We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overloaded with kids not couple friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sagamore to your Saves list
The Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overloaded with kids not couple friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I came to rejuvenate after a busy summer. The hotel is filled with children, They are dominating most areas. It is extremely loud with kids screaming. Tonight the kids even dominated the pub area. The hotel seems understaffed. It took almost an hour to deal with a minor room maintenance issue. When you call to the front desk it rings extensively before someone picks up.
Many of the couples in the bar were complaining about the same issue, A family special 4 nights for the price of 3 may have lead to the hotel being dominated by loud children, it is hard to get a reservation at the restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    236
    138
    123
    83
See reviews for
333
350
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosendale, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I went for our 28th wedding anniversary. The place is beautiful! The service, terrible, the food average. The room was very nicely decorated, however the bed was extra firm and we both work up very sore. When we asked management if they had an egg crate, or pillow top for the mattress we are told no. I told them there was a Target about 20 mins away could they get one for me, and again I was told no. There was no way we could stay another night in that bed! We were sore all the next day, that's how hard the bed was. We checked out after only staying one night. I think for $700 a night they could have provided a pillow top or egg crate for the bed. I'm sorry I won't be going there again, it's truly a beautiful place, however the bedding was so unacceptable it prevented us for enjoying anything the resort had to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaapolis, MD
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are going to Lake George, this is a beautiful hotel to stay at, with gorgeous views of the Lake. But don't expect much from the food, the service, average only. The Sagamore is being run to the ground with poor management. Ever since it was bought a few years back, it seems to be mismanaged. Too bad, used to be "THE" place to go and be at. Hope someone else buys it and starts running it right, training the staff right, hiring experienced people, more bell men,... what a shame. If you are going to go, only spend ONE paying night there for the experience and certainly the view - but then put your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

At this price, staying in one of the most expensive rooms with a dining package, I would expect the staff to be well informed about the policies and for information to be accurate about what we had purchased. I would expect reservations for dining to be readily available. They were not. In fact at one point we were told that some individuals who bought dining had to dine off site, presumably at their own expense.

The bill presented at the end was incorrect in several respects.

Although self branded a dining destination the food was average. Think better than average cruise line.

The staff was pleasant but obviously not well schooled in service and often misinformed. Most were likely seasonal with little over sight.

The resort caters to families with little attempt to realize that those desires and needs may be very different than other guests. This can be done well as we have experienced at other hotels and resorts however that is just not the case here.

The site, the setting and the historic property are gorgeous.

