We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and relaxing timeshare exchange week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   356 Villa Roma Road, Callicoon, NY 12723   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and relaxing timeshare exchange week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We found Villa Roma through Interval International. Though we only live 3.5 hours away, we had not heard of it, but we are pleased we did and hope to go again and bring extended family along. Our 2 bedroom suite was clean and comfortable in every respect and our few service needs were met immediately. All the staff members were friendly and helpful. I had an awesome massage. We bowled, went horseback riding (great) and hiking (though we had to bushwhack a bit because there are no hiking trails), played tennis, bocce, shuffleboard, and went swimming in the indoor pool, and all the facilities were nice, not stunning, but nice. Everything is new, colorful, attractive and well-equipped. We don't golf but the golf course looked lovely. We were there during a very quiet week when there weren't many guests and maintenance staff were gearing up for a busy summer, with lots of yard and outdoor pool area machines running, painting, stuff being taken out of storage, etc. but even with the humming in the background it was still mostly quiet and pleasant. Check in and check out was easy. Nighttime entertainers were free and good, and the new Marty's Lounge area was attractive. Cafe food and gelato were very good, though we opted to do most of our own cooking (smoke alarm very sensitve!!); we also brought our own DVDs but a couple of free movies were shown each day. All in all we had a wonderful time and enjoyed a couple of drives in the beautiful rolling countryside as well as on-resort activities.

Room Tip: Go at a time other than July and August
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    174
    95
    66
    59
See reviews for
324
110
4
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schaghticoke, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

My husband and I attended a concert at Bethel Woods and stayed at the Villa Roma (very close by). From the moment we got there we were very pleasantly surprised. Some parts of the hotel have been renovated. The staff were very friendly, helpful, full of information. We had a tradition room, which is more dated than the renovated part of the hotel -- but it was clean and nice. We ate in the Grecian Restaurant -- food was very good and the staff great. We also ate in the main dining room for breakfast the day we left and it was fabulous and again the staff great. We walked around the grounds, and would definitly make a return trip -- with the kids and grandkids. We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neversink, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The Villa Roma Resort hosted our 2011 Sullivan County International Pageant event yesterday. The Villa Roma is a very community oriented business and we were so honored to hold our event in their beautiful facility! The staff are always super helpful and friendly. We also had dinner in the Roman Garden Cafe after the event and it was delicious and very reasonably priced!

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Pros and Cons
Pros – spotlessly clean in spite of lots of guests
Cons – the main lobby and dining area are relatively new but the guest rooms (at least ours) had old ratty carpets and stained furniture. Our 2 bdrm suite had a fridge but no microwave and the sitting area had no windows –the walls are paper thin - you didn’t want to hang out in the room. Charmless grounds – not very attractive from the outside – looks like a work in progress. April is a bad time to go – probably better in winter or summer. Food ranges from edible to terrible and I started getting somewhat better service after tipping heavily in the dining room ($20 every night to my waiter – and it still took 2 hours to get through dinner). From a value perspective it’s an expensive place – many extras (I easily spent $300 on go-carts and arcade time over 3 days). All the individual pricing makes you notice how much is not included in the daily rate.
We may give it another shot in the future but only if it’s on our way to someplace else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed at Villa Roma in February and had a fantastic time! Our kids – 5 and 7- loved everything VR had to offer. The ski slope was perfect for them and their instructor Carley was the best! They also loved tubing. When they weren’t skiing the kids had a great time swimming, playing shuffle board, ping pong and playing in the game room. We were all too tired to take advantage of the nighttime entertainment. Our room was large - two bedrooms and a kitchen – and it was nice and clean. The staff was super friendly.

Two weeks have gone by and our son still doesn’t want to take off his wrist band from skiing and both kids are asking about when we get to go back. It was a great family vacation!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We had a fantastic time at the Villa Roma in Callicoon, NY. We were there over President’s Day Weekend. The hotel is beautiful! Our 2-bedroom was very spacious and even had a kitchen with a full size refrigerator, stove & dishwasher. The bathroom was very large as well. There were 3 flatscreen TV’s so everybody could watch whatever they wanted. We went snowboarding one day and my 10 yr old son took a lesson. The ski slope is great for beginners and intermediate skiers/snowboarders. The instructor was extremely nice and did a great job. There is also a tubing run on the mountain as well. We went bowling which was fun and even though it was a holiday weekend, we didn’t have to wait at all. There is racquetball and there was even an organized game of paintball!! The kids loved the indoor pool and Jacuzzi. There is a kids’ activity center with a large inflatable moonwalk, rock climbing wall, inflatable slide that is about 3 stories tall!! The kids loved it. My wife had a massage which she said was fantastic and very relaxing. The food at the coffee shop was excellent. And we loved our dinner in the main dining room. Everybody there is so nice. I would definitely recommend the Villa Roma for a super fun family vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

-1. Four of us stayed a week in Buildind X, a time share. After calling the desk to get someone to fix the very slow toilet, someone came with a plunger and stated all is well. Later, the toilet overflowed and one lady in our party cleaned it up. Desk told us a new toilet will be installed in the morning. That didn't happen. We borrowed a plunger and fixed it - but it was very slow.
-2. Outside slide door cannot be locked.
-3. Two floor lamps bulbs were blown. They replaced them.
-4. Air conditioner in one bedroom cover fell off when adjusting temp. You should have seen the collection of dust inside!
-5. Watch your head above the kitchen counter - sharp cornered ceiling drop. Anyone over 5' 6" can strike their head on it. I did!
-6. Bring your laptop. There's a nice computer in the main building on a sturdy pedestal. It does not work - an employee told us it's been inoperative for a very long time. No other computers for guests available!
+1. Swimming pool very nice with adequate pool-side chairs and lifeguards. Good place for the kids.
+2. Excellent food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center

Address: 356 Villa Roma Road, Callicoon, NY 12723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Callicoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callicoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center is proud to announce that we have just received the Fodor’s Choice 2010 Award. The Awards are given to the "best of the best," in hotel/resort destinations providing remarkable experiences in price range, destination, or category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Hotel Callicoon
Hotel Roma
Villa Roma Resort And Conference Center Callicoon, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.