We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in United states” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Bronx

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Bronx to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Bronx
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Sedgwick Ave, Bronx, NY 10452   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bronx
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay in United states”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

On our holiday trip to usa we decided not to stay in luxuries hotel where we can spend lot money on it. Same time we wanted to see Yankee stadium which is famous for Yankees Baseball Games so we decided to stay near by stadium and also to Manhattan city. We made right decision to stay over at Howard Johnson hotel very close to stadium & train station, Excellent Customer service Front desk staff was excellent, Nice Clean and Tidy Rooms. Good Air ventilation.Small but very nice breakfast area, Free wifi service 24x7x365 ( Not excellent but good for free,not worst). Cab service was excellent very quick. Massive Parking Area free of cost which is Plus point. Very secure place as NYPD Police station is next to Hotel.
I would recommend to anyone. It is worth staying. Pay less get more. I would stay over here again

Rony
London, Uk

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    19
    20
    30
See reviews for
42
34
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

An excellent place to stay. Clean bathrooms., Parking is secure and well managed. TV in great working order. Breakfast very good. Beds were well made and clean sheets every day. Very attentive receptionists. Only problem..room reeked of cigarette smoke..carpet smell terrible:smoke coming thru vent on bathroom ceiling....something needs to be done. No Smoking must be strictly enforced. Wonderful location.,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Howard Johnson in the Bronx, about 1/2 mile walk from Yankee Stadium. It's next door to a NYPD precinct, and a women's shelter. But long ago, I am told, the Yankees themselves stayed there when they were in town for games. There is high security and perhaps for good reason, but the clientele was definitely made up of Yankee fans going to the games. Our room and the bathroom were clean. I always check beds (pull up the sheets and mattress cover at the head of the bed and look in all the creases of the mattress) and there were none. Room was small, but I've stayed in rooms as small in the theater district. The bathroom was clean, well equipped, and in good condition. The hallways were clean. There is NO elevator, so don't book if you can't do stairs! The continental breakfast was not half bad...I cringed when I saw a coffee and juice machine. But to my pleasant surprise, the coffee it made was good and strong, and the juice was "not from concentrate!" That won points in my book. They offered fresh milk with various cold cereals, muffins, bagels, Danishes, and fresh fruit. Filled my gullet pretty well. And yes, staff was very friendly, and they helped us get our bags to our room. You do need to get your room card re-charged each time you go in and out, but that's OK. There is also free parking under the building, easy in and out. You can get on the highway and go north or south easily. We started to walk to the train station on Sat. morning to go into Manhattan, but a couple of NYPD cops that we struck up a conversation with, gave us a ride down to the station instead. We walked from Yankee Stadium up to the HJ on Friday evening with no trouble at all. People get worried about other folks whose neighborhoods they are traipsing through!! These are just folks, people, like you and me! Of course there can always be a bad actor here and there, but where isn't there one or two? Didn't we have a bomber in the middle of Times Square just recently? And a cowboy who walks around in his underwear playing guitar? Come on. My only complaint was that the windows couldn't be open and I like older hotels with windows that open. The AC was loud, coming on during the night and waking me up. I am not used to it. I never use AC at home. After the game on Saturday, we walked over with half the stadium to Stan's Sports Bar, a stalwart member of Yankee tradition, for Yankee Diehards. And from there, we walked further on to another main part of the Bronx to find Giovanni's Restaurant...around 149th St. The front of restaurant is kind of a "fast food" pizza style place, but down in back is a regular restaurant with some greaaaat Italian food! We then grabbed a taxi back to the hotel, which cost us about $8. It cost us $35 split between the two of us to grab a "private car" to Penn Station on Sunday. The hotel called them for us. There are green taxis on the street, but few and far between unlike Manhattan, and we didn't want to chance not finding one to get us where we need to be. But the taxi driver who took us up to the HoJo from Penn Station said he would charged $30, so it was about $5 more. All in all, I would stay there again, and you can book this hotel right on my web site. geristravelclub dot net.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Both the exterior and interior of the hotel were shabby. We were afraid to use the shower. It was definitely not worth the $230 we paid. The check-in had bullet-proof glass and there were bars on the windows of the parking garage. At least, it was right next to the police station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly at all times, especially Isaiah. Rooms were comfortable and pleasant. Hotel appears basic from the outside, but the inside was decent. Not sure about places to go around area, no time to explore, only there one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Bronx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Bronx

Address: 1300 Sedgwick Ave, Bronx, NY 10452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Bronx 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Bronx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Hotel Bronx
Howard Johnson Yankee Stadium
Howard Johnson Bronx
Bronx Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Yankee Stadium Bronx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.