We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berta's Cafe

Berta's Cafe
SR 79, Burdett, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Burdett
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This a great place to have breakfast. The eployees are the best, the decor quaint, and the food delicious. Bought some cinnamon rolls and scones for the ride home but they didn't last long.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Had heard great reviews, but not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Sorry to say, this wasn't the great place we had hoped it would be. Really quaint spot on the way to Watkins Glen from Ithaca, beautiful flowers outside, unfortunate that outdoor seating is so close to a busy road. As others have said, you are not waited on, you go to counter and order. Staff oddly less than friendly, perhaps just a bad day or something. As someone else noted (wish I had read that before dining here) that bacon was not great - just seemed really overcooked and bordered on inedible. Sausage gravy and biscuit also odd - not bad flavor, but biscuit seemed tough and dried out. Partner's mexican breakfast the best of the lot, but still oddly bland and I'm someone who doesn't like spicy. Just sort of an unsatisfying experience all around, though I hope it was just an off day for this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast in Burdette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stopped in at Berta's for breakfast based on a recommendation from our hosts at the B&B at Moulton Falls where we were staying. Breakfast was fantastic, especially the fresh baked scones and biscuits. The prices are really reasonable, and the staff was great. All in all, a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but only really liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I would love to rate Berta's a "five," but can't based on our one experience yesterday. The place has a nice atmosphere, very friendly and homey. You order at the counter, self serve water and coffee, and everything else is brought to your table when it is ready. The water is very lemony, but they happily gave us a pitcher of plain ice water for our non-lemon-loving children. The coffee was nice and hot.

We ordered a blueberry scone for the four of us to share, and brought that to our table with our waters and coffee. The scone was quite good. Unfortunately, it was the last food we would have on our table for quite some time....

Our real problem with Berta's is that it just took way, way, way too long for the food to be served. Now, I understand that everything is made to order, and I appreciate that very much. But breakfast cannot take 45-60 minutes from order to arrival at the table. Although we enjoyed the jazz piano while awaiting our breakfasts, it just got to the point of being ridiculous.

Once the food arrived, it was very much as described in other reviews. One son enjoyed 3 blueberry pancakes, and they were done nicely. The side of bacon was two not super impressive pieces, but they were cooked nice and crisp. Our other son had one of the specials--lemon pound cake french toast with two eggs and bacon. My wife and I ordered one of the same, along with the veggie scramble special. The veggie scramble was full of a variety of fresh veggies, eggs and cheese. It was served with a buttered roll and very good and hot hash browns; a good breakfast, but not spectacular. The lemon pound cake french toast was fantastic--definitely the pick of the menu--served with 2 pieces of bacon and tasty herbed scrambled eggs.

So, I certainly recommend Berta's, and I'd go back again if I were in the area. But watch out for the possibility of an extended breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, Beautiful, and Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The people are so sweet here. Very good service and clean!! Have awesome BLT's and lemon water. Quaint and fun. Even some instruments to play inside!! Decent prices for GREAT food!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berta's Cafe also viewed

Burdett, Finger Lakes
Burdett, Finger Lakes
 
Hector, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Berta's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berta's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.