We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's Steakhouse

Jake's Steakhouse
6031 Broadway, Bronx, NY 10471-4102
718-581-0182
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jake's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,091 Restaurants in Bronx
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 242nd Street
Transit: 1 train to the 242nd Street Station.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Geat evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had dinner. Party of 4. Nice busy buzz great wine
The food was excellent. Steak done perfectly.
Service ...very good

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great local Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Tried Jake's Steakhouse with friends for the first time last night. Nice atmosphere, multilevel restaurant. Our upstairs table by the window overlooked Van Cortland Park. Service was excellent, nice menu. Onion soup was superb. Mixed green salad was very nice. I had a shell steak, prepared perfectly and tasty, although it could have been served a bit hotter. It was just warm, perhaps from waiting to be brought to the table. (I didn't send it back because it was done perfectly.) Side dishes were a bit skimpy but ample and tasty, garlic mashed potatoes being the best. Apple strudel with ice cream was an excellent dessert and coffee was really excellent. Overall, an excellent steakhouse where the price does not break the bank! Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Have a big appetite for the”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We've been here several times and always had the porterhouse for two, which has been so delicious that we haven't tried anything else. (And we've always taken home enough for at least two sandwiches the next day). The porterhouse is tender and perfectly seasoned. Sides are good but not outstanding. I've never had enough room for desert, but they certainly sound tempting. One of the unusual bar offereings is pear cider which is really tasty abd come in a giant bottle. Service is friendly and quick. If you don't want to tackle the stairs to their charming dining room , there are some booths and tables in the bar which are also nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“tres, tres petite filet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have always enjoyed the atmosphere and food at Jake's. Unfortunately, last night, I ordered my usual petite filet and was disappointed by the portion, it was half the normal size. In addition, it was not hot. I am shocked the kitchen is not more consistent since the price remained the same.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great food service and ambiance in this steakhouse. Steaks perfectly prepared with a special of filet mignon on the bone something i never had before. It was mouthwatering!!!! Will definitely return to this warm and friendly place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jake's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.