression. From there, we asked for an overview as this was our 1st visit there. We were left bewildered about the meal plan....$500 charge for a 3 day 2 meals/day meal plan for 2 adults and one child. We were told that we could only eat in the main dining room although there were many other dining options in the resort, and after experiencing a rather poor meal in the dining room on the 1st night, we chose to pay for individual meals (at $28/adult and $14/child in the main dining room!)' as it turned out to be less expensive and we had the option of dining elsewhere in the resort including the Roman Garden Cafe, which we much preferred! There was a charge for many of the activities at the resort, including a 50 minute horseback trail ride at $40, paintball at $35, bumper boats at $8, $5 for 3 shots at the hole in one contest, $5 for use of the Wii/Xbox game room, $8 for a go kart ride. It cost $2 per card or 6 cards for $10 at Bingo but the prizes were awesome...from $100 to a grand jackpot of $500 on one of the days we played! While we paid $495.59/night including taxes for a 2 bedroom suite, I kind of expected not to be nickel and dimed during our stay! The room had older furniture. The bathroom was large with a separate bathtub and shower but the shower was tiny. I am a slim person but was literally banging my arms against the sides of the shower! The beds were decent but we had to literally shut the vent in our daughter's room as cold air was blowing at her constantly while she slept. The horseback ride was "amazing" according to our daughter and we did pay for 2 consecutive days as it was so much fun! There were no pool towels available when we arrived at the pool and we learned pretty fast that you have to get there pretty early in the morning to "reserve" a chair anywhere in the vicinity of pool as everyone throws a towel on a chair and then they come back whenever they choose during the day...not a very fair way to do things. We were 10 minutes late to the "Anything Trivia" game room to find a dark, empty room. We asked the concierge, who investigated and said the person running the game did not know to turn on the light...huh? In the evenings, they have adult shows (Chippendales dancers and a XXX comedian at a family resort?) and teen activities but i would have preferred more family friendly activities/shows at night. The most frustrating part of our stay was getting inaccurate info from staff and whoever we asked never knew the answer. I very quickly got the feeling that the staff were not oriented to the facility very well. It got to be our families' running joke throughout our stay...trying to find anyone who knew an answer to anything without having to ask someone else! If you want a family resort in New York, I would highly recommend Rocking Horse Ranch in Highland, NY, where all meals and activities are included in the price of the room. You can leave your wallet in the car and never worry about extra charges. There is also nothing to do around the Callicoon area to do so you are kind of stuck with what Villa Roma provides for fun. We won't be returning to Villa Roma.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us.

Our front desk staff of course has one of the most demanding jobs here at our resort. They are responsible for ensuring that our guests are checked in accurately and that all questions are answered thoroughly. From time to time during a check in, they will also answer phone calls to assist guests that may have questions regarding their stay or something else hotel related. We apologize that you had to wait on line longer then expected.

The meal plan is an affordable option for families that are spending a few days with us. The meal plan meals are in fact served in our Main Dining Room and give you an option of many entrees. The meal plan also consists of five course meals, so you won’t leave hungry! If you decide not to eat on the meal plan, we offer a variety of different food venues that may appeal to you. We offer everything from our Main Dining Room to our more casual Roman Garden Café, to a Deli and also room service to just name a few.

Our resort has instituted the Unlimited Fun Package for all hotel guests. This package is included in the children rates of your stay and gives them unlimited use of Go Karts, Rock Climbing Wall, Paintball, Bowling, Inflatable Fun Land, Bumper Boats, and so much more! We have created this package so parents don’t have to shell out money each and every day for their children. We also offer Paintball Team Games & Horseback Riding which are operated by an independent third party, however, charges for these activities are not included in the Unlimited Fun Package Rate.

We often try new entertainment in our resort to appeal to different guests. We always like to try something new. Our XXX Comedy Show is one of our most popular show nights and they sell out consistently. This is something we remain committed to providing as it is so popular.

The area of Callicoon is beautiful. There are restaurants, shops, and a tremendous amount of sightseeing in the area. We create full day schedules for our guests to go and explore the local area. We are located also very close to the site of the Woodstock Concert, where Bethel Woods Performing Arts Center currently sits. The guests that come to Villa Roma Resort come for our activities, amenities, and the relaxation we provide not necessarily the area we are located. Many of our guests are pleasantly surprised on how much there is to do in the local area, and love it as well!