I hope now that the Opal group that also now owns the Lake Placid Lodge does not damage that property by poor management of that tremendous resource.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were looking forward to our annual end of the summer trip to the sagamore. The grounds, pool, views,meal king trails are great. Otherwise our visit was disappointing. The room we had reserved and confirmed was not available. We were not able to get into our room until after 5:30.. We sat around in wet bathing suits until our room was ready. We were told we were "upgraded" to a suite in the hotel. Very small for 2 adults/ 2 kids. The rooms are weathered and a fees things were broken, ripped rugs in the bathroom, AC not working in bedroom.. When it did come on very loud. We were also put in a room right above the entrance to the hotel .. Very noisy, kids running around, ground staff trimming bushes at 8:45 in the am after there was a fire alarm at 11:30 pm the night before.
It appeared that everyone else checking in at the same was also being shifted into other rooms other than the ones they booked, including a bride and groom...to be married at the property.
For the price paid we would not come back until there is a major change in how things are handled at the hotel and the rooms are in need of a major renovation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family has stayed at The Sagamore nearly a dozen times in the last 20 years. It has had its ups & downs, most notably a "down" in 2009 shortly after the outdoor pool was added. We returned for a lat minute vacation & after speaking with a hotel manager were able to obtain 2 upper level lodge rooms which were nice enough, with a really comfortable bed, a good shower, and what appeared to be new carpet. The A/C cools the room quickly, but it tends to loudly cycle on & off quite a bit which gets annoying at night. The hotel has done a beautiful job with respect to the addition of The Pavilion, an outdoor restaurant by the dock, though it was impossible to get seated for dinner without a reservation, notwithstanding the fact that the restaurant had numerous open tables just sitting there. The food was delicious! Mr. Morgans, the restaurant/pub on the lower level of the hotel, has not changed at all - this is where you go IF you have young noisy children, so stay away if you want romance or a nice quiet meal. The pool-side (both indoor & outdoor) menu & waitress service in the pool areas were very welcome additions. I did not use the spa or fitness center on this visit, but from past visits I remember being happy. The upstairs hair & nail salon has been moved into the downstairs spa space. The sandy beach strip (it really is just a strip, but honestly that seems to be enough to keep most kids happy) is the same as always. There was a great deal more space devoted to chaises, both on the dock & of course on the 1/2 of The Great Lawn where the outdoor pool was added. Yes, as other reviewers noted, the pool did have a good number of kids in it - it is not a lap pool (though it certainly could be if they roped off a section, as they should), but I had no problem swimming a few laps anyway. And we had no problem finding chaises both in the morning after breakfast & in the middle of the day. The old complimentary coffee & tea in the hotel is gone. It has been replaced by a keurig machine with complimentary coffee/tea in the lodge rooms, and by Caldwells, which is an informal place in the hotel where you can get a quick coffee/tea and muffin. Of course, you can still opt for the more sumptuous sit-down breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel (buffet is $22/person). You can't talk about The Sagamore without mentioning the beautiful lake - it is awesome & there are lots of motor boat or non-motor boat activities that you can do. They no longer charge an hourly fee for use of the tennis courts - there is a $30/day per room "resort fee" which covers that. Ice is needed in the water canteens by the tennis courts & more attention should be paid by the court attendant to re-filling the water & restocking the plastic cups. The golf course, according to my husband, is still excellent. We would have liked to have been in a larger room. (We used to stay in the condo/lodges that had 2 bedrooms upstairs, and a kitchen & a pullout sofa in the living room - not sure what those are like now, but they were perfect for families with young kids.) We have never stayed in the hotel itself so I can't comment on those rooms. If staying in one of the lodges, be sure to request an upper level one as the ground level lodges can be musty & claustrophobic. All in all, the hotel was looking good, the lobby space was pretty & the clientele seemed pretty upscale (which they have to be, considering the prices). The "kids' camp" at the hotel is gone, but there's a playground, basketball court, volleyball court & some indoor game stuff for kids.

Room Tip: Request an upper level lodge room, closer to the hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY State
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My companion and I stayed at The Sagamore in early August. As a transplanted native Adirondacks girl, I was happy to show this fellow from the UK this beautiful spot with a reputation I heard about over and over while growing up. Well, I guess all things change. Bear with me ... this will be long and detailed, but I want others to know what to expect.

You cannot beat the location or the actual beauty of the Sagamore. That having been said, for the cost, it was a major disappointment and somewhat of an embarassment for me having bragged about this wonderful spa hotel to my international companion.

All started at check-in. The clerk was mature, knew the hotel, personable bordering on glib, but never looked at the paperwork (we had booked and paid the ENTIRE week's stay in advance). We got the information needed, but there were clearly NOT enough bellmen to handle the cars and guests and demands so we took ourselves off to the lodge suite we had been assigned. I was somewhat mystified when we had a long flight of stairs to navigate down and even moreso when we entered a dark, small suite with a double bed and the smallest bathroom I have ever seen with a balcony looking at an embankment after clearly reserving a king with a lake view. Took 3 telephone calls to the front desk and then an "Oops!" and that a bellman would be right out with a key to a new walk-in (as we had reserved). Mind you, we had driven all day, were exhausted and had unloaded the car of suitcases and provisions. Nearly 2 hours later, the young bellman arrived and we were installed finally in the correct room, lodge 2, 450. Interestingly enough when I asked one of the clerks why we had been put in a room that was obviously NOT the one we had reserved, we were told that they considered the basement tiny ones equivalent to the one we finally had yet the room we had reserved was $200 more per night and many square feet larger with a fireplace and lake view!!!

