We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overclassifed Hotel - Should be midclass not highend luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sagamore

Save Saved
You added The Sagamore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Bolton Landing
Terrebonne, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Overclassifed Hotel - Should be midclass not highend luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Historical hotel right by the Lake George. We were expecting more out of this hotel and we were somewhat disappointed. The suite that we've got was okay, the furniture was old and not very comfortable. The first suite we've got had AC problem, after trying to fix it for 3 hours, they moved us to another suite which had a better layout. The bathroom is just horrible, it felt like it was 20 square feet. Old and crowded.

The restaurant was strange, we felt like we bothered the many servers which were gang up next to the kitchen door, I think there was only one other party in the restaurant at the same time. The food was very good and tasteful.

We were there in May so the little town seemed a little bit like a ghost town, I imagine it is better during peak season.

We found this hotel by booking thru American Express Platinum Fine Hotels and Resorts program. We were surprised that a hotel like this is listed under this program, we are not usually disappointed with hotels in that program.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    201
    122
    106
    72
See reviews for
292
306
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you ware coming to Lake George, and looking for a top shelf hotel experience...this is your place. Don't even bother thinking it over, the Sagamore is known far and wide as THE place to stay on the lake. The accommodations are top notch, the service is perfection, and the views are wonderful. Add many great dining options, a Donald Ross golf course, great pool area, tons of on lake activities to partake of, fun things fo the kids, an amazing spa, and the quaint village of Bolton right within a short walk...and you have your perfect upstate Lake George getaway.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel, get a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'd planned a special 3 day surprise birthday getaway last October and I must say I picked the perfect resort. The Sagamore enjoys a stunning location on Lake George. We stayed in a one bedroom suite located in a building closer to the entrance to the resort but with beautiful lake views. The entire resort is amazing and we also loved learning about the history. We went out on their private boat and again, we were so impressed with the stunning scenery and the beauty of the entire area, especially as they were experiencing the legendary Fall colors. The resort is also located very close to the main village of Bolton Landing and we could easily walk into the village in 5 minutes. We can't wait to return to The Sagamore and we highly recommend to anyone wishing to have an incredible getaway for complete rest and relaxation as well as lake and boating activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Big hotel overlooking the lake. the most luxurious that we could find on short notice during the off season. Big lobby, many of the guests were older set. Relatively small room but nice bathrooms, and such. Romantic boat dock, empty at night, well positioned lounge chairs right on the deck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I traveled here for our one year wedding anniversary. I could not have been more happy with our choice! We were treated extremely well by every staff member from the front desk to the bartender in Caldwells. I truly cannot say enough good things about it.

We dined in each restaurant during our stay and the food was perfect every time!!! Both the downstairs bar and the fine dining restaurant have very distinct atmospheres but we loved having a casual and upscale option.

We stayed in one of the lodges and though I read mixed reviews about them on Trip Advisor, we really loved it. It was very cozy and had a lovely fireplace. The bathroom was gorgeous (not sure if it had been renovated recently) but it was really great. The views from our room were spectacular!

The location was perfect - we walked from the Hotel over the short bridge to the downtown area of Bolton Landing and went into some wonderful local shops; found some great Christmas gifts!

Overall, I give this five stars! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my third stay. 10 year wedding anniversary. Place is one of a kind. Rooms may be small, but not for lack of attention to details, just the way they were made way back when. They are super clean and modern with enough details to make you think you are 1800s big-wigs. Just no steamboats!

Every meal we ate there was top notch. The view and the pools were excellent. Pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: Get lakeside for super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have been to the Sagamore a dozen times for both business and pleasure. With one caveat, it will not fail to please.

The location on a penninsula on the West side of Lake George, is stunning. The hotel is now nicely maintained (a change from fifteen years ago when it had fallen into disrepair). There is a wealth of things to do in the area with water sports and fishing high on the list. My family loved it.

It is also a SPECTACULAR place for modest sized business meetings (maybe 300 tops) and the staff is quite adept at putting meetings together.

Caveat: You MUST get a room with a lake view ... or at least a room in the main hotel. The lodges are a walk and have no view at all ... or much charm. They are NOT worth the expense.

Room Tip: Lake view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore

Address: 110 Sagamore Road, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Location: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Lake George, NY - Bolton Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.