We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40 years and counting . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louie & Ernie's Pizza

Louie & Ernie's Pizza
1300 Crosby Ave, Bronx, NY 10461-6000
718-829-6230
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,094 Restaurants in Bronx
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
The Bronx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“40 years and counting . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

40 years ago, I moved to the Bronx just 1 block away from Louie & Ernie's Pizza. Lucky for me 'cause I've been going there at least once or twice a week - every week ! Back then, Ernie was making the BEST pizza and calzones in the world ! Years later, a couple of young brothers, Cosmo and John, started working there. Ernie taught them all of his secrets, and the brothers learned them well. When it was time for Ernie to retire, Cosmo and John took over and continued the tradition. To this day, Louie & Ernie's still makes the BEST pizza and calzones in the world ! They don't deliver so you've got to go in person. If you're anywhere near the the Bronx, make sure you stop in for a feast. The place is cozy with a friendly staff that treat you like family. Trust me, after 40 years I know great food. In fact, I think I'll walk over and grab another slice . . .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
031397
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Pizza!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had the anchovy and garlic. The best pizza outside Naples;) Nice thin crust. Sauce is perfect, not sweet. Friendly family and staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Traffic was bad and we just stopped and searched for a restaurant...this one is a tiny pizzeria with great pies...we asked for a veggie and got the best pizza with mushrooms, onions, peppers and olives....fresh ingredients you can taste and smell...crust was just divine...the meatball calzone is unforgettable...I was joking that the restaurant would be place where Tony Soprano Ab
Nd his friends would like...guess what? There is a picture of late actor posted on the wall when he ate there....just make sure you have cash...no credit card accepted...who cares if you get to eat one of the best pizza's of your life!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I am a Thin Crust Believer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have been eating deep dish pizza forever.I have tried thin crust from large pizza delivery company and dislike it. Louie & Ernie's Pizza was truly awesome.The dough was just right and not burnt.

Thanks Brigitte Grisanti New York Pizza Lover

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best thin crust pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This a must stop if you want the real New York pizza....this is one of the best pizza. Everybody needs to try this once but I'm sure you will come back for more.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie & Ernie's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Louie & Ernie's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louie & Ernie's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.