We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Restaurant in Bronxville New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Downtown Bistro

Sammy's Downtown Bistro
124 Pondfield Road, Bronxville, NY 10708
9143373200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sammy's Downtown Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Bronxville
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Tuckahoe, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Bronxville New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is very rare in the restaurant business that all the systems work as well as they do here at Sammy's. First I have to say that the staff is the best I have ever seen. Every waitress & waiter has a full working knowage of the whole menu. The kitchen staff is one of the very best. I have eaten here many times and rarely was a mistake made in the preperation of my meal. I would be hard pressed to say what meal I enjoy most of all because they are all made to perfection every time. The daily special are nice, generally a fish dish and you do get your money's worth always. The portions are generous, fresh, and well presented to the table. For dinner reservations should me made. Sammy's is a bit small so table space is at a premium especially on the weekends. Treat yourself to Sammy's its worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great daly specials. Food always dependable and very well prepared. Staff very friendly. Locale is clean and well lit for the respective time of day. Highly recommendable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food, Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My friend and I visited this restaurant on a Tuesday evening and we had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious, the presentation was wonderful the staff was very pleasant and attentive and the ambiance was "just right". The restaurant buzz was more like that of a Thursday evening,
I would definitely return to this restaurant for a nice meal, and will not hesitate to recommend to others who are looking for a lovely evening.
Great job!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great food, nice diverse crowd, warm, social oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

good wine selection, food consistently good and healthy. Something about the space that engenders good conversation even though it is a bit loud. Service is excellent - attention and non-intrusive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We were introduced to this restaurant by my brother and his wife, with whom we stayed when passing through New York en route to Vermont from North Carolina. It was superb! I had the Veal Francese, which would have been hard to improve upon. Two others had Lemon Snapper ($24.95) and my sister-in-law had Roasted Salmon ($21.95), all very good. Wines and drinks were all up to par, as we're the Pommes Salad and the octopus appetizer. Very good place for a very nice dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Downtown Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Downtown Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Downtown Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.