We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Grown-up Stroll, too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bronx Zoo

Bronx Zoo
2300 Southern Boulevard, NY 10460
+1 718-220-5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 77 things to do in Bronx
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest urban zoo in the U.S., with over 6,000 animals within its 265 acres of parks, woods and streams.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great for a Grown-up Stroll, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I originally planned to go to the NY Botanical Gardens (a treasure in itself) but the long line for parking meant we drove by...until we saw the sign for the zoo! We loved our stroll, on a beautiful fall day, and especially enjoyed the amazing birds, from the pink flamingos to the diving and tumbling penguins to the fantastic "World of Birds" and were also touched to get up close and personal with a pair of giant rhinos. We spent about two hours and felt totally enriched. Go!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    400
    92
    47
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pomona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I still feel this is one of the best zoos in the United States!! I been coming here for over 60 years. They have spent a great deal on renovations to modernize the zoo in recent years. Prices and reasonable and theres even a day that is " pay what you want". If you are in NY, make ure you go there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

the Bronx Zoo is a truly wonderful experience. You get lost in the beautiful park like surroundings, in the middle of the city, while viewing some of the world's most exotic creatures. Young and old a like will find this a great way to spend a day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Large zoo that is great for all all-day (tiring!) trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Bronx Zoo, world famous for a reason, is one of the best zoos you will ever see. It has just about everything: rides, special exhibits, and just about all varieties of animals worldwide, from mice to giraffes and elephants. It is very large, and even if you spend all day there, you will not be able to see the whole zoo. Unless you ride the Zoo Shuttle multiple times, you will do a lot of walking. The best season to visit is the fall, when you won't sweat too much, but it's not too cold to be outdoors. (There are many indoor exhibits too, the best of which is Jungle World.) The best ride, and the highlight of any trip, is the Wild Asia Monorail (Bengali Express). It's worth the extra charge. This zoo is a must if you live in, or are visiting New York.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was very easy to drive here from Albany. Nice selection of animals. My wife and I did go off-season so it was not busy and there were some exhibits that were closed. You do need a full day to explore this place though. We got there at 10am and left at 3:45 and we missed quite a few exhibits.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bronx Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Bronx Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bronx Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.