We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gerbasi Ristorante

Gerbasi Ristorante
2389 Arthur Ave, Bronx, NY 10458-8114
718-220-5735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 1,094 Restaurants in Bronx
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Something Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was my first trip to Arthur Avenue. We went to Gerbasi after mass at the Fordham University Church. The whole day was perfect. The food, homemade pasta, and the service were excellent. The Italan wine hit the spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice surprise on Arthur Ave!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stopped in on Sunday afternoon and sat in a lovely corner booth,The special fennel alad was light and refreshing with thinly shaved fennel and cheese,my dinner of osso buco ragu with housemade pappadell was fabulous and large!My husband had thespecial us and chick pesa.The goctopus was so soft and delicious with the chick peas and the homemade pasta had the perfect texture.The meal ended with a great cappucino!Would go there again in a minute!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Came at Christmas time with my son. We were coerced in for a meal by the doorman, we were glad he did! The food was delicious, we had lobster ravioli, veal and calamari. Everything was very fresh and tasty. We felt like we were the only ones in the place with excellent service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have been to this small Italian place three times in the last thirty days. The pasta is home made, the preparations are interesting and the chef is always willing to accommodate a special request. Service is attentive, without being intrusive, and the prices remarkably reasonable. It is, however, the extremely friendly staff that makes the experience so memorable. You are made to feel like their most valued guest. Like most restaurants in the Belmont section of the Bronx Gerbasi is kid friendly. Come once; you will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,NY
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Food was good and service was excellant. The only problem is the food did not wow me. I ordered clams with linguini. Although it wasnt bad it wasnt great. Overall good experience but I think I will try another restaurant on Arthur Ave next time I visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerbasi Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Gerbasi Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerbasi Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.