We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even us locals love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rooster Drive-In

Red Rooster Drive-In
1565 Route 22, Brewster, NY
914-279-8046
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 50 Restaurants in Brewster
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brewster, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Even us locals love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

You KNOW this place is legit when Tim and Tina Zagat are standing behind you in line!!! I swear to you -- this happened to me not 6 months ago! When I asked Tim what his fav. was he said that they always stop at Red Rooster on the way to their weekend home in Millbrook and they always order 2 hot dogs, fries and malteds! How cool is THAT?!?! The Red Rooster is an iconic place for ANYONE living near Brewster, NY and a tradition that stretches over generations of families traveling up and down RT 22 for their weekend forays into the country and to the skiing resorts. It's the destination after our local football games, HS plays, school concerts, confirmations/communions, etc. It offers you classic 1950's drive-in fare and they do it well! The burgers, fries, onion rings, shakes, sundaes, hot dogs, etc. are quintessentially flavorful, a bit greasy, and served simply with a smile from an amazing cadre of workers who really know how to hussle and work well together! Add the family style setting (dog friendly walking area for those traveling distances), and the kitchy/wonderful miniature golf course, and the have all the makings for a wonderful evening of fun for all! Their ice cream is AMAZING! And, they one of the last places still adding REAL MALT to their malteds! Highly recommended == Great value for your dollar == CLeAN == great vibe!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“You want a good Burger Red Rooster is a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It gets packed but the line moves fast and its worth the wait. Food was great and close to Heidis Inn were we stayed

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Classic American Drive-In!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Burgers, Fries, or Hot Dogs, this is THE place.
If you wanted to show an Eastern European the American dream, this is THAT place. Food's Good, people are perfect, the crowd is Biker-lite. Its pretty cheap and Jillion times better than the Burger King up the street.

You might be able to talk some anti-democrat biker, redneck, gun lover, tailgate party, Patriot fan stuff HERE about Obama and the congress, but you would never, ever, in a BILLION, trillion, Jillion, quadrillion, years, epochs, or eras, bump into Mitt here..well MAYBE... if his dog fell off the roof on 22 ...NAW

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“A Cult Unto Itself”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not sure about the high ratings other have given this roadside stop. It's an okay place to stop and pick up fried chicken (sometimes over cooked) and hamburgers. Often a line and a wait to get your food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place for Burgers Fries and Brown Bonnet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our kids loved this place. Good food and great ice cream cones, shakes
and chicken in a basket is probably my favorite. We stop by when we travel north on Route 22 in New York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rooster Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Red Rooster Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rooster Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.