We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but Comparativley Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste - CLOSED

Taste
265 Tate Avenue, Buchanan, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Croton on Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Good but Comparativley Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was very excited to try this restaurant after seeing a positive review in the local paper. The food was very good but over priced compared to other restaurants in the area that serve this type of food. We ordered the Mongolian Beef and calamari as appitizers, they were both delicious but over priced. The lamb dish that is one of their signature dishes was excellantly prepared - but again over priced. The restaurant is small and it is very loud, it was hard to have a conversation with my partner without having to repeat myself. I liked the food but there are so many other restaurants nearby that also offer excellant food without the additional cost.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    2
    3
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortlandt Manor
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Nice Addition to the Buchanan Restaurant Scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Dined with friends at Taste.

Taste is in a small house turned into a restaurant. About dozen or so tables for 2 or 4 (pic uploaded), or tables combined to accommodate 6. There was one large booth that accommodated group of 8.

Each couple split a house salad, and our request was accommodated no problem (pic uploaded).

Enjoyed the swordfish steak topped with a unique warm salad consisting of quinoa, grape tomatoes, arugula, cucumbers, and pimentos for $29. Cooked as requested, medium-rare.

Once room filled up, it was noisy. Would benefit from some drapes to soften the noise.

I would compare Taste to Thyme (Yorktown Heights): Comparable food quality and prices and menu inventiveness, better value wine bottle prices, more noise, but no comparison in terms of ambiance. Taste's bar is open late. Variety of beers on tap...nice surprise in a small place. We were not rushed.

Tip: Many specials were offered in addition to modest menu choices, and sounded interesting. You have to ask for prices which can be much higher than menu items. Why do restaurants do that?

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Tucked in a small corner of a sleepy little Village, this Restaurant delivers. Get the fish - tried both the Salmon and the Swordfish. YUM. Excellent wine list. Not alot of tables so be sure to make reservations.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A semi-hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a small and delightful place on a side street that is not easy to find but worth the search. Very creative menu, and everything we ordered was done perfectly. Delicious wines by the glass too. They have a youngish staff but unlike many other experiences, these folks are well trained and very caring. Go there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.