We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topping Rose House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Topping Rose House to your Saves list
Topping Rose House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Bridgehampton - Sag Harbor Turnpike, Bridgehampton, NY 11932   |  
Hotel amenities
CoralGables, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Unless you own or are renting a very expensive home in the Hamptons or don't mind staying at a huge "Marriott" style beach resort with a million other people, there is no other place to stay that is as lovely or as intimate as Topping Rose House. Yes, it's expensive, but so are the other popular smaller inns which offer outdated accommodations with kitschy decor. We stayed in the main house in a large beautifully appointed room and our friends stayed in a more contemporary Cottage King Guestroom. Both rooms were well-stocked with complimentary snacks, beverages and a bowl of freshly picked baby heirloom tomatoes from the garden along with some beautiful plums. The breakfast selection is so scrumptious that it is difficult deciding what to choose. The portions are very generous and I often ordered a few other little items such as biscuits (UNBELIEVABLE!), home-made granola, as well as yogurt and fresh fruit to accompany my eggs. Dinner was phenomenal as well. The menu is original and the food is healthy and delicious. We stayed there Monday through Thursday, so we were able to avoid the crowds and as a result enjoy a very relaxing and quite different type of Hamptons' experience from what I've been told. I agree that the staff at the hotel is young and service can be a bit slow at times in the dining room, but their sweet, camp-counselor style demeanor is wonderfully refreshing. They were extremely accommodating and eager to please - they even went out of their way to prepare lobster rolls for us one evening even though it wasn't on the menu. We enjoyed our stay and recommend TRH for exploring the Hamptons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us at Topping Rose House and were able to enjoy the restaurant as well.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

“A small charming full-service luxury hotel with amenities such as a pool and spa, an excellent restaurant and superb services. Located in the heart of the Hamptons, this brand-new charmer, which opened in May 2013, is the perfect year-round weekend and summer destination.”

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

We hope to have you visit us again soon!

Regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently stayed in both this hotel and the Maidstone. I can tell you that my experience at the Topping Rose House was far superior. The food is outstanding. The rooms are new, luxurious, extremely comfortable and spacious.
The hotel service was extremely attentive. They picked us up at the train station, they made every effort to make our stay comfortable always going the extra mile.
Loved the free snacks in the room.
The breakfast was also great, I highly recommend the biscuits!
The only comment I have is regarding the young staff at the restaurant, they are very nice, but are a little inexperienced and have many minor mistakes. I make this comment because most of the food is outstanding, so the service should be up to the same level.
This is a fairly new place, so I'm hoping with a little more time, the restaurant service will get to be impeccable.
Overall, a wonderful stay, wish I had stayed longer and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: There are two setups, rooms in the main original house and rooms in the new buildings. The main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us at Topping Rose House and were also able to enjoy the restaurant.
We have taken note of your suggestions and will work to address those concerns quickly.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Regards,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When summer plans allow a few days' visit to the Hamptons on short notice so that a house rental is not feasible and roughing it is not your style, Topping Rose House is a great option. It is newly opened as a hotel and still working out some kinks, but the facility, rooms, pool, location and promise of excellence make this worth a visit. The rooms are very expensive at over $1100 a night inclusive of breakfast, so this facility really needs to be compared to a house rental and not a B&B or typical small hotel. It is located a couple of miles from the beach, so a car is essential to enjoyment of the location. Walking to the quaint area of shops a block from the hotel and enjoying the heated pool make staying on site fine for a day or two, however. The rooms are large, airy and well-stocked with complimentary snacks and bottled water and plush towels. Despite the relative proximity to the highway, the windows are well soundproofed. The Tom Colicchio restaurant on site provides delicious, superb food for dinner; the food (including perfect pancakes, omlettes and eggs of various preparation, tasty sausage and bacon) for breakfast was also great but the service from the kitchen and waiters was very uneven to the point of making a one-course breakfast into a staggered meal. Management was doing their best to catch all the slipups so we figure, by the end of their first season, this will be an awesome facility in every respect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToppingRose, Manager at Topping Rose House, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay with us. We have taken your comments to heart and are working diligently to correct the issues you described. We do ask that you join us again and give us another chance.

Please feel free to contact me directly at: LLabadie@ToppingRoseHouse.com

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Landy F. Labadie
Topping Rose House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Topping Rose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topping Rose House

Address: 1 Bridgehampton - Sag Harbor Turnpike, Bridgehampton, NY 11932
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Bridgehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Topping Rose House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque Bridgehampton, Topping Rose House will be the Hampton's first full-service luxury hotel. We will offer elegantly appointed guest rooms, an historic Barn for private events and a restaurant from acclaimed chef, Tom Colicchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Topping Rose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topping Rose House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.