We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's Steakhouse

Jake's Steakhouse
6031 Broadway, Bronx, NY 10471-4102
718-581-0182
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jake's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 1,092 Restaurants in Bronx
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 242nd Street
Transit: 1 train to the 242nd Street Station.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Jakes is a great steakhouse in the Bronx across from Van Cortlandt Park. The restaurant is near train service and bus service and offers Valet Parking.
Wonderful service and great ambience accompany excellent steaks that are always cooked to perfection. I firmly believe Jake's porterhouse is better than any steakhouse in Manhattan.
From the appetizers to dessert it is truly a gem in the Bronx with its quality. If you are a fan of Boston Cream Pie you will enjoy their delicious version. Their wine list is a little lackluster for those who are wine connoisseurs but apart from that it is a restaurant not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We go to Jake's for special,occcasions. It's a great place with excelent food, friendly service, a varied beer menu and warm atmosphere. A little pricey,but worth it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've been there twice and both times have been great. The food is great, the decor is very nice and simple and the service is good enough.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Shelf Steak & Lobster Tails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

When I go to Jake's its always the Porterhouse of one of their Top Shelf Steaks & 2 Lobster Tails! I also enjoy the Union soup & Garlic mashed Potatoes. Ocassionally, I test the finer spirits that Jake's has to offer and they are very satisfying! A must at least once!! -Scott Turner

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great find - fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

On our way home to Poughkeepsie from NYC and seeing a Broadway show, we searched for a place close to the Henry Hudson Pkwy ..... Did we find a gem? You bet! Easy to get to. Slightly more difficult to get back on HHP due to the one way street/no left turn signs...but not bad.

The meal was great. The ambience was relaxing. The waitstaff was attentive but not annoying. Jake's Filet Mignon was one if the best I've ever had.....had a Bleu Cheese crumble on top with drizzled onions....the sauce was rich NAND complimented the steak perfectly.....honestly though the steak was so good, no sauce was needed. Side order of sautéed spinach was perfectly cooked - not too garlicky but just enough....came in a cast iron serving dish to keep it warm - nice touch. Mashed potatoes were heavenly.....light and creamy. They came in a covered bowl to keep them warm. Both sides were enough for two. Wines served from individual carafes to ensure you get your money's worth - exactly measured....downside to this is you only get what you pay for (not a little extra when the bartender pours too much)......great selection and perfectly temped! Our daughter (age 9) had the chicken fingers - not fingers at all.....beautifully pounded cutlet in light bread crumb - yum! No room for dessert. )= Next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jake's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.