We are sorry that we are not the vacation destination for you. We acknowledge that Villa Roma may not be for everyone. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your summer and appreciate your time in writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    174
    95
    66
    59
See reviews for
324
110
4
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent 5 days at Villa Roma and thoroughly enjoyed it for a family reunion. The staff could not be more helpful. Both Robert and Gus in the dining room were wonderful. Lots of things for the kids to do.

The whole family had a great time - looking forward to another reunion there next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals in the Main Dining Room. We will be sure to pass along to Robert & Gus your kind comments!

We are a resort run by a family, run for families. We have designed Villa Roma to keep our guests entertained with many activities & amenities. We are constantly looking to improve and expand and will continue to do so as time goes on.

Thank you again for writing a great review about us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

There are alot of things to do at the resort. It is located way out in the country, which is good for getting away from traffic, etc. The hotel was busy, but the timeshare condo was nice and quiet. We had several chain smokers in the unit below ours who practically smoked full time on the patio, keeping us off our deck and keeping our deck door closed. The resort WiFi service is terrible. The resort had about 5 routers to cover many hundreds of smart phones and laptops, and almost never worked. Cell phone coverage did not exist for some cell phone companies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review with us, David.

We apologize for the spotty wireless service you experienced at our resort. We are currently under a massive upgrade of our wireless internet service. Due to the timing and the work involved, we have an estimated completion date of sometime in the fall.

We are located in a beautiful area of western Sullivan County, New York. No matter the time of year, it is a good time to come to Villa Roma. We are located completely away from the hustle and bustle of city life, which many of our guests love.

We appreciate you sharing your review with us and look forward to seeing you again soon! Take care and enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent one week at this resort. Upon arriving we were given a severely dated 2 bedroom timeshare with no balcony. Dirty dishes were found in the sink and when we called the front desk they advised us to put the dishes in the dishwasher !!! The ac in the room was loud and looked like a 70's humidifier. The sofa was gross. The doors slammed and rattled and the walls were so paper thin that we could hear everything around us(my baby boy woke up numerous times due to noise in the hallways and doors slamming. The gym was dated but massive and I love the fact that it had punching bags because after dealing with the rude crowd and crusty rooms I needed to vent!
The pools were massive and I enjoyed swimming there. There is however a major problem with the pool management. We would arrive at the pool at 9 am and we could not find a single beach chair or table available as they already had towels on them. The management allows the guests to show up bright an early and place towels to reserve a spot... Here is the problem... I would be in the pool alone with my older son from 9 am and people would come to claim their towel reserved chairs and tables at noon.. most of them would reserve ten chairs for five people(one in the sun and one in the shade each and spend an hour or two yet their reserved chair would be unused all day,! we complained to the lifeguards and they said there was nothing they could do...have travelled everywhere and the rule of thumb is an unattended chair for a couple of hours is no longer yours! Not here..we even had a woman accuse us of stealing her personal towel and magazine!!!! Two employees said a couple of weeks ago, a fist fight broke out over the pool chair issues. Lack of class....
The entertainment was great. The Bronx wanderers were amazing. Best cover band I have ever seen.

My son loved the go carts, pools and arcade. He had a lot of fun so in the end that is what matters but I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main building. Wake up at 6am to get a beach chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your review with us.

We apologize that the timeshare villa you were placed in seemed a little dated. Our timeshare villas are renovated on a cycle depending on building number. Every year we do a couple of buildings and update others with appliances, paint, carpeting, etc depending on need.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our outdoor pools. Although we do have guests that come to the pool area early in the morning, our pool attendants are always ready to help our guests by finding them a spot anytime they need help. All you have to do is ask!

The Bronx Wanderers are great performers and are a hit at our resort. We love having them here, and they love entertaining our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed watching them!

Based on your review, your kids had a great time here. We would love for you to return and if you do, please email acarlucci@villaroma.com and we will make sure your stay is as pleasant and wonderful as possible. Thanks for sharing your experience with us, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I been coming up to Villa Roma for over 20 years. We stayed at the hotel and now have 2 timeshares and my grand daughter has 1 also.

It is well kept, the food is excellent and well priced

The service is top rate, and alot to do and have great entertainment every night

They are constanly updateing, and find it to be a great place for all ages

Just outstanding

Highly recommended

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Frank, we appreciate your review on our resort!

We love hearing that our repeat guests become owners in our timeshare division. We have many families that have been coming up to our resort since we have been around, and now, have kids and grand kids that are following their traditions even becoming timeshare owners at our resort!