The room was night and day over the original one, included a larger kitchen, a balcony over-looking the lake (though mostly obscured by trees), a king bed, fireplace and sizable bathroom. We thought that finally the issues were settled. Not to be picky, but the tub wasn't cleaned after use, the wastebaskets weren't emptied daily (just the one in the kitchen), there were no cutting boards so we were using knives on the gorgeous granite countertops, the toilet ran about every half an hour and there was no table of any kind on the balcony so you had to awkwardly balance a glass of wine on the arm of a rocking chair! Our door was constantly left open after housekeeping had finished. The walk-in suites are two to a floor and there is a common entry area (keyed) and then the door to one's room. Finally, after leaving a note to housekeepers to make sure the door was closed, that aggravation was over.

So we thoroughly enjoyed the Morgan and the excellent information about the history of the area. Well done. We dined outside in the Italian restaurant and our food was good though this first evening's meal was the beginning of our major complaint -- there are no areas for adults only and there are a bazillion children, though the hotel is not marketed as a family resort. More the fools us.

As a previous reviewer has said, a chair anywhere near the pool(s) was scarcer than hen's teeth and people marked their space with towels even though there was a sign stating that chairs unattended for more than an hour would be cleared. Right. Though the indoor pool was clearly marked with a sign for adults, it was packed with children, so forget laps or a peaceful swim. Though it is a violation of the Department of Health in the State, there were children occupying the hot tub all the time -- let me rephrase -- SWIMMING, goggles and all in the hot tub. Not once during our week-long stay were we able to get into the hot tub as blithe parents sat in the tub with their children, wall to wall. There WAS a deck marked for adults, way away from the pools and other parts of the resort, but there was not an umbrella or shade of any kind to be found, and the days were sunny and VERY warm. Staff just shrugged and said that they couldn't enforce the 'adults only' nor find us shade. Granted, this was high season, but for what we were paying, there should have been either more resourceful staff or more equipment!!

There was nowhere on the grounds where one didn't find hordes of children and I guess the objection is not to children per se, but to the fact that the hotel does not market itself as a haven for children or an expensive children's camp, and does not provide space for couples anywhere! Even at 10 PM at night when in the pub listening to the live music, there were irritable, screaming children who should have been in bed long ago. We spent most of out time in our room or left the grounds if we wanted some peace!

So, what was to have been a romantic week's stay at a legendary hotel turned into a week's stay at a sadly mismanaged hotel. Complaints to management resulted in a telephone voicemail "Oops" apology, but it seemed obvious to me that though marketed as a first class resort, as others have said, they missed the mark on most of the really important things!

Check-in: A nightmare, more than 2.5 hours for two exhausted travelers. The difference in cost of the room we were originally assigned and the one we had paid for ... well, if we hadn't complained, smacked of at least bait and switch if not outright fraud.

Guest Room: When we were finally in the room booked, OK. Little things were off and housekeeping was spotty. Not what we are accustomed to having for the cost of the room in a first class hotel!

Staff: By and large, polite and working hard, but they are not backed up by management so it is really tough. And there were not enough staff in important areas and too many in others. Poor management.

Food & Dining: Expensive, but expected in what is advertised as a first class resort. Service was good, wine list mediocre and food palatable, but not really good. Loved the ambiance of the pub (except for the children -- why are they in a BAR?) and the staff there were terrific. We decided early on for a peaceful meal to cook in our suite or eat off the premises.

Would I recommend this to anyone I know? Not as a place for couples. They are trying to market it for "romantic" winter and I say good luck.

Room Tip: Check your room BEFORE you move your luggage in!! And be sure they have given you the room you paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.