We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burdett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
3221 St Rt 414, Burdett, NY 14818   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Burdett B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Week on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first time staying at Sunset on Seneca, and it won’t be our last. We arrived on Friday afternoon, and we were greeted by Donna, with a big smile and welcome. After going over what was were she helped us with different places to eat. And what is a good time to go to Watkins Glen race track for the races on Saturday and Sunday.
The room was very big, bright and felt like home. Everything you could think of and needed was in the room and bathroom. We had a great view looking out at the lake, and the deck.
Donna and Frank take care of everything you could possible ask for. In the morning the sweet smell of fresh baked buns and fresh fruit fill the house. Oh yea and the fresh ground coffee too. Breakfast will carry you until dinner time, lookout for Frank he has a small dish after your finish eating he likes to call the temptation dish, for that one more slice of cake or extra dish of fruit.
At night you can sit out on the deck and enjoy a great sunset, we sat one afternoon with a nice breeze coming off the lake with a bottle of wine and just enjoyed the day.
We are looking forward to our next trip up and spending time at Sunset on Seneca. Hope fully it will be for more than 5 days
Kathy & Mike

Room Tip: very easy to get to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

On our trip to the Seneca Lake Wine and Food Festival my wife an I stayed here. The location was super-right around the corner from the park and a 3 minutes walk. The building is very nice and that is overshadowed by the owners-Frank and Donna-as well as Frank's cousin who stepped in as a surrogate Donna for one morning. The room was very nice-just a bit small. However if you go places and plan on stating in the room all the time you might want to consider staying home. It was very comfortable with a sleep number bed. The waterfall shower was fun to try but impractical to use more that once. It is very impressive to see. The breakfasts were super! No pressure. Simply tell them the night before what time you might want breakfast the next day. You have several choices all were great. The deck was great. I used it to "veg" and lighten the cooler I brought of the adult beverages during the afternoon. It was very calming and the view was great. I hate cats. I knew they would be there. They didn't bother me at all. Don't hesitate to book and stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First of all Frank and Donna know how to make you feel comfortable they are simply lovely people!
The house is immaculate the room was spacious and well appointed with EVERY comfort and all the 5 star amenities. In the morning you order breakfast while viewing the lake. The property sits at lake level with wonderful decks and as promised the sunset , was spectacular. Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: The Blue room over looks the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very nice B & B. The location is really nice, right on the water! The room was comfortable & clean. Frank & Donna are great hosts! My only complaint, and the reason for the lower rating is the fact that I got quite severely bitten on the deck my first night there. Although it was no fault of the owners, I think that they should at least warn you. I covered myself from head to foot with Off Family Care repellent, yet this didn't do any good for protection from what bit me. Not sure exactly what they were- spiders, sand flies or something else. Maybe if I had had Deep Woods Off, I would have been luckier! I did at least really enjoy myself sitting on that deck! I would highly recommend this place, just be careful sitting out on the deck at night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetonSeneca, Owner at Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We had received a larger than normal amount of rain this summer and had a downpour shortly before this arrival. That may have caused a hatch of an unknown insect. This was the first instance we've ever had for this problem. We have put our pest control folks on to it and will do everything we can to insure it doesn't happen again. We are sorry that this problem interfered with your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a beautiful place to unwind. There are many windows to view the gorgeous lake. We have been to many B & B's and the location and hosts make this one of the best. The room was nice and the food was delicious. We plan to return for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

In January we decided that we would take a trip to Watkins Glen and booked 2 nights at Sunset on Seneca B&B for our stay in July. Fast forward to June and we were told by our babysitter that they would no longer be available to watch our 3 young kids and we saw our relaxing weekend slipping away. However we were able to scramble and find replacement sitters except for Friday during the day and wouldn't be able to leave Cleveland until around 7pm. We didn’t want to arrive at the B&B at 2am and wake/disrupt everyone so we called and spoke with both Donna and Frank who were agreeable to us canceling our Friday night reservation. We ended up driving out late Friday night and stayed over in Hornell about an hour outside of Watkins Glen and drove in on Saturday morning. We had plans for the day and at 9:30am we arrived at the B&B and wanted to know if it would be ok if we parked there until we checked in later that day. Donna was agreeable to that and had said it would actually work better if we just checked in then (at 9:30 instead of later because they were going to be away from the inn) and after going over a few formalities we were off for the day. When we returned for the day we were able to settle in, the view from our room was beautiful and the attention to details can’t be denied, however the rest of the B&B was just mediocre. We found that our bathroom and the overall décor were dated and just didn't have that wow factor! In the morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast and prepared to leave. However before we left owner Donna felt that she had to voice her anger at us for having canceled our reservation for Friday night and didn’t appreciate our early arrival or the fact that we “looked well rested” and while her husband Frank had been able to “overlook and forgive” she could not just over look it. She informed us that she would have been happier if we would have just canceled our reservation completely. This encounter would be understandable had we not called 3 weeks in advance and spoke with the innkeepers, but we did. We feel that her anger at us was inappropriate and misplaced. The whole encounter left a very bitter taste in our mouth, but certainly explained why we felt unwelcomed during our stay. When we do return to the area we will not return to this B&B and cannot recommend that anyone else stay here either. Ultimately the view and attention to detail cannot and does not outweigh the negative attitude and personality of the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetonSeneca, Owner at Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
What is not included in this review is that it occurred over one of the very few two night minimum weekends we have. The weekend involved is a high request weekend, due to a regional Wine Festival. Yes they booked very early in the year. Yes, they called three weeks early to cancel Friday night. We were hesitant to let them cancel the first night. He reiterated about the child care issue. We were still hesitant, but he kept saying that it's the kids... We're parents, too. We reluctantly agreed.
The Friday night was never filled, even though we received numerous calls for a weekend stay. With a business as small as ours, this was a significant cancellation.
We could have easily accommodated them on their late arrival. We do that often. They never asked.
We did accommodate all their special requests while here, and they really enjoyed the Wine Festival. I may have been out of line for pointing the effect out to them and I did apologize for saying it. He said if he had known it would have been a big deal, he would have cancelled the entire stay. That is when I agreed with him that it would have been better for both of us.
There has been a policy change instituted as a result of this stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The caption above the doorway reads: "Enter as strangers, depart as friends". An apt description of our stay at Sunset on Seneca. Frank and Donna are not only gracious hosts with a wealth of knowledge regarding the area, but also wonderful storytellers. Take time to sit by the lake, enjoying nature's beauty right before you. Last, but not least be amused by the humorous breakfast menu.There is so much to discover in the Watkins Glen/Finger Lakes environs. This friendly B & B is the perfect launching point. We'll be back and enter as friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3221 St Rt 414, Burdett, NY 14818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Burdett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Burdett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three room B&B located on the water at the South East corner of Seneca Lake, just outside of Watkins Glen. Our rooms all have 1 queen Select Comfort (Sleep Number) bed and Private Bath. Included in the room rate: WI-Fi, Satellite TV, Individually Controlled Air conditioning, Robes, Hairdryers, Irons and Ironing Boards. Guests have full use of the Deck, Dock and Hot Tub located on the deck. A full breakfast is served on your schedule and is cooked to order. All rooms are on the second floor, accessible by stairs. We are perfectly placed to enjoy the wineries on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail and Watkins Glen State Park (The Gorge) as well as, of course, Seneca Lake. Open year round, as are the local wineries. Your resident Innkeepers look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset On Seneca Bed & Breakfast Finger Lakes, NY - Burdett

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset on Seneca Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.