We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb atmosphere, service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Mananitas

Las Mananitas
1250 Route 22, Brewster, NY 10509
845-279-4646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Brewster
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Superb atmosphere, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Las Mananitas is an upscale mexican restaurant that is reasonably priced, and still has all the traditional offerings, but also offers unique and delicous choices. Besides the pretty hilltop views, the first thing you will likely notice is the friendly and attentive service. The restaurant is efficiently run and how can it not be great when the owner himself can be seen clearing a table and doing whatever it takes.
The tableside guacomole made to order is the best we've ever had. We go often, but last weekend went to celebrate my husbands birthday and enjoyed that Paella special. We had friends from out of town visit or were very impressed with the whole evening.
The roaming mariachi band further contributes to the warm ambiance.
We usually make reservations, but when we have gone spontaneously the staff always find a way to make it work. There is a also an ample bar in the back to pass the time away (or nibble) if you have to wait for a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Food was awesome!! Very close to the hotel and it's within walking distance. Can't complain about that. Unfortunately, hotel didnt have onsite restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went here last night with friends. We've been a huge fan of Fiesta Mexicana going back to their days in their first location near the Brewster train station. It's hard not to want to compare their new restaurant to Fiesta but Mananitas should get its own personality.

First, last night was jam packed. The mariachis were serenading all the patrons and it felt like you were someplace else besides Brewster. Weekends are always busy, hopefully the weekday crowds will pick up for them too. Plus if you love a view of the scenery you'll have a better chance of getting a seat by the windows during the week. I hear they're going to have outdoor seating come this summer which will be great, hope it happens.

The food has got much much better since it first opened. Had a queso fundido appetizer that was awesome along with their signature guacamole, made table side, with chips. Red Snapper dish was excellent, they had a Mexican paella special that was huge. Osso bucco was good but I think the sauce is different than how they prepare it at Fiesta. Their menu has many similarities to Fiesta but many more entrees offered at Mananitas which I can't wait to try.

If you like Fiesta then come support Luis and his family's new venture, as the same service and appreciation of their loyal customers rings even truer here. Plus we're supporting our local commerce and dedicated business owners in our community. If your not familiar with this area don't hesitate to venture out and try something new. Bring your friends and I bet you leave trying to figure out when the next time is that you can gather at Las Mananitas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“busy fun place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We ate here on a Friday night, lots of big tables with people celebrating birthdays, I would love to go back when it was light out, there must be a beautiful view!

they do push the guacamole here, made table side it is very nice.

As for our meal, my husband's dinner was just average, chile relleno one with green sauce, one with red. both slimy. I had the duck with the spinach and sweet potato, very good but not what you would think of as a Mexican dinner. this is on the pricy side of Mexican food, so I wish that it tasted better.

The service was very good, even on a busy winter night with lots of big tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home Town Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great location and the decor& atmosphere are fab. The service is very good and even at the dinner hour and althougth we had no reservation we were seated within 20 mins (Thank You Luis!) I would love to see a brunch style menu similiar to a great small restaurant that we visited in Manhatten Beach, La in California -
northendcaffe.net/dinner.html

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Mananitas also viewed

 

Been to Las Mananitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Mananitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.