We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gem outside of Manhattan ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Opera House Hotel to your Saves list
Opera House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   436 East 149th Street, Bronx, NY 10455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bronx
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great gem outside of Manhattan ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've stayed at the Opera House hotel a couple of times now. While some may be put off because of the location, this is truly a wonderful hotel. About 20 minutes from mid-town Manhattan. Be sure to have your metrocard ready to go through the turnstiles as soon as you get to the station. (There were quite a few of those scammers trying to sell you a "swipe" -- stay away from them.)

Spacious rooms, very clean and comfortable beds. We could not hear the folks in the room next to us during any of our stays (the hotel was sold out both times). The breakfast is a good start and their coffee machine is absolutely the best. Nothing like the hot chocolate in the evening, along with a couple of cookies! The vending machine has the basics. But if you're on your way back to the hotel, stop in the local grocery store for any snacks you might need.

While not technically a complaint, there are a few things that you should be aware of:
There are no hairdryers in the room. Nor are there irons/ironing boards. If you require any of these, you need to make a call downstairs to the front desk. (Good if you think about it before hand, not so good if it's last minute and you're in a rush!) Also, there are none of those plastic laundry bags, which really come in handy for your dirty laundry. (While I understand they may not provide a laundry service, but we always look for those bags to take our laundry home in.)

There are a few restaurants nearby to grab something to eat on your way in if need be. Since we stayed here before, we picked up some goodies and stocked our fridge. Used the microwave to heat something up and all was well.

Bottom line, we will definitely stay here again. We have lots of events in the city and the coziness of this hotel will put it on the top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    59
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
101
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The perfect hotel if you’re visiting NYC. The metro is very close and Manhattan is only a short train ride away.
Even though it’s in the Bronx we never ever felt unsafe.
We stayed for about one week and we loved every minute of it! The service is impeccable, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The staff were really nice and helpful especially the gentlemen at the front desk: Akbar, Duke and Raphael. Everything was top notch and the maintenance crew was also really efficient.i would definitely come back again and again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location for us. We don't live in the city, but we visit often and always need a place to stay. The rates were excellent and the staff was phenomenal. Duke was very helpful and kind - the perfect concierge.

The room was clean and equipped with a microwave, mini fridge, and safe. Nice flat screen TV and privacy curtains. The bathroom was very nice with modern fixtures & great smelling toiletries. All in all the hotel seems to be well maintain, well staffed, and very well situated.

My only complaint would be the parking - you had a choice of parking on the street (which could be a disaster in NYC), parking at an affiliate garage for $10 (not bad), or free parking at the hotel. The spaces are extremely limited - 3 spots and it's TIGHT; we were thinking the lot had to be a cruel joke. However, thanks to Rafael - He parked our car with finesse.

This is our new hotel whenever we plan to stay in the city. Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked the Opera House relatively last minute after reviewing all of the great reviews. We were in town for the Pinstripe Bowl at Yankee Stadium and didn't want to pay for a Manhattan hotel. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and we had great service. The hotel room was huge! Much larger than anywhere we have stayed manhattan or any big city for that matter. We had 4 adults in our room and it was plenty of room . Bathroom was spotless with high end fixtures. Beds were super comfy and room was very quiet. The hotel is not in a tourist area. The neighborhood is working class with lots of traffic and activity. At no time did we feel unsafe or uneasy. We parked for free on the street behind the hotel. We walked to and from Yankee Stadium which is one mile away and the subway stop for Manhattan is one block away. As long as the prices stay reasonable I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The staff is very nice and helpful and the rooms are clean and very stylish. The area ia not very pretty but the metro is very close about 3 min walk that takes you to Manhattan or anywhere else.
They say that they have free parking but they have only 5 spots for cars which are always full so most likely you will have to park in the parking just behind them with a special price made for hotel guests which is $10 per 24 hrs.

And there is a grocery store nearby and 24 hour mcdonald if you ever need anything in the middle of the night.

There is also a great morning breakfast.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The place isn't too far from the train station - 20 min train ride - Literally up the block. The area is a bit sketchy but it's an entire different atmosphere once you enter the hotel. Not much is open at night except the 24hr Mcdonalds which is down the block. The area is overall very quiet. I had an issue with getting my accidental deposit placed back in my bank account but It was handled, to say the least. Very clean and comfortable. Working heat system and CLEAN BATHROOM
* huge plus *

It is great for the price if you're familiar with New York. Wouldn't recommend it to first time New Yorkers but I enjoyed my stay nonetheless

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera House Hotel

Address: 436 East 149th Street, Bronx, NY 10455
Location: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Opera House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opera House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.