We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Ever Zoo Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bronx Zoo

Bronx Zoo
2300 Southern Boulevard, Bronx, NY 10460
718-220-5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 Attractions in Bronx
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing foliage, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest urban zoo in the U.S., with over 6,000 animals within its 265 acres of parks, woods and streams.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Yorktown Heights, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best Ever Zoo Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I grew up near the Bronx Zoo and have been going there since I was a child. Over the years, it has changed so very much...for the better. The animals are out of their cages and free to roam in natural habitat settings. The indoor exhibits are wonderful. The kiddies love the Children's Zoo...lots exhibits for the little ones to enjoy, some very hands on. There are plenty of places to eat and the food isn't bad. Just try to avoid the free days, especially in the summer...the crowds are overwhelming.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    375
    87
    43
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great zoo, too much to see in one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The zoo has the philosophy of caging the humans not the animals. We saw all the normal animals, tigers the other side of a glass wall, gorillas who knew they were on show and acted up for the cameras, a huge variety of birds I have never seen before. We took a monorail ride and passed elephants and many varieties of deer. There was a tram ride for the footsore, aardvarks, giraffes, rhinos, lions, snow leopards, black panthers (leopard) and I could go on and on. The gorilla display was incredible, a bit like an aquarium where you walk through a glass tunnel, only the glass tunnel was through the gorilla enclosure. A couple of gorillas were real hams. I swear they were posing for the cameras on the other side of the glass, they must think the humans were there for their entertainment.
The entire zoo grounds were lush, well maintained, clean, mature and verdant green. The animals looked in prime condition and happy. For lunch Meredith ( my wife) and I shared a plate of nachos and an ice cream. The nachos $10 were superior to anything you get in Australia. The $7 ice cream was huge. I would not try to eat one by myself. This is just about the best Zoo I have been to, I would have loved to see all of it, but that would be impossible in one day.
We went by car and there is more than one car park and entrance.The car parks are large and you are directed to a park. It costs $15 to park. Entry has 2 tiers, general at about $17 and and all attractions at about $32.. If you get the general you will miss out on some of the best attractions and will not be riding the monorail and train. When you discover this inside you can upgrade your ticket. Water fountains are located throughout the Zoo as are toilets, and eating places of many varieties along with plenty of tables and chairs to sit. Food prices were about what you would expect for this sort of place, a little on the expensive side, but not too bad. You could always take your own food. I would love to go again to see what I missed out on. This is possibly the best zoo I have been to in my 64 years. Take the family and have a memorable day!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Seems to be going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I am a true animal lover, and loved the thought of visiting the bronx zoo. Parking was very hectic with the lot attendants more concerned with texting on their phones than directing traffic. The ticket booth had 2 windows open and the grounds seemed overgrown,

I think that the staff was very stressed, or just tired because I didnt see a smile all day.

I left with a sad feeling for the zoo...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experience Nature In Urban Environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If your going to the "Bronx Zoo" expect a variety of experiences you will encounter. ITs a great attraction during the summer if you are going on the weekends. They have all your exotic animals you can view, from Peacocks walking around the same path you are walking on, to the famous bald Eagle. This is a great site to see families friends, shops you can go and buy a few things for kids families, or ever your spouse; there is something for everyone.

However, on the other hand you will encounter a lot of teenagers acting like teenagers, can be dirty here or there. Not by the animals themselves, because lets be realistic the animal caretakers do their part. Its the people who come to see it that are the ones who make the mess.

I would highly recommend coming to the bronx zoo it is a site to come to for the animals, staff, and the environment. Have fun!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“feel sorry for the animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was really hot, and even though you like zoos because they show animals that you may never see again, and they are important, etc. you still feel sorry for them. At least they are safe, and the place is very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bronx Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Bronx Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bronx Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.