We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed In!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Opera House Hotel to your Saves list
Opera House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   436 East 149th Street, Bronx, NY 10455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bronx
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed In!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

One of the most wonderful hotels I've ever stayed at and the staff was amazing! We went on a girls trip with a couple of teenagers and we had a wonderful time! Even though I was concerned about staying in the Bronx initially but my fears were swept out the window after the first day! We were out past 1am a few nights and felt perfectly safe! The hotel was right down the block from the subway and the subway line took us straight to Times Square without a having to transfer. The hotel was clean, spacious and included a great complimentary breakfast! I would recommended this hotel to any of my family or friends! The Mexican restraunt right next down as fantastic and had authentic Mexican cuisine; so if you're expecting Taco Bell this is not the restraunt for you!

Room Tip: Sorry accidentally rated pool and fitness center and the Hotel has neither.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    57
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
99
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Wow was I surprise when I entered the hotel. The room's decor us just how it's posted on their website. The bed and pillows magnificent and the bathroom beautiful. Duke and Carlos at the front desk very pleasant. Door need a bolt for more security but other than highly recommended!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I live in the area and worked in the hospitality Industry for several years it seems the hotel it's pretty good since I always see tourist coming out of the subway station but it would be helpful if they can see a sing or something to indicate then were to go in order to find the hotel. They look so lost trying to figure out we're is north, south or east

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location is great being not to far from the subway. Smack in the middle of a shopping area. beautiful inside. Staff was great. I live in the Bronx and I actually forgot for a second that I was still in the Bronx. It was quite lovely ^_^

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was above and beyond our expectations for the location. We know that the community is making an effort to improve and are sure it will happen at some point, but the Hotel, the rooms, the venues and especially the staff make this place feel like you are in a midtown hotel and not in the Bronx.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is very nice. The rooms are fairly large and modern. The front desk staff is helpful. East 149th Street is a busy commercial street. A subway stop is only two blocks away.The area is somewhat seedy.
The odd name comes the fact that the building was originally a theatre at which operas and plays were performed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

For just a short walk to the subway and a short train ride to the city, you can't beat the price. Breakfast was standard and the rooms look just like they do in the pictures. The neighborhood isn't the best ever, but it's not bad. We (two females) didn't have any problems walking from the subway to the hotel late at night. Super nice staff. Comfortable beds. Clean and newly updated room. I will probably stay here again the next time I visit NYC. Much cheaper than staying in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Corner room. Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera House Hotel

Address: 436 East 149th Street, Bronx, NY 10455
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Opera House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opera House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.