We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight. . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sagamore to your Saves list
The Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Hyde Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a delight. . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in mid-September. Yes, it's an "older" hotel, but gorgeous and hints at a bygone era. Beautiful and so comfortable and relaxing, clean and service was well above average, efficient and friendly. We were perfectly happy with our lodge room in Bldg. 2. Yes, it was below grade level but room was large with up-to-date furnishings and plush bedding -- exactly what we expected from the pictures on the website. It was quiet and even the little patio was unique . . . with flowers and plantings right outside our sliding glass door. Since there were gorgeous views from everywhere on the property we did not need a view from our room. We were only in it for sleeping! All hotel facilities were only steps away but we felt like we were in our own little world at the lodge. Would not hesitate to stay there again. The extra price for staying in a room in the main building was not worth it to us.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the negatives re below grade lodge rooms. It was fresh and clean and extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    236
    138
    123
    83
See reviews for
333
350
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent a special birthday at The Sagamore last weekend and it couldn't have been more perfect! Being on an island in Lake George provided a beautiful setting with the leaves turning color in the surrounding hills across the lake. We were glad we reserved a room in the hotel, as we were able to stay on the first floor right off the lobby, so the restaurants and activities were extremely convenient. Both our room and the lobby were lovely, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the decor and a casual dinner at Mr. Brown's Pub when we arrived. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at La Bella Vita were all wonderful with great service and amazing food, especially at lunch and dinner. A special treat was that the heaters on the porch made it possible for us to eat outside even on an overcast weekend in the fall. We enjoyed viewing the beautiful lake from the top deck of The Morgan and participated in activities such as the culinary demonstration and mini-golf, so it was a fun time in a relaxed atmosphere. We found all the employees to be very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return to The Sagamore and are wishing we were there right now!

Room Tip: The Governor King Room was great with a lake view - more like a suite with a living room area and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Sagamore and it was great. Even though it was October we had all our meals outside. We noticed many guests like us disdaining indoor dining and dining outside with coats and sweaters. At night we would buy a drink at the bar and walk around the grounds with our wine. They had a great canoe center with a very high end store. Excellent and very private. And how great was the Morgan the free steamboat with a bar on the deck and lobster roll for lunch. I do agree that you have to make sure you are in the hotel which we did. The lodges looked like some had great locations but I would recommend the hotel itself for the most superior experience. Very classy to have your own island. Very cute town of Bolton Landing an easy walk with a great breakfast place. Very attentive staff and waitresses and knowledgable conscience. She gave us some great nearby hikes and drives. I am planning a return trip. It was spectacular and I am a very jaded traveler

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Planning on short notice we decided to take a road trip and were incredibly happy with the result! The resort was beautiful, and the staff couldn't have done anymore to make our stay issue free and enjoyable. I have already recommended it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room was spacious, up to date and clean. We booked a suite a short walk from the main building down the hill toward town. The staff was very friendly. The housekeepers were delighted by our children and even helped clean our dirty dishes. Expect wifi to be a bit on the slow side (1-3 mb/s dl) if you'll need to use the internet.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a perfect week-end at The Sagamore with friends. I was swept away by the breathtaking views surrounding the hotel.. sparkling lake and glorious mountains. Enjoyed the well manicured grounds and each of the many settings offering different views of the Lake. Stayed in one of the lodges. The suite was clean and comfortable, complete with a kitchen, fireplace and balcony overlooking lake. For a great dining experience make sure to check out the Club Grille Steak House, you will not be disappointed. Excellent food, service and great ambiance. Breakfast at La Bella Vita is a must. Experience the beauty of The Sagamore, it's a gem of a place! Special thanks to JFC PR for your spot on recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a perfect weekend at the Sagamore with our 2 year old. The hotel is beautiful and the views are breathtaking. It was very kid friendly, and we never left the property. The restaurants were quite good, we greatly enjoyed the boat ride on The Morgan, our room was lovely, and we enjoyed strolling the grounds. The bonfire was especially fun.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful suite, but it was right above a restaurant. It was therefore very noisy. If we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.