We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! A great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topping Rose House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Topping Rose House to your Saves list
Topping Rose House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Bridgehampton - Sag Harbor Turnpike, Bridgehampton, NY 11932   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful! A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This boutique hotel was the best experience! I am a seasoned traveler and so often the pictures exaggerate the space. Here, it was even better and bigger in person. Lovely and plentiful amenities. Lots of local flavor.Beautiful rooms, warm and knowledgeable staff, great food. If you can figure out a way to stay there, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our property, the amenities we offer and the warm hospitality from our team.

We will be sure to share the positive comments with our team!

We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

New excellent place to stay in The Hamptons , well located in Bridgehampton to all the surrounding towns and beaches , modern spacious rooms with safe and amenities , pool and hot tub, shuttles to beach ,
Hotel supplies bikes , maps , towels n beach chairs , nice fitness room and ability to bring in spa services .
Crackerjack staff led by Bobby and Kasha . Food and service at resteraunt first rate .
Now American Express property where you can get additional amenities .

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to main hotel are larger and modern , if your sensitive to noise , choose room toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review regarding your recent stay with us.

As a proud member of the American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts program, we are delighted that you were able to enjoy some of the wonderful amenities that we offer.

We have shared your positive comments with our Guest Services Manager, Boby Haryadi, & our Guests Services Supervisor, Kasia Grela, and they were flattered with your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We ate again TRH . It was again wonderful . Additionally the service was wonderful and the people ( especially the server ) knew so much about the food and its preparation ... A wonderful experience . We are truly fortunate Thanks to all there

Room Tip: everything in the restaurant is wonderful . AND A SURPRISE !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of ours and leaving such a positive review.

It is always wonderful to learn of our guests experience with us and truly appreciate the feedback.

We look forward to having you dine with us again.

Best,

Landy F. Labadie
Director of Food & Beverage
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We satyed at the hotel one weekend this April.
Pro's:
1. Room was new/clean and comfortably furnished
2. Reception staff is courteous and helpful
3. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent (food and service).
Con's:
1. Heavy road noise from the Highway (we stayed in one of the cottage rooms, which looks directly onto the M Highway and we only cracked open the window for some fresh air) - in fact, our apartment facing 5th avenue is quieter.
2. Introduction upon arrival could have been better (though showed us to our room, did not offer to get bags from the car or show around the main house restaurant/sitting areas/spa)
3. Price point is relatively high for the location/room quality/amenities.
Summary:
Would definitely return to the restaurant, though think twice about staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us at Topping Rose House and were able to enjoy some of the wonderful amenities that we offer, such as the restaurant, during your stay.

We have taken note of your comments/suggestions and are working to address those concerns immediately.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, at your convenience, at (631) 237-1946 or LLabadie@ToppingRoseHouse.com

We do hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again soon!

Regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Booked hotel a couple of months in advance and spent two nights, kids free, Valentine's Day Weekend. Had extremely high hopes based on previous reviews. It's important to note that I am extremely hard to please when traveling. I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the main house room three which had a fireplace. Clean and comfortable. The only complaint was that the window shades did not do morning sunlight justice. Once the sun rose there was no more sleeping. Valentines dinner was good not great as some of the dishes were, especially dessert, although looked great, definitely could have been better. Breakfast and dinner day two were great. My wife got an in room message and said it was one of the best she ever had. Staff was excellent. They did whatever was needed to cater to your needs (as they should for the price). The bar lacked live music. One guy with a guitar would have made a world of difference. All in all the weekend was great and we would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us at Topping Rose House and were able to enjoy some of the wonderful amenities that we offer, such as the spa and restaurant.
We have taken note of your suggestions and will work to address those concerns.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

In a year of great hotels, our night at the Topping Rose House was the best overall hotel experience we have had to date.

Regular visitors to Bridgehampton and Southampton in the summer, we headed east on a snowy January day with some trepidations. As rates fall to 25% of the Topping Rose's summer tariffs, we were concerned we were missing something. What we found was the most relaxing stay, the finest food, and the most thoughtful staff we had ever come across!

The hotel sits in an historic 1800s federal mansion but had been updated and expanded to have all modern luxury amenities. Deep marble soaking tubs, complimentary iPads and luxurious threat counts abound! We were upgraded to a two room suite in the main house. Other accommodations can be found in a modernist structure a few steps from the inn which also houses a top flight spa which we were able to book a terrific massage on short notice.

What separated the Topping Rose House from other top flight hotels was a truly outstanding restaurant staffed by professionals who really cared about their guests. In an age where celebrity chefs seem to sell their name to be posted on any hotel willing to pay the freight, regardless of their actual involvement, Chef Colicchio seems to be intimately involved in the Topping Rose food program - sending trusted lieutenants from his New York outposts to run the front and back of house. As part of our winter package, dinner (and breakfast) was included - and we enjoyed an epic tasting menu paired with some of the most interesting wines by the nicest and most knowledgeable sommelier we have ever encountered. Even in the winter, there was no doubt that the Topping Rose House restaurant was the hottest ticket in town and every seat was taken late into the night - but it was quite clear that house guests received special attention. Extra complimentary courses continually appeared and special bottles were opened. After a massive meal, perhaps the most luxurious thing was the ability to simply walk up a flight of stairs and fall asleep in the huge bed.

The Hamptons suffers from real dearth of top notch hotels, and it is understandable that the Topping Rose House becomes exceptionally expensive during the summer months - despite being miles from the closest beach. Go for a winter weekend and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review!

We recognize that there are many other wonderful destinations that you can choose to visit and for us to have provided an experience that stands out to you makes us extremely proud.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Best regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Director of Food & Beverage
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I have dined in the restaurant before and had a very pleasant experience, so were pleased to have an opportunity to stay at the inn during our visit. We own property in Montauk and enjoy discovering new inns and restaurants in the Hamptons/Montauk area. The Inn did not disappoint. The majority of staff was detail oriented, courteous and professional. Jeff greeted us and gave us a tour of the well appointed room, David assisted us at dinner and Natalie and Joe at breakfast the next morning. They were all friendly, dynamic people who knew a great deal about the inn and made us feel welcome. It was truly one of the best experiences we have had in our travels. The room is gorgeous and the restaurant experience fantastic! Possibly one of the best meals we have had. Ever. (We enjoyed the tasting menu!) If you are looking for a once in a lifetime experience that you would love to have over and over again - this is the place. Our only, and I really mean only disappointment, was the service received upon checkout. The young lady at the desk was very short with us when we inquired about a few of the novelties in the gift store area (ornaments, speciality salts, teas, etc.) - the impact being we were certainly not interested in picking up any gift items for our friends as a moment of our stay. Additionally, she was rude when I asked for an explanation of charges, which I often do, just to be certain I understand what we are paying for. I didn't think it was an unreasonable request. But I would not let one person tarnish a truly lovely experience. It just seems that a few staff members could use a little more customer service experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1. You do have some noise from the dining area at night, but it was limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your experiences with us at Topping Rose House and hope to have you join us again soon. We do apologize about the concern during your check out and have taken the appropriate actions.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Topping Rose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topping Rose House

Address: 1 Bridgehampton - Sag Harbor Turnpike, Bridgehampton, NY 11932
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Bridgehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Topping Rose House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque Bridgehampton, Topping Rose House will be the Hampton's first full-service luxury hotel. We will offer elegantly appointed guest rooms, an historic Barn for private events and a restaurant from acclaimed chef, Tom Colicchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Topping Rose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topping Rose House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.