We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing & Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Opera House Hotel to your Saves list
Opera House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   436 East 149th Street, NY 10455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing & Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I like to visit and stay all over NYC and stumbled across this hotel in the Bronx. We've stayed in hotels that have cost 3x the price and weren't half as nice, had anywhere near as nice of a staff or the majority of the features of this hotel. Next door is an amazing restaurant as well. We were helped and greeted by Duke at the front and he was kind, funny, helpful and extremely considerate as we asked him a ton of questions about what's nearby and what more can we expect from the hotel. We loved the hotel so much we insisted to get updated on any possible rewards program they might have. Absolutely loved the hotel, although it may not be in the most desired area trust me when I say it's like an oasis in the desert. It's amazing. Please do yourself a favor and check out this beautiful, modern, spacious, comfortable and affordable hotel.


-Ashley&Shawn

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    83
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
131
20
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

After hours of reviewing NYC area hotels and reading countless reviews, we reserved the room at the Opera House Hotel for our getaway trip. I was more than pleased with that decision as soon as I arrived! I was greeted by two very friendly gentlemen at the front desk. They promptly processed me through, and although there was no parking available in their complimentary lot, they guided me to a lot across the street that charged only $12 for the full time we were there. Very helpful. The entire hotel, top to bottom is impeccably clean and beautifully decorated with clippings and photos of past Opera House events and actors. The double queen room was very large and very clean. The neighborhood is as safe as you can imagine for an NYC neighborhood. I never once felt unsafe, even with two preteen girls with me. The pizza shop one block up the hill has amazing pizza, and their staff was very friendly as well. The subway line is just a 5 minute walk up the hill, and a quick ride into the city. All around the hotel are various clothing, food and beauty shops for browsing and entertainment. All around I am very, very impressed with this place. My one recommendation is that you ask in advance if there is any construction going on. On our last day we had intended to sleep in before our long drive home. We were suddenly awoken just before 8 am by the most horribly loud, rattling noise that made the floors shake. Scared, I called the front desk and was told by Melissa that it was construction. This extremely loud drilling sound continued the rest of the morning as well. It was not however audible on the Mezzanine level while we were eating breakfast, so I am certain there are rooms in the building that are safe from this. Just ask ahead of time to avoid this, and I guarantee you too will love this place!

Room Tip: Ask ahead to avoid construction noise, especially on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was lovely inside for the price we paid. The neighborhood was a little sketchy but there were always people around. We travelled back to the hotel at about 4am and were able to take the subway which is only a block from the hotel. The area was not bad at night. The inside of the hotel is very nice. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. There are only 4 spots to park your car but we were able to find free street parking a block away. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've stayed at the Opera House hotel a couple of times now. While some may be put off because of the location, this is truly a wonderful hotel. About 20 minutes from mid-town Manhattan. Be sure to have your metrocard ready to go through the turnstiles as soon as you get to the station. (There were quite a few of those scammers trying to sell you a "swipe" -- stay away from them.)

Spacious rooms, very clean and comfortable beds. We could not hear the folks in the room next to us during any of our stays (the hotel was sold out both times). The breakfast is a good start and their coffee machine is absolutely the best. Nothing like the hot chocolate in the evening, along with a couple of cookies! The vending machine has the basics. But if you're on your way back to the hotel, stop in the local grocery store for any snacks you might need.

While not technically a complaint, there are a few things that you should be aware of:
There are no hairdryers in the room. Nor are there irons/ironing boards. If you require any of these, you need to make a call downstairs to the front desk. (Good if you think about it before hand, not so good if it's last minute and you're in a rush!) Also, there are none of those plastic laundry bags, which really come in handy for your dirty laundry. (While I understand they may not provide a laundry service, but we always look for those bags to take our laundry home in.)

There are a few restaurants nearby to grab something to eat on your way in if need be. Since we stayed here before, we picked up some goodies and stocked our fridge. Used the microwave to heat something up and all was well.

Bottom line, we will definitely stay here again. We have lots of events in the city and the coziness of this hotel will put it on the top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The perfect hotel if you’re visiting NYC. The metro is very close and Manhattan is only a short train ride away.
Even though it’s in the Bronx we never ever felt unsafe.
We stayed for about one week and we loved every minute of it! The service is impeccable, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff were really nice and helpful especially the gentlemen at the front desk: Akbar, Duke and Raphael. Everything was top notch and the maintenance crew was also really efficient.i would definitely come back again and again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location for us. We don't live in the city, but we visit often and always need a place to stay. The rates were excellent and the staff was phenomenal. Duke was very helpful and kind - the perfect concierge.

The room was clean and equipped with a microwave, mini fridge, and safe. Nice flat screen TV and privacy curtains. The bathroom was very nice with modern fixtures & great smelling toiletries. All in all the hotel seems to be well maintain, well staffed, and very well situated.

My only complaint would be the parking - you had a choice of parking on the street (which could be a disaster in NYC), parking at an affiliate garage for $10 (not bad), or free parking at the hotel. The spaces are extremely limited - 3 spots and it's TIGHT; we were thinking the lot had to be a cruel joke. However, thanks to Rafael - He parked our car with finesse.

This is our new hotel whenever we plan to stay in the city. Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Opera House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera House Hotel

Address: 436 East 149th Street, NY 10455
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Opera House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Opera House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.