We pride ourselves in service, activities, amenities, and comfort. We want each and every guest to walk through the door, worry and care free, always have something to do, while keeping the comfort of them being at home. This is what we stand for, and improve on this each and every day.

We appreciate you sharing your vacation experience with us, Frank, and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend as it was the only place available for our kids' camp visiting weekend. First, if you are used to staying at places like a Ritz Carlton or even Westin or Hyatt, you should lower you expectations and bring your own food, water, hand sanitizer and toiletries. The place seems like a perfectly fine and good bargain for many families with young kids. But the facilities are old, tired, dirty, and cheaply constructed. There were pretzel bits on the couch when we checked into our room. A gaping hole was in a wall exposing wires where a plate should have been. On another outlet the face plate was hanging off the wall. There was mildew in the stall shower and the hot water handle had completely stripped from its turning mechanism such that you had to push hard and turn just to get the hot water on and off.

We did not buy a meal plan and, based on the reviews on this site and from a neighbor whose opinion we trust ("worst food" she and her 9 year old daughter ever had), we brought a cooler of our own food. Luckily there was a fridge in the room.

If you like to work out and eat early, forget it. Gym does not open on weekends until 8am and the Starbucks coffee stand doesn't open until 7:30 and even then we had to wait for the girl to finish brewing the coffee. The tap water has a very unpleasant odor and taste so I highly recommend bringing or buying your own. There is no information in the room other than the mimeographed list of resort activities and menus. The spa services are ok but a challenge to find and the facilities are a little gross and only treatment rooms. If you want a newspaper, you have to go early to the front desk and bring cash with you.

In all, it is a huge, mid-level family resort and the staff treats people like they are one of the masses. I am sure kids have fun int the many pools and activity centers, but with thin walls and sub-standard facilities, I would not recommend adults coming here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your review with us.

Our Villa Roma Resort has been around for over 40 years and we are a family oriented resort. We have been building on our reputation for the last forty plus years as being the place you can bring your family, enjoy a wealth of activities, eat in one of our many great restaurants, relax in our beautiful country setting, and so much more! We have been for many years, the place families have come to vacation and love. We currently are serving 3rd and 4th generational families, and the traditions will only continue with them.

We do apologize that you had some minor maintenance issues in your rooms. Upon further inspection, we were able to go to your room, and within minutes, these problems have been rectified. Although we are always making sure our rooms are ready upon check in, the few and far in between issues that do pop up are traditionally fixed very quickly.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at our resort and it is unfortunate that you are deciding not come back. Families, Conference Groups, Day Trips, State and National Organizations, Local and Community Organizations, and so many others have come to know and love our Villa Roma Resort, and we hope one day you reconsider.

Thank you again for sharing your review, we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I wanted to take a few minutes to let folks know about my Villa Roma experiences. I have been going to VR for the past 27 years and over the course of that time, have bought three timeshare weeks and last year I bought a condo on the property in Beechwood Estates. The management and staff are always courteous and extremely helpful in making my stays as enjoyable as possible. A special mention to Doc Holiday, their new social director who does a terrific job of entertaining us. There are lots of activities for everyone from tots to seniors. I personally enjoy the solitude of the mountains in the morning and then throw myself into the various activities later in the day, depending on the season. We are never bored - hiking, swimming, golfing, dancing, bingo, turtle, duck and horse races, bumper cars, go karts, horseback riding, skiing, snowboarding, on and on. There are several restaurants on the property, a terrific gift shop, boutique and spa available as well. I keep introducing new friends to the resort and my family all enjoy spending time with me when I am at the Villa Roma. Come give yourself a treat and come join me in enjoying life.

Room Tip: Check to see if there are any timeshare units available to rent especially if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Manager at Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing such a wonderful review with us!

27 years! What a long time. We love to see our returning “family members!” According to your review, you loved Villa Roma so much that you bought a condo here!
Our management & staff love being able to meet guests and help enhance their overall vacation experience. Guest service is their number one priority and it shows in their interaction with our guests.

Doc Holiday has been a huge asset to Villa Roma since his arrival last year. Doc has created a very intense and interactive social recreation program to keep all of our guests entertained and busy. Whether you are 3 years old or a grandparent, there is something for everyone to do!
We are located in such a pristine area of Sullivan County and the views are just beautiful. If you ever have a chance to visit us in the fall, take that opportunity. When the leaves change color, there is just amazing view with the foliage.

Thank you again for sharing such a great review with us! Take care and enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Address: 356 Villa Roma Road, Callicoon, NY 12723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Callicoon, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.